Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
jimnm

Provisional Ball Ruling

27 posts / 2824 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Let's say I hit a tee shot with driver and pulled it left. It hits a tree and potentially bounced left into a canyon that is out of bounds. I then hit a provisional ball off the tee and it ends up on the left side of the fairway. I then search for my original ball and I'm unable to find it, so I hit my 2nd shot on my provisional ball and it ends up near the green. After hitting my 2nd shot of my provisional ball, I walk towards the green and end up finding my first tee shot. It had hit the tree and somehow bounced forward, resting beyond my provisional ball tee shot. 

What is the ruling here? Do I play my first tee shot without penalty? Or do I have to play my provisional ball with a "3 off the tee" penalty?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

8 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Sorry man, once you make a stroke at your provisional ball the original ball is deemed lost.

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You can play the provisional until you reach the area in which your original ball is likely to be found.  (Posted while another, more specific, answer was posted.)  Pipped at the post once more.

Edited by Piz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, iacas said:

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

I'm glad you confirmed what I was thinking. I was pretty sure it didn't matter if you played a second shot on the provisional as long as you are not passed the original ball and the time hadn't expired for the search.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, iacas said:

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

 

Thank you! Yes that was the case. I ended up playing my original ball without penalty which was the correct thing to do. I was playing as a single and one of the guys I was paired up with explained the rule correctly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This happened to me in a tournament once, and to a guy in my group at a club championship i played in over the weekend. Thought he hit his tee shot OB, hit a provisional, played it on to the green, then found his original ball just off the fairway when we were walking up. I told him he had to play his original, but he wasn't convinced so he played both balls in. (Im not sure how that works...) He actually made the same score on both balls, anyway so i let it go. Drained his provisional ball for bogey and missed the green on the original then didn't get up and down.

I had always assumed once your declared your provisional in play and played it you forfeited your original ball wherever it might be. Turns out that wasn't true. Now i make it a point to take a little off my provisional shots from the tee just to give myself some wiggle room. Its a little trickier with green side provisionals. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 minutes ago, jimnm said:

Thank you! Yes that was the case. I ended up playing my original ball without penalty which was the correct thing to do. I was playing as a single and one of the guys I was paired up with explained the rule correctly.

Depends on when you played your original versus when you started the search.

5 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

This happened to me in a tournament once, and to a guy in my group at a club championship i played in over the weekend. Thought he hit his tee shot OB, hit a provisional, played it on to the green, then found his original ball just off the fairway when we were walking up. I told him he had to play his original, but he wasn't convinced so he played both balls in.

Maybe. Maybe not. He may have played a wrong ball depending on where the original was likely to be.

It doesn’t matter where it was actually found.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

 

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

Depends on when you played your original versus when you started the search.

I should have stated that I played the original ball within 5 minutes of reaching the provisional ball/area of the original tee shot. My provisional was short/right of the tree. I looked under the tree for my original and did not find it. So I hit the provisional. Then walked towards the green and ended up finding the original in front of the tree. Hopefully the original ball was the right play.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

41 minutes ago, iacas said:

That’s inaccurate.

You can play a provisional so long as it is played from behind where the original ball is likely to be.

Look at these two rulings.

71481203-5C6D-4883-86A2-E353FE9EEC06.png

I believe the spirit of that rule is if you hit a 300 yard drive that's possibly out of bounds and then you hit a 20 yard provisional. You can hit your provisional again. In this case he said he looked where his original was likely to be, and then struck his provisional. The first ball is then deemed lost. 

6 minutes ago, jimnm said:

 

I should have stated that I played the original ball within 5 minutes of reaching the provisional ball/area of the original tee shot. My provisional was short/right of the tree. I looked under the tree for my original and did not find it. So I hit the provisional. Then walked towards the green and ended up finding the original in front of the tree. Hopefully the original ball was the right play.

 

Oops, I didn't see this. I stand corrected. You were right to play your first ball. 

I assumed your original drive and your provisional drive were of similar lengths. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

28 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

Now i make it a point to take a little off my provisional shots from the tee just to give myself some wiggle room. Its a little trickier with green side provisionals.  

I will need to consider this next time I'm in a potential OOB situation. 👍

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I believe the spirit of that rule is if you hit a 300 yard drive that's possibly out of bounds and then you hit a 20 yard provisional. You can hit your provisional again. In this case he said he looked where his original was likely to be, and then struck his provisional. The first ball is then deemed lost. 

Thats what i used to think. But it turns out its not aways true. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

28 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I believe the spirit of that rule is if you hit a 300 yard drive that's possibly out of bounds and then you hit a 20 yard provisional. You can hit your provisional again. In this case he said he looked where his original was likely to be, and then struck his provisional. The first ball is then deemed lost. 

Not true.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not true.

I know I know. I read on. At first I made an assumption. My bad. I already said I stand corrected. I was wrong. I made an error. I goofed up. I'm terribly sorry. I throw myself at the mercy of the court and beg for forgiveness. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

I know I know. I read on. At first I made an assumption. My bad. I already said I stand corrected. I was wrong. I made an error. I goofed up. I'm terribly sorry. I throw myself at the mercy of the court and beg for forgiveness. 

Huh? You said in your last post “I believe” in the present tense.

I guess your posts were likely merged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The big question is whether the second shot with the provisional was played from a point closer to the hole than the original was likely to be.  The actual location of the original ball is not important in making that determination.  From the wording of the original post, I am not certain that this requirement was met.  Only the original poster can really answer that question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 10/2/2018 at 2:53 PM, Groucho Valentine said:

He actually made the same score on both balls, anyway so i let it go. 

@Groucho Valentine, you said this was a tournament; when you say "you let it go" does that mean you just posted the score and returned the card? If the committee was not informed that a second ball was played, the player is DQ.  "Before returning his score card, the competitor must report the facts of the situation to the Committee. If he fails to do so, he is disqualified."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • I'm not really sure why you quoted me there and then wrote this. None of this has anything to do with anything I wrote in this thread. The next time I write the word "tragic" here will be the first.
    • And you or a loved one could get killed by someone running a red light, making sudden lane changes at a high rate of speed, texting, falling asleep at the wheel or a myriad of other distractions.  If your loved one died due to these would it not be as tragic, or is it only if alcohol is somehow involved, then it makes it worse?   +1 - Once emotions get in anything bad laws are sure to follow.   Auto crashes may be the biggest threat to children, but that wouldn’t be from drunk drivers killing them.  Lots of innocent people get killed in auto crashes every year, not all are killed by drunk drivers.  I’ll pose a question to all who said yes to the post, if all drunk driving fatalities are unavoidable if the person who is drunk didn’t drive, why are there any other traffic fatalities? Obviously if you haven’t been drinking you should never get in an accident?   I don’t agree that it will save that many lives.  I believe there are something like 6,000 traffic fatalities during sunrise and sunset, when visibility is poor.  Why don’t we ban driving during these times? You’re 61% number is incorrect.  And I posted this on another thread a couple of years ago and @iacas mentioned it already, but I’ll go ever further then he did, not only are more than 50% of all alcohol-related fatalities a single car crash, killing the driver and occupants with them, but not all alcohol-related fatalities mean that the person driving was impaired.  An alcohol-related fatality is if anyone in the car has alcohol in their system.  So a Designated Driver could be in a traffic fatality with 3 drunk passengers and this is 4 people involved in an alcohol-related fatality. Or you could have a beer and some dope runs the red light hitting you and causing a fatality, but you being a driver and having alcohol in your system are probably going to be the one who goes to jail. I’m glad you’ll accept the inconvenience, I’m not.Plus you’re not going to phase out all older cars in 15 years.   Sorry for your loss, but same question as before, would you feel any different if it was a red light runner that caused the same pain?  Not to be callous, just what is the difference. As stated before, more than 50% of the 10,000 are the drivers of the vehicles.   Et tu Brute.... + A Bunch...... + A bunch More... No, my vote would not change in the least.   Most people that cause alcohol-related fatalities are people with BAC around 0.15, almost twice the legal limit.  With as many Bars, wineries, distilleries, breweries, restaurants and how prevalent alcohol is, it’s amazing how safe it is on the roads or is it really becasue it’s not as much of a threat as the media and the government make it out to be.   I think @Pretzel said it great, emotions = bad laws.  
    • A good source to look is often on eBay. While there may not be manufacture specifics, there usually is some descriptive information. I did a brief search on two items that listed the shaft flex in terms which were most likely used back when the clubs were made. One item indicated the shafts were medium/regular and another were described as regular. Your dealing with "Vintage" items which were popular long before the internet.
    • Day 22 Got to take full swings today. First time since injuring my tailbone. It felt pretty good. it will be interesting to see how I feel in the morning.  Funny, putting a ball on a tee, or plucking it out of the hole still hurts a lot. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Edsland
      Edsland
      (65 years old)
    2. KingHack82
      KingHack82
      (37 years old)
    3. snowbeast
      snowbeast
      (32 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...