Jump to content
IGNORED

Match Play Question


jsgolfer
 Share

Note: This thread is 1440 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

So wI played in a match play event the other day, the course gave us the cards, we tee off and play the match and win by 1.  2 days after the match they realize that the strokes were incorrect and the other team should’ve had an extra stroke.  So the course retroactively gave them the stroke, which ties the matxh and then they won the final event.  I always thought that if you play a match and play the match, the strokes are what they are and you can’t go back and change the outcome. But maybe I’m wrong. 

-Jerry

Driver: Titleist 913 D3 (9.5 degree) – Aldila RIP 60-2.9-Stiff; Callaway Mini-Driver Kura Kage 60g shaft - 12 degree Hybrids: Callway X2 Hot Pro - 16 degree & 23 degree – Pro-Shaft; Callway X2 Hot – 5H & 6H Irons: Titleist 714 AP2 7 thru AW with S300 Dynamic Gold Wedges: Titleist Vokey GW (54 degree), Callaway MackDaddy PM Grind SW (58 degree) Putter: Ping Cadence TR Ketsch Heavy Balls: Titleist Pro V1x & Snell MyTourBall

"Golf is the closest game to the game we call life. You get bad breaks from good shots; you get good breaks from bad shots but you have to play the ball where it lies."- Bobby Jones

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

It's their responsibility to make sure the handicaps are correct.

The match should have stood as played.

6-2. Handicap 

a. Match Play 

Before starting a match in a handicap competition, the players should determine from one another their respective handicaps. If a player begins a match having declared a handicap higher than that to which he is entitled and this affects the number of strokes given or received, he is disqualified; otherwise, the player must play off the declared handicap.

  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

30 minutes ago, iacas said:

It's their responsibility to make sure the handicaps are correct.

The match should have stood as played.

6-2. Handicap 

a. Match Play 

 If a player begins a match having declared a handicap higher than that to which he is entitled and this affects the number of strokes given or received, he is disqualified; otherwise, the player must play off the declared handicap.

Just curious why they mention only the case of someone declaring  higher hcp in the above ruling. 

Same would apply if they declare a lower hcp (to their detriment), correct?

Vishal S.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

@GolfLug

38 minutes ago, iacas said:

Before starting a match in a handicap competition, the players should determine from one another their respective handicaps. If a player begins a match having declared a handicap higher than that to which he is entitled and this affects the number of strokes given or received, he is disqualified; otherwise, the player must play off the declared handicap.

I bolded the section that covers playing off a lower declared handicap.

The rule covers all scenarios:

  • handicap too high
  • handicap too low
  • handicap correct

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

40 minutes ago, iacas said:

@GolfLug

I bolded the section that covers playing off a lower declared handicap.

The rule covers all scenarios:

  • handicap too high
  • handicap too low
  • handicap correct

You are correct. I did not read that all scenarios are covered. My mistake.

Vishal S.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

And what makes it worse is that on the last hole we were up 1 and we made our putt for a bogey and they were off the green chipping for par and hit it 6-8 feet past the hole but since we were already in and the match was over we of course gave them their putt. Which of course we wouldn’t have given them if it was tied at that point.

-Jerry

Driver: Titleist 913 D3 (9.5 degree) – Aldila RIP 60-2.9-Stiff; Callaway Mini-Driver Kura Kage 60g shaft - 12 degree Hybrids: Callway X2 Hot Pro - 16 degree & 23 degree – Pro-Shaft; Callway X2 Hot – 5H & 6H Irons: Titleist 714 AP2 7 thru AW with S300 Dynamic Gold Wedges: Titleist Vokey GW (54 degree), Callaway MackDaddy PM Grind SW (58 degree) Putter: Ping Cadence TR Ketsch Heavy Balls: Titleist Pro V1x & Snell MyTourBall

"Golf is the closest game to the game we call life. You get bad breaks from good shots; you get good breaks from bad shots but you have to play the ball where it lies."- Bobby Jones

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd suggest that your match should have stood as played.

HANDICAP IN MATCH PLAY

Decision 6-2a/1 Failure to Determine Handicaps Prior to Start of Match

There is no penalty if players fail to determine one another's handicaps before starting a match. If this results in one of them not receiving a handicap stroke at a hole at which he is entitled to receive one, the hole stands as played.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Darn everyone beat me to it...I actually knew this one because I read this last night when reading through the 2019 rule book.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It would seem to me that if the match is concluded, the scores accepted and posted by the committee (or course), that's all she wrote! Re-reading the OP, he states that "they" realize the strokes are wrong, never delineating who "they" are.

I figure it has to be the opposing team, since the committee depends on the information supplied to them by the competitors. In that case the opposing team still loses. They failed to make sure of their handicaps before or after they tee off.

I know there are a lot of guys out there who play "loose" golf, myself included. I struggle to get my buddies to compare golf balls on the first tee! What are you playing? And mark them w/a Sharpie? You gotta be kidding! This has led to several instances of the wrong ball being played.

I played in a sponsored tournament this Summer and tried to talk a buddy into it. He's used to mugging the ball all over the place. Oddly enough, that's one place where I kind of tighten up on the rules. Unless it's sopping wet, and the ball is picking up big globs of mud, I play the ball down.

When I told him that would probably be the case, he shied away.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
5 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

I struggle to get my buddies to compare golf balls on the first tee!

That's not a rule. I almost never do that. You only have to be able to identify your golf ball.

But… back to the topic.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1440 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Wordle 465 4/6* ⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛ ⬛⬛🟦⬛⬛ ⬛🟧⬛🟧⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Obviously this would be different if she was on the putting surface...Not the shank situation (I hope) but the fact of your ball striking your equipment! You would then incur a penalty?
    • Day 201.  Wind-down for a little over ten minutes today after work was hitting quarter shots with a UW, focus on setup and grip. 
    • It’s been a while since I’ve been on here, life has really been a whirlwind. I’m working on a certain drill where I put an alignment stick angled in the ground on the follow-through side for the club to rise above in the P7-P8 phase, but I’m not sure which angle is best. I’m using TGM terms here, so I don’t know if it should be set on the elbow plane or the turned shoulder plane. This alignment stick is going to be on the inside, by the way, can’t have it on the outside as it’s more likely for the ball to hit it!   I feel as if the elbow plane might be too low for P7-P8 and that I should set it higher. What are your opinions if you have experience with this drill?
    • Day 16: Continued working on the same stuff. Still need to record swings to check if grip thing is making it into full swings all the time. Had a nice cathartic ball hitting session midday taking a break from work, had a nice rhythm going and was hitting the ball crisply. Later in the evening tried to get that same groove back but couldn't quite get there, and then I started chasing stuff and ended up not really practicing very effectively, but I hit a bunch of balls.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (52 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (31 years old)
    3. ButterCuts1372
      ButterCuts1372
      (37 years old)
    4. Dombaker
      Dombaker
      (26 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...