Jump to content
Rolandtbo

Wrong Ball

8 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

Player hits approach gets to the green and finds a similar ball at the back of the green.  He hits a chip that gets real close to the flag. At this point he sees his ball was already in the cup.  Does he get a penalty for striking wrong ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

7 minutes ago, Rolandtbo said:

Player hits approach gets to the green and finds a similar ball at the back of the green.  He hits a chip that gets real close to the flag. At this point he sees his ball was already in the cup.  Does he get a penalty for striking wrong ball.

No, the hole is completed when his ball is holed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Question on the wrong ball?
Did it belong to another player in your group?

22 minutes ago, Rolandtbo said:

Does he get a penalty for striking wrong ball

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Rolandtbo said:

Yes the ball belonged to another player. 

I believe you then committed an infraction by moving the other players ball.
@Rulesman or @iacas or @Asheville or @Martyn W
These guys are the best on Rules and may enlighten the ruling. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Club Rat said:

I believe you then committed an infraction by moving the other players ball.
@Rulesman or @iacas or @Asheville or @Martyn W
These guys are the best on Rules and may enlighten the ruling. 

You could just look at the Rule yourself, you know? 🙂

I suggest looking at… 18-4. Ball at Rest Moved.

The hole was over for that player when his ball was holed. Strokes made at the other ball don't result in anything in this case.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, iacas said:

You could just look at the Rule yourself, you know? 🙂

I suggest looking at… 18-4. Ball at Rest Moved.

The hole was over for that player when his ball was holed. Strokes made at the other ball don't result in anything in this case.

I thought that might be the ruling for this, but I wasn't sure if 15-3b would apply instead (making a stroke at a wrong ball, 2 stroke penalty).

I figured that since the hole was over (but not known at the time), that the player couldn't be making a stroke at anything until he got to the next tee.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

I figured that since the hole was over (but not known at the time), that the player couldn't be making a stroke at anything until he got to the next tee.

Correct.

The only strokes the players could possibly be making are practice strokes but that almost certainly wasn’t the case here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...