-
Posts
708 -
Joined
-
Last visited
-
Days Won
5
Everything posted by Asheville
-
Start here: F-14 Accumulations of Loose Impediments Purpose. At certain times of the year, piles of loose impediments such as leaves, seeds or acorns may make it difficult for a player to find or play his or her ball. A Committee can choose to treat such piles of loose impediments in the general area or in a bunker as ground under repair from which free relief is allowed under Rule 16.1. This Local Rule may not be used for penalty areas as relief is not available for abnormal course conditions in penalty areas. The Local Rule should be limited to the hole(s) where problems are created by such loose impediments and should be withdrawn as soon as conditions allow. Model Local Rule F-14 During play of the [specify hole number], any ground with temporary accumulations of [identify types of loose impediments ] in the general area or in a bunker is treated as ground under repair from which free relief is allowed under Rule 16.1. https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=cp§ion=rule&rulenum=8&subrulenum=6
-
Two Players Penalized at LPGA Q-Series for Not Knowing Rule
Asheville replied to RemyM's topic in Rules of Golf
Saying you "know the rules (sic)" doesn't mean that you really do. You continue to demonstrate that nobody should give you a badge and a radio and let you out on your own. -
Two Players Penalized at LPGA Q-Series for Not Knowing Rule
Asheville replied to RemyM's topic in Rules of Golf
Please, please read the Definition of Advice. I've provided it twice; here's your third chance: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr§ion=definitions&subrulenum=2 Once you comprehend the Definition, you'll abandon this wild goose chase. -
Two Players Penalized at LPGA Q-Series for Not Knowing Rule
Asheville replied to RemyM's topic in Rules of Golf
To whom was the caddie giving the signal? The answer matters . . . if it was a signal to a TV spotter, there's unlikely to be a breach. If the sign was directed to another player or their caddie, there's likely a breach. Intent matters. How do we know? The Definition of Advice. https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr§ion=definitions&subrulenum=2 -
Two Players Penalized at LPGA Q-Series for Not Knowing Rule
Asheville replied to RemyM's topic in Rules of Golf
There must be intent to influence the player. Look at the RoG Definition of Advice. Advice - Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in: Choosing a club, Making a stroke, or Deciding how to play during a hole or round. But advice does not include public information, such as: The location of things on the course such as the hole, the putting green, the fairway, penalty areas, bunkers, or another player’s ball, The distance from one point to another, or The Rules. https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr§ion=definitions&subrulenum=2 -
In my opinion, a well written report by Michael Bamberger.
-
Is This Legal - Marking Ball with Toe of Putter?
Asheville replied to ChetlovesMer's topic in Rules of Golf
From RoG 2019 Definitions: Mark To show the spot where a ball is at rest by either: Placing a ball-markerBall-Marker: An artificial object when used to mark the spot of a ball to be lifted, such as a tee, a coin, an object made to be a ball-marker or another small piece of equipment.(...Continued) right behind or right next to the ball, or Holding a club on the ground right behind or right next to the ball. This is done to show the spot where the ball must be replaced after it is lifted. -
Is This Legal - Marking Ball with Toe of Putter?
Asheville replied to ChetlovesMer's topic in Rules of Golf
The PGA Tour Player Handbook & Tournament Regulations 2019-2020 provides this on page 133: "Play in all PGA TOUR cosponsored, approved or coordinated tournaments shall be conducted in accordance with the USGA Rules of Golf, as modified by PGA TOUR. A copy of such modifications, including Local Rules and Conditions of Competition for PGA TOUR, and a Notice to Competitors (Players), which shall describe any special Local Rules and Conditions, will be made available to players prior to their starting times." https://qualifying.pgatourhq.com/static-assets/uploads/2019-2020-pga-tour-handbook--regs-09_10_19.pdf -
Is This Legal - Marking Ball with Toe of Putter?
Asheville replied to ChetlovesMer's topic in Rules of Golf
Your appeal to ignorance is a sophomoric tactic. It's up to you, pal, to provide evidence for your assertion. Until then, the jury says you're full of it. -
Is This Legal - Marking Ball with Toe of Putter?
Asheville replied to ChetlovesMer's topic in Rules of Golf
Oh, really! Look up the PGA Tour hard card. You'll find no reference to your silly assertion. If that's not good enough for you, go look at RoG 2019, Committee Procedures and show us the authorization for your made up Rule. BS isn't allowed to stand in this folder. -
Is This Legal - Marking Ball with Toe of Putter?
Asheville replied to ChetlovesMer's topic in Rules of Golf
Don't make things up. Unless you can prove it . . . it's rubbish. -
Partner in Fourball Stands Behind Partner During Putt
Asheville replied to Club Rat's topic in Rules of Golf
How do you arrive at the general penalty for a breach of R1.2? -
Yes. Read all about it in Rule 13.1, here: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr§ion=rule&rulenum=13&subrulenum=1
-
If you make a very small mark on the fairway by tapping the ground with your club 3 feet from in front of your ball, does that count as not allowed. NOT ALLOWED I know pros have been making a divot with their club on the tee box then using the up turned turf as a tee for the ball. eg Laura Davies. same thing or different. ALLOWED
-
From the Definitions: Stance - The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke. https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr§ion=definitions&subrulenum=63
-
Absent any Local Rule about IO's near the putting green, where else apart from a ball on the putting green would you expect line of play relief?
-
What's that Rule number, please?
- 46 replies
-
- gary player
- cheat
-
(and 1 more)
Tagged with:
-
Make sure you mean the PGA Tour, a for profit business which masquerades as a 501c3. Their only interest is self-interest. Mega bonuses for their execs and miilions for players and agents. They'll fix NOTHING!
- 157 replies
-
- 1
-
-
- bryson
- dechambeau
-
(and 1 more)
Tagged with:
-
If I found my ball at the end of your red arrow, I would first ask myself if the ball was touching the sand in the bunker (not merely some grains of sand which were not in the bunker.) If I find that the ball is not touching the bunker, I will conclude that the ball is embedded in the general area and at first glance, free relief is available. Now, in order to proceed, I must determine the proper relief area. I will look for a place in he general area which is within one club-length of the ball but not nearer the hole. If I can find such a place, I shall take free relief. However, such a relief area might not exist due to the shape of the edge of the bunker and the location of the hole. The sad news now is that free relief cannot be taken and the unplayable options are all that are left.
- 27 replies
-
- 3
-
-
-
Depends upon from where the stroke was made. 1) When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot 2) When ball played from anywhere else. If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence, the ball must be played as it lies, https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr§ion=rule&rulenum=11
-
You're now 0 for 1. Congratulations, few have achieved your standard of stupid in such a short time.
-
What to Do if the Rules Official Gives a Wrong Ruling?
Asheville replied to KrisF's topic in Rules of Golf
KrisF, reality is your friend. Reductio is not. -
Ball Lands in Moving Cart and Eventually Falls Out
Asheville replied to bones75's topic in Rules of Golf
"I estimate that my ball landed in the cart here. I'm going to stick a tee in the ground here and drop, without penalty, a ball within one club-length of that tee but not nearer the hole. " -
I believe it's been a Local Rule at St Andrews for some time, if that helps. :)
- 240 replies
-
- rules of golf
- rules
-
(and 3 more)
Tagged with:
-
I agree with your agreement. :)