Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
putt and pray

Getting serious... Best options?

11 posts in this topic

I am a novice weekend golfer who shoots between 100-105. I finally have some real time to practice/play multiple times a week and have decided I'd like to get to sub 90 scores. I have only taken very basic lessons (6 lessons on learning the basics) so I was wondering what people suggest to achieve this goal? Lots of driving range time? Weekly lesson? 2 a week lessons? Golf "school"? My biggest flaw is just consistency with long clubs and distance. I'm actually pretty decent with my wedges and putter but I only drive about 225 and still have accuracy problems with the longer clubs (driver, 3 wood, 5 wood and sometimes 4 hybrid). Any thoughts, suggestions, reality checks, laughs, or other comments welcome !

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Hi welcome to the site. Like any other golfer trying to improve, figure out your priority piece and fix that.

Not sure where you live but I would see if there was a 5 Simple Keys instructor near you

http://purestrike5sk.com/instructors.php

And if you were interested in online lessons I would highly recommend these guys.

http://evolvr.thegolfevolution.com/

You can also post a swing here and get some help

http://thesandtrap.com/f/4180/member-swings

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I am a novice weekend golfer who shoots between 100-105. I finally have some real time to practice/play multiple times a week and have decided I'd like to get to sub 90 scores. I have only taken very basic lessons (6 lessons on learning the basics) so I was wondering what people suggest to achieve this goal? Lots of driving range time? Weekly lesson? 2 a week lessons? Golf "school"?