Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2399 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, gbogey said:
  • Right Handed
  • Tree right next to cart path on right side - no more than two inches of ground before roots
  • Cart path was about two strides wide, so 5-6 feet
  • Ball was on right edge of cart path, maybe a few inches from the edge
  • Playing from where it lies tree is blocking shot to green

An attempt at criley4way's suggestion. Click to enlarge.

 

npcr tree.jpg

Edited by Rulesman
  • Like 1

Posted

Correct except the ball was further forward in line with the front 1/3 of the tree, not the back 1/3 and the green was a little more towards 11 o'clock.  So if I had done this I could have punched out and maybe hit a punch towards the green, but I think the trunk would have interfered with my stance to prevent a normal swing.  I'm comfortable that with a one stroke penalty my score is correct.


Posted

Also, to remember.  An unplayable lie does not guarantee you relief from anything!  You can take S&D. and drop within one CL of that spot, not closer to the hole.  You can go back on a line defined by the hole and the location of the ball, pick a spot, and again, drop within one CL, no closer to the hole. Or you can drop within two CL of the location of the ball, again, no closer to the hole.  Any of those options is available at the cost of on PS.  You could take the unplayable, and drop on the path, for one PS, and then take free relief from the path, which might be a useful move.  Also to remember, once you pick the ball up, you can't decide that you didn't want to and just put it back.  (I am trying to verify that this is still the case in the updated rules, and have not found it definitively, yet.  I am also not 100% sure whether you must state which rule you are invoking, in this case unplayable vs. relief from obstruction, before you pick up the ball.) 

 

  • Informative 1

Posted
On 5/24/2019 at 9:34 AM, klineka said:

If that were the case then I would have considered hitting it off the path rather than taking the unplayable

This is a point! Try picking it off the cart path, no matter what it's paved with. Here's another idea. If you don't want the problems, don't hit it over there in the first place! 

  • Like 1
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
On 5/28/2019 at 6:13 PM, jlbos83 said:

 Also to remember, once you pick the ball up, you can't decide that you didn't want to and just put it back.  (I am trying to verify that this is still the case in the updated rules, and have not found it definitively, yet.  I am also not 100% sure whether you must state which rule you are invoking, in this case unplayable vs. relief from obstruction, before you pick up the ball.) 

You're right, if you pick up your ball, and then decide you want to play it from the path, you must replace it, and take a one-stroke penalty for intentionally moving the ball (Interpretation 9.4b/6).  You don't have to declare why you are lifting a ball, and in fact can change your mind as long as you place/replace/drop the ball in the appropriate location and take the appropriate penalty strokes.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2399 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,652 3/6* ⬛⬛🟦⬛🟦 ⬛🟧🟧⬛⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Wordle 1,652 X/6* 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ ⬜🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 Yup - one of those Wordle moments….
    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.