Jump to content
IGNORED

Ball Lands in Moving Cart and Eventually Falls Out


bones75
 Share

Note: This thread is 1117 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

this didn't happen to me, just imagined it and got curious. if you hit into the group in front of you and it lands in their moving golfcart, which after travelling some distance the golf ball falls off the cart. Is it in play from there?  

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • iacas changed the title to Ball Lands in Moving Cart and Eventually Falls Out
  • Administrator
8 minutes ago, KrisF said:

-Rule 9.6 Ball Lifted or Moved by Outside Influence-

If it is known or virtually certain that an outside influence lifted or moved your ball there is no penalty. The ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

Rule 9 is about a ball at rest moved. This ball wasn't at rest.

Look at Rule 11.

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Rule 9 is about a ball at rest moved. This ball wasn't at rest.

Look at Rule 11.

 It could've came to rest then moved then came to rest again. (Came to rest in the moving object). And Rule 11.1 brings you back to rule 9 and so on.

Edited by KrisF
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I'm looking at the rules and am still puzzled. Does come to rest mean relative to the earth at large? or just the object the ball itself is resting on? can't figure out where the "relief area" is

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
7 hours ago, KrisF said:

In this situation Technically the ball is lifted from the ground so 9.6 would apply as far as I know.   

No. Rule 11.

Specifically 11.1b exception 1.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

@iacas (or others) If you'd be so kind, could you dumb this down for me? (I am a self proclaimed dumb-dumb) 

For 11.1 exception 1: "When Ball Is Anywhere Except on Putting Green. The player must drop the original ball or another ball in this relief area (see Rule 14.3):" 

So I get what you're saying that you have to take relief, but when I read 14.3 I can't seem to figure out where exactly the relief area is.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, bones75 said:

@iacas (or others) If you'd be so kind, could you dumb this down for me? (I am a self proclaimed dumb-dumb) 

For 11.1 exception 1: "When Ball Is Anywhere Except on Putting Green. The player must drop the original ball or another ball in this relief area (see Rule 14.3):" 

So I get what you're saying that you have to take relief, but when I read 14.3 I can't seem to figure out where exactly the relief area is.

Quote
  • Reference Point: The estimated point right under where the ball first came to rest on the person, animal or moving outside influence.

  • Size of Relief Area Measured from Reference Point: One club-length, but with these limits:

  • Limits on Location of Relief Area:

    • Must be in the same area of the course as the reference point, and

    • Must not be nearer the hole than the reference point.

So your reference point is where the ball lands in the moving cart.  The relief area is an area with a radius of 1 clublength from the reference point, that is no nearer the hole than the reference point, and in the same area of the course (i.e. general area, penalty area, bunker, etc)

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

That's my question too. So essentially it's the estimated carry distance of your shot within 1 club length no nearer the hole? I'd say just guess where you hit the cart and drop a ball without going through all the club length measuring unless you're in a tournament because without a forward spotter the distance in no way will be exact especially since the cart was moving. "It hit the cart somewhere around here." "Just drop a ball and let's play on."

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

"I estimate that my ball landed in the cart here. I'm going to stick a tee in the ground here and drop, without penalty, a ball within one club-length of that tee but not nearer the hole. "

  • Like 1
  • Informative 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


2 hours ago, DrvFrShow said:

That's my question too. So essentially it's the estimated carry distance of your shot within 1 club length no nearer the hole? I'd say just guess where you hit the cart and drop a ball without going through all the club length measuring unless you're in a tournament because without a forward spotter the distance in no way will be exact especially since the cart was moving. "It hit the cart somewhere around here." "Just drop a ball and let's play on."

I can't find a requirement to mark a reference point, or measure anything, you're just required to drop it in the appropriate relief area, drop it the right way, and have it remain in the right area.  You estimate as best you can the location where the ball goes into the cart (it might not be carry, it could have bounced in).  Then you drop it within 1 clublength no closer to the hole.  Marking a reference point only makes it clearer that a ball has bounced towards the hole, or has rolled outside the relief area.

  • Like 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If the cart took off and the ball stayed in the cart and you weren’t able to retrieve it is that a lost ball? Or do you still get the drop from where it entered the cart?

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
3 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I can't find a requirement to mark a reference point

You don't have to, but the reference point exists regardless of whether you mark it or not. Marking it makes sense so you don't accidentally play a ball that bounces an inch forward or so, which is technically not a legal drop if it bounced forward of the reference point (the point on the line back from the hole where the ball first touches the course).

Which is what your last sentence says.

But yes, no, there's often no actual NEED to mark the reference area, so long as you drop in the area.

57 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

If the cart took off and the ball stayed in the cart and you weren’t able to retrieve it is that a lost ball? Or do you still get the drop from where it entered the cart?

If you know it went into the cart, it's not a lost ball, no.

  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1117 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • 😄 My breath is smelling better today...
    • YES! authentic caesar dressing is the best.  To me, it's like making authentic carbonara. 
    • Time for the 2023 NCAA football primer! NCAA College Football Coaches Poll | USA Today Sports The USA TODAY Sports football coaches poll is conducted weekly throughout the NCAA college football regular season. See the Top 25 rankings from the head coaches. Latest recruiting rankings... A few more seasons of this, and ND is back!  2023 Recruit Football Team Rankings In order to create the most comprehensive Team Recruiting Ranking without any notion of bias, 247Sports Team Recruiting Ranking is solely based on the 247Sports Composite Rating. Some updated news, UCLA and USC petitioned and were accepted into the Big10. A shrewd move my both teams. I can understand from the Big10 perspective that in the modern era of college football regionality doesn't matter as much as it use to. The Big10 and the Pac12 has always had a tie through the Rose Bowl. Also, if we are heading towards few, and larger, super conferences then the Big10 is solidifying they will be one of them.  The next domino to fall might be Notre Dame to the Big10. ND's primary TV rights is with NBC, which now has succeeded in getting rights to Big10 games. ESPN has been locked out of Big10 games under the new Big10 media rights deal. Right now, ND needs to spend about $100 million to get out of their contract with the ACC. Teams in the Big10 are reported to get like $65+ million per year in their new TV contract. So, I could see ND easily absorbing that amount.  I try not to be such a romantic about things. I do not mind eliminating regionality to college football. With the now every expanding NIL deals for college football players, restructuring makes sense to me. I think the current 120+ schools for D1 football should be split up into the top 40-50 teams who actually want to spend money on football seriously, versus those that don't. They can still have football, and still play the upper devision, but they can have their own championship.  Only 13 teams have won the BCS championship or college football playoff. If you look at the top 40 teams who are willing to spend money on college football, close to half come from two conferences, the Big10 and the SEC. 
    • I almost forgot there was a food thread. Last night's dinner: Pulled chicken Caesar salad. Lots of garlic and anchovy paste in the dressing. The chicken was barbecued so it had a subtle smokey flavor.
    • Driver, 4W (17°), 4H (20°), 5H (23°)
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. alexfisher
      alexfisher
      (43 years old)
    2. Fkstang
      Fkstang
      (53 years old)
    3. marygujjari
      marygujjari
      (30 years old)
    4. RRTXgolfer
      RRTXgolfer
      (78 years old)
    5. Wanzo
      Wanzo
      (43 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...