Jump to content
IGNORED

What to Do if the Rules Official Gives a Wrong Ruling?


KrisF
 Share

Recommended Posts

I know you can ask for a second opinion but what if they still tell you the wrong ruling after the second opinion? 

What happens to the -Rules Official- and the stroke made after the wrong ruling?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • iacas changed the title to What to Do if the Rules Official Gives a Wrong Ruling?
(edited)
5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Do you have a specific example?

Because the answer depends on a lot of things.

For instance, Ball lands in bunker and the ball is touching what is an obvious stone. Rules Official tells you to move the stone and its moved without penalty according to the "Official" . Note: Local Rule says its not a movable obstruction and Rule 23-1 clearly states it is not to be moved.

Edited by KrisF
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I’m not going to be answering the actual question, because the RO was correct.  Unless the stone was embedded in the bunker, it’s a loose impediment (not an immovable obstruction) and by rule may be removed.  

Additionally, a local rule may not contradict the rules of golf, which that one, at least as you explain it, appears to do.

  • Like 1
  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)
14 minutes ago, David in FL said:

I’m not going to be answering the actual question, because the RO was correct.  Unless the stone was embedded in the bunker, it’s a loose impediment (not an immovable obstruction) and by rule may be removed.  

Additionally, a local rule may not contradict the rules of golf, which that one, at least as you explain it, appears to do.

What I meant say was stone was "embedded" and touching the golf ball and the same hazard.

Edited by KrisF
Link to comment
Share on other sites


3 hours ago, KrisF said:

What I meant say was stone was "embedded" and touching the golf ball and the same hazard.

In who's view was it embedded? Was it solidly embedded? The referee may well have determined it was not.

Rule 23-1 no longer exists of course.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


(edited)
17 hours ago, Rulesman said:

In who's view was it embedded? Was it solidly embedded? The referee may well have determined it was not. 

Rule 23-1 no longer exists of course.

Gallery view and Golfers view.  And you could see it pretty obviously solidly embedded.  This in the case of when rule 23-1 existed. And after the stroke was made it was obvious that the stone was hit but the Rules Official did not see this after the stroke...

Edited by KrisF
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
7 minutes ago, KrisF said:

Gallery view and Golfers view.  And you could see it pretty obviously solidly embedded.  This in the case of when rule 23-1 existed. And after the stroke was made it was obvious that the stone was hit but the Rules Official did not see this after the stroke...

You'd be better off proposing both a clearer situation and one that exists under the current Rules of Golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

You'd be better off proposing both a clearer situation and one that exists under the current Rules of Golf.

Alright so, Rules Official tells you that you grounded your club out of an unmarked bunker and that you incur a penalty, yet it wasn't unmarked and not a Bunker just simply dirt.

What happens to the stroke made and the Official?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Just now, KrisF said:

Alright so, Rules Official tells you that you grounded your club out of an unmarked bunker and that you incur a penalty, yet it wasn't unmarked and not a Bunker just simply dirt.

What happens to the stroke made and the Official?

Still not a good example.

Bunkers don't need to be "marked." Plus, why would grounding your club "out of" the bunker be a problem?

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Still not a good example.

Bunkers don't need to be "marked." Plus, why would grounding your club "out of" the bunker be a problem?

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
6 minutes ago, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

I'm out. The person's not just going to stand there while you play a shot off their foot.

Nor is any Rules Official going to say that, nor is any player going to play that shot off someone's foot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

I'm out. The person's not just going to stand there while you play a shot off their foot.

Nor is any Rules Official going to say that, nor is any player going to play that shot off someone's foot.

Well crazy things do happen...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Maybe if you're filming a movie with Richard Kiel.  Anyone who gets to be a rules official knows full well this isn't a situation where you don't play it as it lies. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, KrisF said:

Well crazy things do happen...

Not crazy an could happen.

Players ball is just in a No Play Zone but because the marking is not clear he calls a referee. The referee tells him it's OK and he can play it. So he does. The referee checks the markings again and realises the ball was in the NPZ.

The referee should apologise to the player and tell him he is not penalised.  

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


On 7/19/2019 at 9:06 PM, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Someone just watched Happy Gilmore.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I believe its the players responsibility to know the rules. So if an official makes a mistake and the player posts a wrong score because of it, I think the player will be assessed the penalty when the mistake is discovered.

Nothing I can point to here, just my understanding of the situation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • Day 616 or so: Practiced twice today. First I the morning then in the afternoon after I got back my Evolvr lesson.
    • Practiced twice today. First I worked on some pieces and I didn’t like what I saw in the video. Then, I got my Evolvr lesson back from @iacas and he gave me another feel and idea to work on. Basically, it’s a combination of palmar flexion at the top and forearm rotation to impact. The later is what I am having trouble with. They are somewhat independent. Erik talked about drawing a line through my wrist through the radius and ulna and seeing how it should rotate through impact. So, because I’m a nerd, I took a chopstick and wrist brace and made a training aid so I could see the rotation. It’s not exactly the right angle, but it’s close. I also should really feel like I’m swinging straight down from the top and have the club head drop back behind me while I palmar flex. Here is a 6 iron below. I didn’t swing much faster in any of my practice swings. The pool noodle is there to make me swing out more and not pull the grip left through impact.   Here is the driver. Down the line views.  I only did these mapping swings today. Tomorrow, if the mapping looks okay, I will move onto slow full swings.
    • They must have heard me whining.. lol.
    • I bought a sleeve of Taylormade Tour Response with the large green stripe.  I like them, and the way I’ve seen people line up putts is to line the big green stripe 90 degrees to where they are aiming, so unlike the triple track or single line guides that point at your line, it’s the other way. I’ve started doing that with any ball now, even lining up off the tee.   Generally I play Titleist ProV1 regular or X, with some TP5 and Chrome Soft Triple Track thrown in
    • - No need to be greedy here.  They are lying three (two stroke penalty), you are lying one.  Play for par as the best they can do is hole out for bogie.   - Play to the safe part of the green, no need to sucker pin into trouble.  In LSW, Erik covers why playing to the safer part of the green is smarter course management.  20ft for birdie is likely a two-putt for par, just as a good lag putt from 40ft is a two-putt for par.  Halve the hole and move on.   - When we play our casual men's best ball, we always let the accurate guys go first then we unleash the bomber.  I would do the same here, let the accurate guy get theirs in play as close as they can.  This sets up the bomber to hit a good driveable shot into the green for the win!  IF they OB the ball,  you are still looking at a decent attempt for birdie by the accurate one.    
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Daniel-J
      Daniel-J
      (32 years old)
    2. internal911
      internal911
      (42 years old)
    3. ipadair
      ipadair
      (11 years old)
    4. jwsmith6
      jwsmith6
      (34 years old)
    5. nigel
      nigel
      (64 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...