Jump to content
bones75

Is there a penalty for not raking a bunker?

15 posts / 1393 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

or is it only bad etiquette?

If you can point me to an older post that'd be great too, as I tried looking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

The penalty for not raking a bunker is being the sort of person who doesn't rake bunkers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

@iacas I confess I didn't do a great deal of sleuthing, but I didn't find anything after a few google searches that covered it. I must be missing something...

Edited by bones75

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@iacas I've searched for "rake" and "raking" and didn't see any relevant hits. So it looks like there isn't a rule, but is there another term I should be searching for? If you're suggesting I just read the whole thing top to bottom, I kinda didn't want to, that's why I posted the question 🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

25 minutes ago, bones75 said:

or is it only bad etiquette?

If you can point me to an older post that'd be great too, as I tried looking.

You'll have a tough time finding a Rule which covers your dilemma. You, however, will find penalties for raking a bunker when you shouldn't. See Rule 8.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=8

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

17 hours ago, bones75 said:

@iacas I've searched for "rake" and "raking" and didn't see any relevant hits. So it looks like there isn't a rule, but is there another term I should be searching for? If you're suggesting I just read the whole thing top to bottom, I kinda didn't want to, that's why I posted the question 🙂

Did you search for "bunker"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

17 hours ago, iacas said:

At least read Rule 12.

13 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Did you search for "bunker"?

Seriously. 🙂

Bones, I'm trying to help you to help yourself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I get it!  and this isn't even my first time asking a stupid question in TST. I write things and hit the "post" button a little too quickly. Another reminder I need to stop doing this isn't a bad thing.

So after reading rule 12, I understand there is no penalty. If there's anything elsewhere, or if I ever need complete certainty, I will assuredly give it a thorough read myself. 

Related and genesis of my question: I just played in a big church tourney. It was at a private country club, and they made it part of the "tournament rules" to rake bunkers, fill seed mixture into divots, and fix all ball marks. I didn't ask the organizers if these "rules" were officially deemed as the tournament's "Code of Conduct" (which I just read/learned about now) but if so, I now understand that the "committee" could penalize or DQ people. At the time, i didn't know if this was standard or unusual practice, or something the church organizer did for whatever reason. Either way I felt like it wasn't it in the official rulebook, and was seeking confirmation cuz I was too lazy to find it myself.

I'll def read the latest rulebook before I post the likes again!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, Asheville said:

You're good, bones.

Ask away anytime. 🙂

Ditto.

In the future, though, if you say “I read Rule 12 and didn’t find anything but wondered if it might be elsewhere in etiquette or something.” That lets people know that you did some research on your own, @bones75. It’s good to see.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2020 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Do you pay an additional trail fee at your club to use your own cart?....do you also pay storage fees at the club for your cart or can you drive to the club in your cart?
    • I’m really good at taking photos on the go quickly! Plus those guys are probably sick of my face, lol. I just wanna stay incognito, lol. 
    • Ya, I thought the same thing.   I downloaded the pic, blew it up and it is resting against the stick but I did learn something from this...Thanks Erik, Bill and Asheville.
    • 92 today at Bonaventure Golf Club.  The place used to be a top draw for western Broward County.  Now it is a run down destination for value golfers like myself.  The course is still interesting with many tiered greens and intrusive water hazards.  But they are not keeping it up. The long game was working today.  There are four par 5s, and they really are not especially well protected.  My drives were just very good today, so I went for three of them.  Lemme show you what I mean.  The distances you see are as the crow flies. My drawn lines are estimates. This is the 1st hole.  You can see that the primary protection comes from the large trees I went over. They are towering banyans.  I mean, there is water on both sides, but there is still a lot of room.  Interestingly, the design looks like it has more protection for an iron on the second shot.  Nailed the driver.  Nailed the 3-wood. Impressed the guys I was with until I 3-putted from just off the green. Opportunity squandered. This is the 7th.  My drive was not amazing - it got the wrong spin and faded a bit.  Remarkably, this had the effect of shorting the hole as you can see. I was not going to go for this in two, but due to the location I got this chance. My distance on the 3-wood is pretty consistently beyond 230, but I have lateral control issues. In this case it just made sense.  I nutted it again, but another par.  Oh well. Here we have the 10th.  Probably my best drive of the day.  I used the 3H for the second shot.  I was not actually aiming for the green, but rather for that large bunker to the left of it, frightened of the water.  The ball got some side spin and the wind did the rest, making for a long, lucky shot.  Bogey on this one.  Yeah, I know.  That kind of annoyed me, but such is my game.  The flag was on a top tier, and my short chip rolled off it.  Then my 1st putt was for crap, poorly dealing with that same incline. I need to practice those more. The par 5's were fun.  But I just was not hitting the irons quite right, and I was not putting very well.  I was constantly scrambling, and I do not think I got up and down even once. Thanks for letting me share this with you.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 1puttit
      1puttit
      (55 years old)
    2. Al Vorster
      Al Vorster
      (41 years old)
    3. alczervik4
      alczervik4
      (31 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...