Jump to content
IGNORED

Daily Rules Question II


Recommended Posts

11 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:
  Reveal hidden contents

1. A. It hit a loose impediment.

2. B. Live insect is an outside influence. Must replay the stroke.

 

The terminology in the heading of R11.1, and the terminology in 11.1b's Exception 2 are critically different. 'Outside Influence' does not have relevance to Exception 2, the Exception applies only to the explicitly named items.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

You'll note that DaveP doesn't guess . . . he looks 'em up, beginning where? Beginning with Definitions! New one tomorrow. ☺    

Two easy ones about equipment. A ball may be substituted for if it becomes cut or cracked or scuffed.     A.    True     B.    False A player may borrow a ball from another player.   

😷:    

Posted Images

Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

Link to post
Share on other sites

16 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

Spoiler

I'm going with C.  It's not asking about club selection..

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

59 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

B.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

Spoiler

C, from the definitions of Loose impediments, abnormal course condition, and animal hole.  

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

Spoiler

C

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Again thanks for the refresher on all the Rules details.

  Hide contents

I was going to say "C" but cheated and looked at @DaveP043's answer.  Shame on me.

 

You'll note that DaveP doesn't guess . . . he looks 'em up, beginning where? Beginning with Definitions!

New one tomorrow. ☺

 

 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

Thanks, Denny. The reality is that Rules are a niche interest. We know they're vital for players who wish to compete at higher levels, but for most who just want to knock it around with their friends, the Rules aren't very important.

Spoiler

Charlie

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, dennyjones said:

We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

I'm guessing that participation likely goes beyond those who post. Is that something @iacas has data on?

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

99B1FA12-9D11-4D83-8327-AD7737462F0B.jpeg.b761337e7f6cee75a9eb789b8801d289.jpeg

I'm not aware how much that data guides on how many people view without posting at all. In my case, I've posted 7 times (this is #8) since the thread began Saturday, but I've probably accessed the thread many times that number. The big number above doesn't tell me now many people. But my underlying point to Denny is posts will understate the number of folk engaging with the material.

Link to post
Share on other sites

In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

Spoiler

17.1c says B is right, referencing 6.3b(2).  Essentially, you only get to have one ball in play at any time.  Once you drop a ball to take relief, intending to play that substituted ball, it becomes the ball in play.  This is the same reasoning behind the rule that you cannot play your provisional if you find the original ball in the woods.  You don't get the option to select which ball to play.

 

13 hours ago, Asheville said:

You'll note that DaveP doesn't guess . . . he looks 'em up, beginning where? Beginning with Definitions!

Many times I don't need to look these up, but I always try to reference a specific rule (or definition).  I've had lots of people tell me the wrong thing about rules, so I don't often take other people's answers at face value, and nobody should take MY answers at face value.  Trust but verify.  Read the rules for yourself if you really want to learn about the rules, and learn about using the rulebook.

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

Rule 17.1c reveals all. (Edit, I see Dave identified 17.1c too, but then fell victim to gremlins.)

Edited by fredf
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • If I am understanding this correctly, I've been able to, for over two and a half years now, move stones in bunkers, as long as doing so doesn't move my ball, same as I can do on the fairway or in the rough?   I either missed this entirely or forgot about it.   
    • It was explained to me that they wanted people to remove stones, but not to give them so much freedom that they  could just go messing about willy nilly and moving their ball. So, what they came up with did that.
    • Previously the LR caused a stone to be treated like a MO in all respects. Now the rule doesn't.  Why not?  Why shouldn't the Rule simply deem a stone in a bunker as either a LI or treat it by Rule as one? A safety conscious player could incur a penalty for being safe about a stone but not a walnut. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. DanTheStallion
      DanTheStallion
      (36 years old)
    2. iYelledFOREatTheHOLE
      iYelledFOREatTheHOLE
      (31 years old)
    3. jd1623
      jd1623
      (38 years old)
    4. Rextarpromodel63
      Rextarpromodel63
      (38 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...