Jump to content
IGNORED

Daily Rules Question II


Asheville
 Share

Note: This thread is 879 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Two easy ones about equipment.

A ball may be substituted for if it becomes cut or cracked or scuffed.
    A.    True
    B.    False

A player may borrow a ball from another player.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Upvote 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
24 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Two easy ones about equipment.

A ball may be substituted for if it becomes cut or cracked or scuffed.
    A.    True
    B.    False

A player may borrow a ball from another player.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

The first one is True. The second one I’m not so sure about without peaking, so I will guess False.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Oops, I meant to include this one, too.

A damaged or broken club may be used.
    A.    True
    B.    False

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator

Not scuffed.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
13 minutes ago, snapfade said:

You can borrow a ball. Joe LaCava almost had to borrow one at Pebble a few years ago when he forgot to stock up on them before tee off.

That was Stevie if you’re talking about Tiger in 2000.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

Two easy ones about equipment.

A ball may be substituted for if it becomes cut or cracked or scuffed.
    A.    True
    B.    False

A player may borrow a ball from another player.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

 

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

Oops, I meant to include this one, too.

A damaged or broken club may be used.
    A.    True
    B.    False

1.  False

2.  True

3. True

  • Like 1

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

(Without looking at the responses above):

False.

True.

Edit: Okay, gotta add in the third question: "Depends."  (If it was damaged during the round, yes.  If it was previously damaged, no.)

Edited by Missouri Swede

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yesterday's answers:

False, R4.2c2

True

True, R4.1a2

--------------------------------------------

We all know that if our ball is in a bunker we cannot make a practice swing that touches the sand in the bunker. However, once the hole has been completed and before we start the next hole we are free to take practice swings in the bunker as long as we don’t unreasonably delay play.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

  • Like 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites

40 minutes ago, Asheville said:

We all know that if our ball is in a bunker we cannot make a practice swing that touches the sand in the bunker. However, once the hole has been completed and before we start the next hole we are free to take practice swings in the bunker as long as we don’t unreasonably delay play.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

My thought is "False" or B.  But I will be interested in learning the correct answer.

Brian Kuehn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

We all know that if our ball is in a bunker we cannot make a practice swing that touches the sand in the bunker. However, once the hole has been completed and before we start the next hole we are free to take practice swings in the bunker as long as we don’t unreasonably delay play.
    A.    True
    B.    False

False.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

We all know that if our ball is in a bunker we cannot make a practice swing that touches the sand in the bunker. However, once the hole has been completed and before we start the next hole we are free to take practice swings in the bunker as long as we don’t unreasonably delay play.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

False

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

We all know that if our ball is in a bunker we cannot make a practice swing that touches the sand in the bunker. However, once the hole has been completed and before we start the next hole we are free to take practice swings in the bunker as long as we don’t unreasonably delay play.
    A.    True
    B.    False

False: ... 

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

Yesterday's answers:

False, R4.2c2

True

True, R4.1a2

--------------------------------------------

We all know that if our ball is in a bunker we cannot make a practice swing that touches the sand in the bunker. However, once the hole has been completed and before we start the next hole we are free to take practice swings in the bunker as long as we don’t unreasonably delay play.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

:no:

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, fredf said:

See Rule 5.5b.

Except the question is about a practice swing.
Rule 5.5b discusses a practice stroke. A stroke is the forward movement of the club made to strike the ball. If there is no ball, is it still a stroke? “Striking a tee or natural object with a club (such as a stone or a pine cone) is not a practice stroke.” (Interpretation of 5.5a/1)

  • Like 1

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

29 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Except the question is about a practice swing.
Rule 5.5b discusses a practice stroke. A stroke is the forward movement of the club made to strike the ball. If there is no ball, is it still a stroke? “Striking a tee or natural object with a club (such as a stone or a pine cone) is not a practice stroke.” (Interpretation of 5.5a/1)

Edit: Looking a little more at Rule 12.2b(3), it allows for touching the sand after the ball is played, without penalty under Rule 12.2b(1). Since Rule 12.2b(1) is where a practice swing is prohibited, I’m going against the consensus and saying true.

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 879 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...