Jump to content
IGNORED

Too Much Sandbagging


Bucki1968
 Share

Recommended Posts

53 minutes ago, Bucki1968 said:

Okay, so it turns out we do have a handicap committee. Three on the committee are part of the infamous “tank these last few holes” group! 😒

That explains a thing or two..😂

Vishal S.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 4/27/2021 at 10:05 AM, ncates00 said:

There’s no satisfaction in winning that way. You didn’t really win.

Umm . . . yes, I did. I have the trophies (and cash) to prove it. And I got GREAT satisfaction. 

  • Like 1

Bill M

Link to comment
Share on other sites


2 hours ago, phan52 said:

Umm . . . yes, I did. I have the trophies (and cash) to prove it. And I got GREAT satisfaction. 

this. so much this. I have two ridiculous trophies I am inordinately proud of:

1 is from golf,  a 2-man scramble that we have played against each other for decades. We allow 1 mulligan per golfer per nine. We routinely, in that group, break certain rules as in if they happen to both hit it ob, there is no stroke and distance, they go somewhere close, drop it with 1 stroke.  The other guys can't hit out of a bunker so treat it as ground under repair. And once a year there is a round at a specific course that determines which partners get the traveling trophies to display for the next year. By the rules of OUR round, we win or lose the partner. It is a set of rules all four members have agreed to. No handicaps are involved, sometimes rules are unknowingly broken,  we have "gimmes" and sometimes I think both sides get a bit generous with them...but we all follow the same agreed upon rules and I have no qualms about it. We won under the rules we chose to play under and I have no qualms about it.

second is from the "Greater lesser Portland 3.5 and under Mixed Doubles" tennis tournament. To enter, you have to be a co-ed team with neither partner exceeding the 3.5. Molly and I won. There was one person in the tournament who was a 4.5, who did not belong in the tournament but he made up for it by being a chauvinist pig who cost his team the final sagainst us by A) not letting his girlfriend hit and B0 repeatedly trying to drive the ball straight through Molly because she was "just a girl" and getting point after point dumped just over the net.  There is no question had he had a partner of even modest skills, he would have beaten us, although he was not supposed to be in the tournament. Any two modestly talented tennis players could have won the tournament...but they weren't allowed in.

 

I still enjoy the trophy. It is gorgeous. 

The rules were established, we played under them in both cases and won. In both cases, better players would beat us...but those aren't the rules. And like you, I have the trophies and the satisfaction. And the pictures, but those are a blackmail matter, so.....

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • I just got a new B.O.A.T. BEST SHOT:  So, the only thing I had working all day was my DRIVER.  So, when I arrive at the twelfth tee box, I'm feeling pretty confident...  However, I've lost a few balls (sliced drives) to the lateral water hazard.  No worries, I've been nailing it.  Then standing on the tee, I decide to go straight at it (shortcut).  To be successful, however, I don't just need a good drive... I need my BEST drive... and I GET IT.    Best shot of the day.  Anxiously holding my breath until I saw it bounce on the far fairway...  I practically skipped out of the tee box.   
    • Yesterday, I rolled an 88.  I'm no mathematician but I believe it's under 90.  
    • Thank you, good to hear Good golfing👍
    • Day 25- Putting and chipping practice indoors. Practice has been transferring to block practice at practice greens, and hope it will happen when I am playing this weekend.
    • I have partial knee replacements in each knee in 2019. My game is just as good if not better than before the surgeries. I really can’t feel or tell any difference in playing other than the knee pain all gone. It was pretty bad before the replacements. Glad I did it. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CodyStinson
      CodyStinson
      (28 years old)
    2. Detwolverine
      Detwolverine
      (37 years old)
    3. wenlanga444
      wenlanga444
      (25 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...