IGNORED

Driver Fitting - No Help

Long story short…. I have been out of golf for 5 years.  I started playing again this year.  My driver swing speed used to be 99, but now is 88 and 90.  My current driver is a 910 titleist with a stiff shaft.  I figured I could get better results with a newer driver having a regular flex shaft.

PXG had a special for a fitting - $12.50.  So I did it.

After they had me try different club heads and many different shafts, they could not find one that outperformed my current driver.  Some were virtually identical, but no real gains.

They said my aoa (+2.6), launch angle (13), and spin rate (2450) were “good”.

My question…  Is it uncommon to be fitted and not have any combinations that outperform one’s current 10+ year old driver?  I was really surprised.

Well wouldn't that only mean that PXG doesn't have any driver that out performs your current driver? Or did you try a variety of brand, head, and shaft combinations?

AFAIK, PXG isn't really known for producing elite drivers. 

I'd bet a decent amount of money that there is some model of driver/shaft combination out there from one of the main OEMs that would beat your current driver. (Titleist, Ping, Taylormade, Callaway, Cobra)

"Beat" can be more than just carry distance too, it might be the same distance but better dispersion, or a tighter deviation between your shortest and longest hits, better smash factor, etc.

Now whether or not the gains would be enough to justify $600+ for the new driver is up to you and your budget to decide, but I don't think it's fair to state that the driver fitting provided no help when you presumably only tried one brand's offerings.

• Thumbs Up 1

Driver: :callaway: Rogue Max ST LS
Woods:  :cobra: Darkspeed LS 3Wood/3Hybrid
Irons: :tmade: P770 (4-PW)
Wedges: :callaway: MD3 50   MD5 54 58 degree  
Putter: :odyssey:  White Hot RX #1
Ball: :srixon: Z Star XV

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades