Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5791 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
I really feel Allenby got hosed by the official making him re-tee - it looked like he saw where the ball crossed the hazard line and the official didn't want to hear any of it. I'm sure the money he'll miss out on by taking a 7 versus a probable 5 if he'd been allowed to drop at the approximate point of entry isn't going to put him in the poor house, but imagine if that's a guy that's trying to break through and a shit ruling like that puts him out of the money or costs him a starting spot next week.

I know the official is trying to follow the spirit of the rules, but that's going over the top, IMO.

Posted
Completely disagree. Thems the rules. Someone has to confirm the ball going into the hazard (according to Faldo). You can't do that from 300 yards away at the tee box. Allenby came off as a real whiner when he didn't accept the official's offer to drive him back to the tee, plus he potentially held up play. He didn't like the rule, so what, it's still a rule, he's not above them.

In my bag:

Driver: Titleist TSi3 | 15º 3-Wood: Ping G410 | 17º 2-Hybrid: Ping G410 | 19º 3-Iron: TaylorMade GAPR Lo |4-PW Irons: Nike VR Pro Combo | 54º SW, 60º LW: Titleist Vokey SM8 | Putter: Odyssey Toulon Las Vegas H7

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Completely disagree. Thems the rules. Someone has to confirm the ball going into the hazard (according to Faldo). You can't do that from 300 yards away at the tee box. Allenby came off as a real whiner when he didn't accept the official's offer to drive him back to the tee, plus he potentially held up play. He didn't like the rule, so what, it's still a rule, he's not above them.

The more I think about it, had there been water in the hazard, he would have probably been allowed to drop (you could definitely see a splash even from a long distance). I still think it came down to a 'my word vs. yours' with the official, and he (Allenby) thought he saw his ball enter the hazard.

Nice comeback on 18, though - I guess that's why he's playing on tour and we're yapping about it on the internet.

Posted
The argument was that if they couldn't find the ball, then surely it must've crossed the hazard. It's a disgrace at his attitude though. Most Australian golf fans recognise Allenby as a whinger and the opinion on him is you either love or hate him. Personally he reminds me of a spoilt child at times.

Driver: Taylormade R11 set to 8*
3 Wood: R9 15* Motore Stiff
Hybrid: 19° 909 H Voodoo
Irons: 4-PW AP2 Project X 5.5
52*, 60* Vokey SM Chrome

Putter: Odyssey XG #7

Ball: Titleist Pro V1x


Posted
I don't blame him, that ruling was complete crap. He hooked it into the hazard, was no one else watching, not even his playing partners? The "spirit of the game" would say that if he saw it go in there, and nobody else saw different, then yeah he should take a penalty drop, not go back to the tee. That ruling defeats the whole purpose of a having a designated hazard in the first place.

  • Administrator
Posted
I don't blame him, that ruling was complete crap. He hooked it into the hazard, was no one else watching, not even his playing partners? The "spirit of the game" would say that if he saw it go in there, and nobody else saw different, then yeah he should take a penalty drop, not go back to the tee. That ruling defeats the whole purpose of a having a designated hazard in the first place.

No it doesn't. Look up the definition of "virtually certain." It hit the trees and could have gone anywhere (or still be in the trees).

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
The argument was that if they couldn't find the ball, then surely it must've crossed the hazard. It's a disgrace at his attitude though. Most Australian golf fans recognise Allenby as a whinger and the opinion on him is you either love or hate him.

Yep this........

Spotted that out watching the Sony Open.

In my SasQuatch carry bag.
909D2 9.5* (Aldila Voodo Shaft)
FT 3W 15* (Fujikura E370 Shaft Stiff Flex)
FT Hybrid 21* Nuetral (Fujikura Fit On M Hybrid Stiff Flex)
FT Hybrid 24* Nuetral (Fujikura Fit On M Hybrid Stiff Flex)Irons: X22 Tour 5 thru PW (True Temper Dynamic Gold S300) 2* upright (also...


Posted
No it doesn't. Look up the definition of "virtually certain." It hit the trees and could have gone anywhere (or still be in the trees).

Ok I must have missed the part where it went into the tree. That's a tough break though, I'd imagine that if any of us were in that situation where we hit a tee shot towards a hazard and get down there only to be told to re tee we'd be pretty angry.


Posted
If he felt so strongly then he should have taken the drop and dealt with the possibility that he would be DQ-ed or he could have declared he was going to play a second ball and resolved it after the round with the committee.

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
If he felt so strongly then he should have taken the drop and dealt with the possibility that he would be DQ-ed or he could have declared he was going to play a second ball and resolved it after the round with the committee.

Wouldn't the rules official on the course technically be "the committee" that gives the final ruling?


  • Administrator
Posted
Wouldn't the rules official on the course technically be "the committee" that gives the final ruling?

Yeah. He is. Especially with radios.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
If he really did not like the ruling, he always has the right to play two balls . The official is not the final word on the matter. The player is the sole person responsible for his/her actions. All he had to do is declare he was playing two balls. One under the water hazard rule, and one for the lost ball, then declare which score was going to count. When he gets in and before he signs his card, the matter would have been figured out. They could have gone back to video or what ever. How many times does a player get in and is informed of a rules violation that has already been confirmed by video. For once, it might have worked out in his favor.

My swing thoughts:

- Negative thinking hurts more than negative swinging.
- I let my swing balance me.
- Full extension back and through to the target. - I swing under not around my body. - My club must not twist in my swing. - Keep a soft left knee


Posted
If he really did not like the ruling, he always has the right to play

Totally, like Palmer at the Masters, the course official was wrong, he was right, and he did just this. In the end, the ruling came down that he was correct indeed, and got a 3 instead of a 4. Knowing the rules is a great tool.


Posted
If he really did not like the ruling, he always has the right to play

Totally, like Palmer at the Masters, the course official was wrong, he was right, and he did just this. In the end, the ruling came down that he was correct indeed, and got a 3 instead of a 4. Knowing the rules is a great tool.

The main difference is that the official that gave Allenby the ruling was in direct contact via radio with "the committee" the entire time. What you are referring to that needed to be "worked out" was being worked out over the radio. The only problem though is that he couldn't take a drop because no one had any idea where his ball crossed the line into the hazard. Any drop he takes would be in a random "assumed" locatiol and result in a penalty all on it's own.


Note: This thread is 5791 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.