IGNORED

taking a huge leap of faith re Golf dream

freddy
Note: This thread is 5090 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm brand new to the forum and am sure that many people have posted something similar to this but I feel that I'm in a unique situation and want people's thoughts.

I am currently a 26 year old lawyer, but have stumbled upon an opportunity to attempt to devote myself full time to golf for a period of several years in order to try to play professionally.

I took up the game at 10, teaching myself to play by reading Golf magazine and broke par on a 6200 yard course when I was 14. However, I was a nationally ranked tennis player and devoted my efforts to that, eventually gaining a scholarship to play D1 tennis. Throughout this time I played golf very sparingly - I would guess that I have averaged 10 rounds a year over the last ten years. I haven't practiced since I was 14.

I burned out playing tennis, as I never really loved the sport, but have always loved my time on the golf course. Although I play so sparingly, I would guess that I play to about a 1 handicap. My game has actually steadily improved as I have gotten older. At my parent's country club that was ranked one of the most difficult courses in the country by Golf Digest, I routinely shoot 73, 74, and 75. Recently, US open qualifying was held there and the winner who qualified for the open finished with a 2 day score of -2.

Without getting into specifics, I am now in a position that I can take several years to work only on my golf game - I would not have any other job. If I don't think I have what it takes after a few years, I have connections to fall back on.