• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
newtogolf

Amazingly bad shot - what do rules say?

Recommended Posts

I hit a horrible drive today with my 3w, a hard worm burning hook that hit the far side of the cart path, flew high (and far) in the air, landed on the previous holes green, slowly rolled right up to the cup, hit the pin and dropped.  My buddies told me to play it as a lost ball (penalty) and hit another off the tee.  I thought I should get to hit the ball dropped just off the green without penalty, but they disagreed.   Were either of us right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

You get free relief.

In fact its the only place on the golf course where you must take relief unless there is a local rule in place for sensitive areas.

Rule 25-1b Abnormal Ground Conditions

b. Relief

On the Putting Green : If the ball lies on the putting green , the player must lift the ball and place it, without penalty, at the nearest point of relief that is not in a hazard or, if complete relief is impossible, at the nearest position to where it lay that affords maximum available relief from the condition, but not nearer the hole and not in a hazard . The nearest point of relief or maximum available relief may be off the putting green .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The wrong rule has been quoted above but the basic answer is correct.

Wrong Putting Green

A “ wrong putting green ” is any putting green other than that of the hole being played. Unless otherwise prescribed by the Committee , this term includes a practice putting green or pitching green on the course .

25-3 . Wrong Putting Green

a . Interference

Interference by a wrong putting green occurs when a ball is on the wrong putting green .

Interference to a player’s stance or the area of his intended swing is not, of itself, interference under this Rule.

b . Relief

If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green , he must not play the ball as it lies. He must take relief, without penalty, as follows:

The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief . The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green . When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief , the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the wrong putting green and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green . The ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule.

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Abnormal Ground Condition rule would apply if you holed a shot on a "double green", (a large green that had pins for two holes) where your ball went into the wrong hole. Also, I believe the PGA Championship uses a course where one of the greens is shared as the practice green.  In these cases, if your ball goes into the wrong hole, the hole is classified as a hole made by a greens keeper and Rule 25 (AGC) applies.

The main distinction between the two rules in the above scenarios is with a wrong putting green, you must take relief off the green, with a wrong hole on the same green, your nearest point of relief is most likely still on the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks, that's what I thought, but they argued that because it was in the cup it was treated like an out of bounds or lost ball and required me to re-tee and 1 stroke penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by newtogolf

Thanks, that's what I thought, but they argued that because it was in the cup it was treated like an out of bounds or lost ball and required me to re-tee and 1 stroke penalty.

Where do people come up with this stuff?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Where do people come up with this stuff?

They just make it up as they go and since many people don't bother to check out what they are told (applies to more than golf) they in turn pass it along.  It has always amazed me just how gullible & trusting a lot of people seem to be.  Kudos to the OP for seeking information on what is real.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

The wrong rule has been quoted above but the basic answer is correct.

Wrong Putting Green

A “wrong putting green” is any putting green other than that of the hole being played. Unless otherwise prescribed by theCommittee, this term includes a practice putting green or pitching green on the course.

25-3. Wrong Putting Green

a. Interference

Interference by a wrong putting green occurs when a ball is on thewrong putting green.

Interference to a player’s stance or the area of his intended swing is not, of itself, interference under this Rule.

b. Relief

If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green, he must not play the ball as it lies. He must take relief, without penalty, as follows:

The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the wrong putting green and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule.

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

So if the ball is dropped and first strikes a point not in a hazard and not on a putting green but then rolls into a hazard, are you: -

a) in the hazard

b) entitled to redrop

c) in the hazard if it has rolled less than 2 club length, but entitled to redrop if it has rolled 2 club lengths or more

d) none of the above

My instincts say c, can anyone confirm?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks to all that responded.  I'm not a rules expert by any means but being a member of TST has certainly improved my knowledge and understanding of the rules.  Not only did they steal a stroke from me, but they made me buy them a round for the hole in 1, some friends huh?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by newtogolf

Thanks, that's what I thought, but they argued that because it was in the cup it was treated like an out of bounds or lost ball and required me to re-tee and 1 stroke penalty.

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Where do people come up with this stuff?

Learning the rules by word of mouth is perhaps the best way to receive and pass on bad information.  I can't count the number of times I've been told some rule by someone who was absolutely certain in his rightness, despite the fact that he was not even close to the rule book.  There are so many popular misconceptions about how to take relief from any and all relief situations (including some where relief is not even indicated ), that the odds are better that you will be told wrong than that you will be told right.  This is the best reason I know to carry that little book in my bag at all times.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I actually had my USGA rule book on me, but if you see my other thread on pace of play, you'll better understand why I was told that would take too long and be a waste of time since they knew the rule.

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Learning the rules by word of mouth is perhaps the best way to receive and pass on bad information.  I can't count the number of times I've been told some rule by someone who was absolutely certain in his rightness, despite the fact that he was not even close to the rule book.  There are so many popular misconceptions about how to take relief from any and all relief situations (including some where relief is not even indicated   ), that the odds are better that you will be told wrong than that you will be told right.  This is the best reason I know to carry that little book in my bag at all times.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • really hope his back holds out this time as, despite all the bad stuff he's been through (even if self inflicted), i think golf has missed him to a certain extent. Maybe he should make his return on one of the Web.com events or even an smaller one (Tiger Woods on the Hooters tour ). After the layoff he's had the less pressure he the better.
    • You put on quite a show the final two days.  Fun to watch man.  You found your long game and were putting to one of those oversized holes I think!    I just wish my long game would have been settled enough to give you a closer match.  I had a blast, learned a lot and enjoyed competitive golf for once.   It was great to play with you and learn from you @NCGolfer.  I truly enjoyed our pairings.  Hopefully I was not too much of a distraction out there with my long game struggles.    Thanks for being a good sport about it if anyway.   I really enjoyed playing with @bkuehn1952 as well.  I had a very tough first nine out there but Brian kept things positive and we battled through it.  We played much more competitively the second time out as shown in Drew's scorecard post.  We found a way to make our abilities work together, and it was a lot of fun!  I enjoyed meeting everyone else and a lot of the guys I have not had a chance to yet.  I want to mention @jsgolfer who was my roommate and our MVP.  I wish I was able to see Jerry play more.  What I did see was a treat to watch.  He is also one of the most kind and considerate people I have met in a long time.  A true class act.   Yellow ball or white ball I take responsibility for my shots out there no matter how much weight was on each individual one.  I had a 10' putt or so for a half point on the front Saturday that I lipped out after I thought I put a great stroke on it.  I should have put that one in.  I sure hit some bad ones off the tee and I am just thankful that I did not cost my team the cup.   Finally I just wanted to say one more time, thank you to @iacas and @mvmac.  I know that this was a lot of work for you organizing and making this a truly special experience for us all.  I hope everyone who was there could see how much work this must have been for them and how it was done to give an incredible experience to the participants.  Thank you guys so much!  
    • Finally again a (really) good tournament from Joost. Battling for victory until the final hole, coming up one shot short against Garcia to get a second place. Which raises him right back into the top 100 of the OWGR. Hopefully a good finish of the season in The Final Series, good points and money to earn there.
    • My answer depends on what you mean by "manage on the course."   I have a bag full of swing thoughts, because I have made the same mistakes so many times and corrected things so many times.  It's like a bag full of clubs.  I carry them around with me but I only use one at most when I'm addressing my shot.  But which one it is depends on what happened on the last shot or sometime in the recent past.  Then there are the times I have no swing thought at all, but hit a great shot.  But definitely I cannot have more than one swing thought in my head when I'm about to hit a shot. 
    • I voted 4 and 0, not based on the definitions you provided,  but based on your vote (9 and 1), and how I would compare my game to yours.   I think if you hit a solid shot 9 out of 10 times, then I should say I hit that kind of shot 4 out of 10 times.   I believe you would define "sweet spot" as much much smaller and more elusive than I would, but we have to agree on a definition, so taking your definition, which is really, "a spot you hit 1 out of 10 times," then I should say less than that.  So I said 0. 
  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Covert
      Covert
      (74 years old)
    2. opie
      opie
      (40 years old)
    3. Robert Diddings
      Robert Diddings
      (33 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon