Jump to content
IGNORED

2 Tee or not 2 Tee


Bad Golfer
 Share

Recommended Posts

So you hit your tee-shot into a water hazard and decide to play your third stroke from the tee as the water is directly in front of the tee.  There is no doubt about your first shot hitting the water, you both see and hear it go in, so you are now going to play a penalty stroke.

The question is " Can you tee it up a second time or not?"

Looking at the R&A; rules, it is difficult to understand their answer to this question; do any of my fellow golfers know for sure?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


When a player is putting a ball into play from the teeing ground , it must be played from within the teeing ground and from the surface of the ground or from a conforming tee (see Appendix IV ) in or on the surface of the ground.

Q. A player played his original ball out of bounds from the teeing ground. Under Rule 27-1 , he teed up another ball. When addressing the ball, he touched it and it fell off the tee. What is the ruling?

A. There is no penalty, because a teed ball is not in play until a stroke has been made at it (see Definition of "Ball in Play"). The ball may be re-teed (Rule 11-3 ).

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by newtogolf

If it's a Par 3 and there's no designated drop zone I believe you can re-tee.  If there is a drop zone then local rules apply.

The OP said

So you hit your tee-shot into a water hazard and decide to play your third stroke from the tee

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by newtogolf

If it's a Par 3 and there's no designated drop zone I believe you can re-tee.  If there is a drop zone then local rules apply.

But replaying the previous shot, I believe, is always an option in the case of OB/Lost ball/hazards of any kind/etc.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

That is what he said but I've played at courses where the local rules were if you hit into the water hazard you proceed to the drop zone (I'm guessing to speed up play).  I was under the impression if the local rules state you play from the drop zone you don't get the choice to re-tee.  Am I mis-interpreting that rule?

Originally Posted by Rulesman

The OP said

So you hit your tee-shot into a water hazard and decide to play your third stroke from the tee

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

But replaying the previous shot, I believe, is always an option in the case of OB/Lost ball/hazards of any kind/etc.

Joe Paradiso

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Golfer View Post

So you hit your tee-shot into a water hazard and decide to play your third stroke from the tee as the water is directly in front of the tee.  There is no doubt about your first shot hitting the water, you both see and hear it go in, so you are now going to play a penalty stroke.

The question is " Can you tee it up a second time or not?"

Looking at the R&A; rules, it is difficult to understand their answer to this question; do any of my fellow golfers know for sure?

Rule 20-5a covers it:

Quote:

20-5 . Making Next Stroke From Where Previous Stroke Made

When a player elects or is required to make his next stroke from where a previous stroke was made, he must proceed as follows:

(a) On the Teeing Ground : The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground . It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by newtogolf

That is what he said but I've played at courses where the local rules were if you hit into the water hazard you proceed to the drop zone (I'm guessing to speed up play).  I was under the impression if the local rules state you play from the drop zone you don't get the choice to re-tee.  Am I mis-interpreting that rule?

If the Committee considers that it is not feasible or practicable to proceed in accordance with a Rule providing relief, it may establish dropping zones in which balls may or must be dropped when taking relief. Generally, such dropping zones should be provided as an additional relief option to those available under the Rule itself, rather than being mandatory.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by newtogolf

That is what he said but I've played at courses where the local rules were if you hit into the water hazard you proceed to the drop zone (I'm guessing to speed up play).  I was under the impression if the local rules state you play from the drop zone you don't get the choice to re-tee.  Am I mis-interpreting that rule?

I don't think he was questioning where to hit from but whether or not an actual tee could be used.

Dave :-)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks to all for their contributions.  As a European, the R&A; rules apply, although I quite take on board rule 20.5 from USPGA, which may be easier to understand than those of the R&A; which appear to be full of ambiguity and over complex with continual references to other rules.

I have seen pro golfers tee-up after such a shot, but because it is in fact a penalty stroke, the luxury of a tee seems inappropriate.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Bad Golfer

Thanks to all for their contributions.  As a European, the R&A; rules apply, although I quite take on board rule 20.5 from USPGA, which may be easier to understand than those of the R&A; which appear to be full of ambiguity and over complex with continual references to other rules.

I have seen pro golfers tee-up after such a shot, but because it is in fact a penalty stroke, the luxury of a tee seems inappropriate.

R&A; and USGA rules are identical.  They are agreed upon by a joint rules committee composed of members from both organizations.

  • Informative 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Bad Golfer

Thanks to all for their contributions.  As a European, the R&A; rules apply, although I quite take on board rule 20.5 from USPGA, which may be easier to understand than those of the R&A; which appear to be full of ambiguity and over complex with continual references to other rules.

The USPGA (ie the United States Professional Golfers Association) has nothing to do with the Rules. The USGA (United States Golf Association) is a completely different organisation.

The USGA, in conjunction with The R&A; in St. Andrews, Scotland, writes, interprets and maintains the Rules of Golf to guard the tradition and integrity of the game. The two organizations are joint authors and owners of The Rules of Golf and Decisions on the Rules of Golf. Through an agreement with The R&A;, the Rules jurisdiction of the USGA includes only the United States, its possessions and Mexico. The latest version went into effect Jan. 1, 2012, with the next revision taking effect Jan. 1, 2016.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Bad Golfer

I have seen pro golfers tee-up after such a shot, but because it is in fact a penalty stroke, the luxury of a tee seems inappropriate.

The stroke from the tee is not a penalty stroke. It is simply another stroke.

A ball may have to be played again from the teeing ground for a variety of reasons. Not all involve a penalty. See Rule 11-4a.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by newtogolf

That is what he said but I've played at courses where the local rules were if you hit into the water hazard you proceed to the drop zone (I'm guessing to speed up play).  I was under the impression if the local rules state you play from the drop zone you don't get the choice to re-tee.  Am I mis-interpreting that rule?

I think you would still have a choice even when it is a bad choice because the drop zone is the only good choice. But I can understand your question. I can also imagine a hole where the local rule would "require" you to use the drop zone. - perhaps an island green where the thrill of trying again and again may outweigh the practical aspects of taking advantage of the drop zone.

Russ - Student of the Moe Norman swing as taught by the pros at - http://moenormangolf.com

Titleist 910 D3 8.5* w/ Project X shaft/ Titleist 910F 15* w/ Project X shaft

Cobra Baffler 20* & 23* hybrids with Accra hybrid shafts

Mizuno MP-53 irons 5Iron-PW AeroTech i95 shafts stiff and soft stepped once/Mizuno MP T-11 50.6/56.10/MP T10 60*

Seemore PCB putter with SuperStroke 3.0

Srixon 2012 Z-Star yellow balls/ Iomic Sticky 2.3, X-Evolution grips/Titleist Lightweight Cart Bag---

extra/alternate clubs: Mizunos JPX-800 Pro 5-GW with Project X 5.0 soft-stepped shafts

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I was referencing that exact situation in my post.

Upon starting the round, the Starter told us that hole 10 was a 170 yard Par 3 island green and that if our tee shot went into the water the local rule required using the drop zone, not teeing up another ball.   I was under the impression in that case that the local rule trumped the USGA rules which is why I asked the question.

Originally Posted by rustyredcab

I think you would still have a choice even when it is a bad choice because the drop zone is the only good choice. But I can understand your question. I can also imagine a hole where the local rule would "require" you to use the drop zone. - perhaps an island green where the thrill of trying again and again may outweigh the practical aspects of taking advantage of the drop zone.

Joe Paradiso

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by newtogolf

I was referencing that exact situation in my post.

Upon starting the round, the Starter told us that hole 10 was a 170 yard Par 3 island green and that if our tee shot went into the water the local rule required using the drop zone, not teeing up another ball.   I was under the impression in that case that the local rule trumped the USGA rules which is why I asked the question.

Oh, I get it ... that makes sense.  Reminds me of the thread started several months back on here about the "worst golfer ever" or something like that.  The guy scored some god-awful high double digit number on the 17th at Sawgrass.

Found it: http://thesandtrap.com/t/58181/worst-avid-golfer-25-years-later/0_30

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by newtogolf

I was referencing that exact situation in my post.

Upon starting the round, the Starter told us that hole 10 was a 170 yard Par 3 island green and that if our tee shot went into the water the local rule required using the drop zone, not teeing up another ball.   I was under the impression in that case that the local rule trumped the USGA rules which is why I asked the question.

The Local Rule I quoted earlier is a USGA/R&A; Rule.

You should have noticed that the wording allows the committee to make the use of the dropping zone mandatory or make it optional.

There is no other rule about dropping zones other than this specimen Local Rule.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • What precedent? You keep saying this but you haven’t cited examples of where a rival league won a suit against a major league for anti-trust in the US. Name the sport, the leagues involved and cite the lawsuit. Right now your devils advocacy seems just like arguing for argument sake. But you haven’t provided any concrete facts just your disdain for the PGAT.  
    • We've got LIV vs PGA Tour match play on right now and its getting intense
    • Lol I'm not even going to argue with someone who asks about another's profession as some weird condescending ego stroke. Its incredibly clear that there is prior precedent for sports leagues and anti trust violations in this exact type of situation. The density it takes to be this sure of yourself about the righteousness of the PGA Tour here is incredible. Its not black and white.
    • Day 26: 8/12/2022 I got some really good practice in today. Went to the range. Hit about 50 balls with my 6-iron. (Block Practice) How I did it was 5 balls at a time. Focusing entirely on one of three things.  Five balls focusing on a movement I'm trying to get right with my hips. Slow mo first. A little faster second. Then do it full speed with no ball. Then full speed with a ball.  The next five balls. Focused on a move I'm trying to get right in my backswing. Again, slow mo, a little faster, full speed no ball, and then full speed with a ball.  The next five balls. Focused on my hand path. Same as above. Slow mo, a little faster, full speed, then hit a ball.  Rinse and repeat.  Then I hit ten balls with the driver. I'm trying to improve my driver consistency. So, what I did was focus on a pre-shot routine and my set up. Tried to hit all 10 into an imaginary fairway.  Then I went over to the putting green and after warming up I did @iacas's "Makeable Putts Game". I scored 13 points... Not sure if that's good or bad. But I know I can do better.  Lastly, since I also want to improve my wedge play, I went over to the short game area and hit 36 different pitch shots from about 20 to about 70 yards. (Random Practice?)  I really wish I had time every day to do the practice I did today. I feel like everything I worked on are important things that can help me improve. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...