IGNORED

Looking at Game Improvement Irons

Note: This thread is 6090 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have been golfing for about four years but never seriously, and never more than six or seven times a year for my junior league with my buddies. This summer I’ve made a point of getting out approximately once a week with a few outings to the range in between. Now that I’ve developed a strong passion for golfing, and that I’m more serious about the sport, I’m looking at buying a solid set of irons. Seeing as I’m still learning and usually manage a round in the high 90s at best, I’ve been thinking some game-improvement irons would be a good idea.

I am not really a power hitter and I haven’t gotten the chance to work with a launch monitor or anything yet. My swing speed is a bit slower than others, and generally I tend to push the ball off to left with my driver (I’m a lefty). The few times it goes straight, it tends to sail into a banana slice. I’m in the process of taking a few private lessons and the advice I’ve received thus far has worked wonders. My stance has changed for the better, my swing speed has increased safely, my head stays down, and I’m aware that I need to roll my hands (this roll was non-existent previously and was causing me to leave the clubface open at address).

I’m wondering what your suggestions are concerning a set of game-improvement irons for someone who is serious about improving their game. I’d like them to be able to grow with me, but realistically, I can see myself getting a new set in a few years if my mechanics improve. I plan on getting fitted soon and just wanted to hear any advice you might have on a few different sets. In my research I have read the most about the TaylorMade r7 Draw, Cobra S9, Mizuno MX-19, and Titleist 775.CB irons. Any recommendations?