Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4615 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

It is our Spring Match Play tournament and a couple of players have gotten themselves in a mess. I'll describe the facts as they have been "informally" related to me, because I suspect somewhere along the line I may need to make a ruling.  Because one of the issue is what constitutes a claim.

So A and B are playing a tournament match and they are joined by three other members who are just playing along.

The come to a green and A sets up to putt and addresses his ball.  It is very windy and his ball moves.  There is discussion as to whether he did anything to make the ball move and it is generally agreed that he didn't.  Hence under Decision 18-2b/11 the player is not penalized and the ball is played from its new location.  That is what should have happened.

What actually happened, as I understand it, was there was a bit of an acrimonious discussion about whether there was a penalty for the ball moving.  They didn't know this decision and since the ball moved, regardless of whether the player was the cause of the movement, they said there should be a 1 stroke penalty.  The player replaced the ball.  I should add that all four were telling him he had to replace theball - his opponent and the three others playing along.Then he stood besides the ball and grounded his club a couple of feet behind the ball but before he stroked the ball moved again (it was a very windy day).    This led the player to again say that this shows that he hadn't moved the ball.  Again he replaces the ball, as he is being told be all four of the others) and putts out.  He wins the hole by 1 stroke even with the penalty stroke added to his score.  During the discussion B is asked what he wants to do and all he says is that he wants to do what is right under the rules.

The first question is whether saying that constitutes a claim.  It seems to me that in the absence of a claim the hole was concluded, B wins the hole and, as it turns out, wins the match 1-up.  Claims on a hole (other than 18, and this was not 18) must be made prior to teeing off on then next hole.  If B's statement is a claim then it seems pretty clear that A played a ball from a wrong spot, if not the first time then certainly the second time, and there for lost the hole under 20-7b.  B wins the hole, the match is now all square and they have to go back and play extra holes.

But I am not comfortable with the notion that just saying you want the rules followed constitutes a claim.  It seems a very weak way of making a claim.  And if no claim was made then the hole result has to stand, I think.  In which case A did win the hole and therefore the match.  Even though the rules were completely botched.

Thoughts?

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Were player A and B informed of a possible error before the end of the match?

Seriously, I have no idea.  If player B finds out later that he should have won, I would think he would be upset.

-Matt-

"does it still count as a hit fairway if it is the next one over"

DRIVER-Callaway FTiz__3 WOOD-Nike SQ Dymo 15__HYBRIDS-3,4,5 Adams__IRONS-6-PW Adams__WEDGES-50,55,60 Wilson Harmonized__PUTTER-Odyssey Dual Force Rossie II

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

A valid claim was not made, B did not give any specifics as to what procedure he was disputing. The hole stands as played.

And besides, what claim would B make?  If I understand this, B told A to put the ball back with a 1 stroke penalty....A did so.  A, buy doing this has reached an agreement with B.  The fact that it was incorrect procedure is irrelevant.   B can not then claim that A played from a wrong place.

You make a claim when your opponent does something that you think is not correct and your opponent does it anyway.

A did not do something that B disagreed with.  A followed B's advice and did something wrong even though he thought it was wrong.  A has no claim either.

What should have happened is A should have done what HE thought he should have done under the rules.  If B disagreed he could then make a claim based on those facts.  Once players agree to a procedure, begrudgingly or otherwise, no claim can be made.

The decision Rulesman referenced explains this.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Dormie is probably right with his first statement but I think we would need to know more about what he actually said.

But the decision rules a claim out anyway.


Posted
Originally Posted by Dormie1360

A valid claim was not made, B did not give any specifics as to what procedure he was disputing. The hole stands as played.

And besides, what claim would B make?  If I understand this, B told A to put the ball back with a 1 stroke penalty....A did so.  A, buy doing this has reached an agreement with B.  The fact that it was incorrect procedure is irrelevant.   B can not then claim that A played from a wrong place.

You make a claim when your opponent does something that you think is not correct and your opponent does it anyway.

A did not do something that B disagreed with.  A followed B's advice and did something wrong even though he thought it was wrong.  A has no claim either.

What should have happened is A should have done what HE thought he should have done under the rules.  If B disagreed he could then make a claim based on those facts.  Once players agree to a procedure, begrudgingly or otherwise, no claim can be made.

The decision Rulesman referenced explains this.

That makes a lot of sense and is basically what I was thinking.

Thanks.  To everyone.

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4615 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.