Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sofingaw

Unplayable in an Irrigation Pipe

17 posts in this topic

All, Today I hit a tee shot into what I believe was an underground irrigation or drainage pipe of some type. I'll try to describe it as clearly as I can. A metal grate which normally covers the access to this pipe was halfway off the hole in the ground. After a long search, we actually decided to check this pipe, and the ball was in the pipe, 18" underground! I retrieved the ball, took a drop within two club lengths, and finished the hole with a 6, with no penalty stroke. Was I correct to take a free drop, since the obstruction was manmade, and there was no possible way to get a club on the ball, or should it have been played as a standard unplayable penalty, i.e. up against a tree root (natural obstruction)? Also, this game is crazy as hell! Haha
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

by rule 24-2, the drop should have been 1 club length, but you are correct. your ball was in or on an immovable obstruction.

Quote:
" Through the Green : If the ball lies through the green , the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief . The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green . When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief , the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green ."
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by sofingaw

All,

Today I hit a tee shot into what I believe was an underground irrigation or drainage pipe of some type. I'll try to describe it as clearly as I can.

A metal grate which normally covers the access to this pipe was halfway off the hole in the ground. After a long search, we actually decided to check this pipe, and the ball was in the pipe, 18" underground!

I retrieved the ball, took a drop within two club lengths, and finished the hole with a 6, with no penalty stroke.

Was I correct to take a free drop, since the obstruction was manmade, and there was no possible way to get a club on the ball, or should it have been played as a standard unplayable penalty, i.e. up against a tree root (natural obstruction)?

Also, this game is crazy as hell! Haha

Free relief - yes.  2 clublengths - no.

The procedure when obtaining relief without penalty is to establish the nearest point not closer to the hole from where the ball lies in the obstruction which gives complete relief from that obstruction for lie, stance and area of intended swing (known as nearest point of relief ).  There is only one spot on the golf course which meets that requirement.  When that point is established, then you may drop within one clublength of that spot, again not closer to the hole.  The ball when dropped must first hit the courses within that area, and it may not roll more than 2 clublengths and it may not come to rest closer to the hole than that NPR.  You are only assured of relief from that obstruction.  That does not necessarily assure you of a good lie, or even of a playable lie.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thank you guys for the answers! Here's an interesting question to follow up. If I dropped within 2 club lengths, but accidentally met the requirements for a proper drop (meaning, I dropped the ball, unknowingly, within the 1 clublength of the nearest point providing complete relief) is it still a proper drop? In short, if its dropped in a legal spot, does it matter if I knew it was legal or not? Once again, thanks! Interesting!!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes i believe so, because the rule says, must be dropped with in 1 club length. Doesn't matter if you put two down, as long as the ball comes to rest with in 1, your fine with regards to the rules. But if you proceed to hit a ball dropped outside of one club length, you have issues.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To clarify, the original 2 club lengths was from the edge if the obstruction, not necessarily the nearest point of (in this case, stance) relief from the obstruction.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cool. This is one crazy game, I tells ya!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by sofingaw

Thank you guys for the answers!

Here's an interesting question to follow up.

If I dropped within 2 club lengths, but accidentally met the requirements for a proper drop (meaning, I dropped the ball, unknowingly, within the 1 clublength of the nearest point providing complete relief) is it still a proper drop?

In short, if its dropped in a legal spot, does it matter if I knew it was legal or not?

Once again, thanks! Interesting!!

Yes.  The rule only requires that you drop in the area as required by the applicable rule.  It isn't even required that you measure as long as the requirements are met .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To clarify, the original 2 club lengths was from the edge if the obstruction, not necessarily the nearest point of (in this case, stance) relief from the obstruction.

FYI. Read the last paragraph of this decision. Vertical distance is considered when determining the nearest point of relief. Can be an issue if the pipe is on an angle and the ball not by the opening. 24-2b/11 Ball Lying on Elevated Part of Immovable Obstruction Q.A ball comes to rest on the elevated part of an immovable obstruction, such as the walkway of a bridge over a deep hollow. What is the ruling? A.If the player elects to take relief, vertical distance is disregarded. The nearest point of relief (Point X) is deemed to be at the point on the ground directly beneath where the ball lies on the obstruction, provided the player would not have interference, as defined in Rule 24-2a, at this point. The player may proceed under Rule 24-2b by dropping the ball within one club-length of Point X. In a situation where there would be interference with some part of the obstruction (e.g., a supporting column) for a ball positioned at Point X, the ball is deemed to lie at Point X. The player may proceed under Rule 24-2b by determining the nearest point of relief for a ball lying at Point X. The procedure is different where a ball lies underground (e.g., in a tunnel). In such a case, all distance, whether vertical or horizontal, is taken into account when determining the nearest point of relief. In some cases, the nearest point of relief would be near the entrance to the tunnel, and in other cases it would be above the tunnel and would need to be estimated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Fourputt

The procedure when obtaining relief without penalty is to establish the nearest point not closer to the hole from where the ball lies in the obstruction which gives complete relief from that obstruction for lie, stance and area of intended swing (known as nearest point of relief).  There is only one spot on the golf course which meets that requirement.

Most often this is the case but not always. It depends on the situation, and sometimes there are even much more than only one NPR.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by saevel25

Yes i believe so, because the rule says, must be dropped with in 1 club length. Doesn't matter if you put two down, as long as the ball comes to rest with in 1, your fine with regards to the rules. But if you proceed to hit a ball dropped outside of one club length, you have issues.

It depends where your ball first hit the ground. If it hit the ground within 1 cl from NPR (nearest point of relief) and not closer to the hole it is fine. However, if it hit the ground outside that area it is an illegal drop even if the ball ended up in the correct area. See Rules 20-2b and 24-2b(i).

Furthermore, the ball may roll up to 2 cl's from the spot it first struck the course, so it does not have to remain within the 1 cl area from NPR as long as it hits that area when dropped.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

FYI. Read the last paragraph of this decision. Vertical distance is considered when determining the nearest point of relief. Can be an issue if the pipe is on an angle and the ball not by the opening.

Not in this case as there is no way a player could squeeze himself into the pipe. See Dec 24-2b/12:

24-2b/12
Ball in Drainpipe Under Course; Entrance to Drainpipe Is Out of Bounds


Q. A ball enters an underground drainpipe the entrance to which is out of
bounds. The ball is found in the drainpipe under an area that is through the
green. What is the ruling?


A. Under Rule 24-2b(i), the player is entitled to drop the ball, without
penalty, within one club-length of the spot on the ground immediately above
its resting place in the drainpipe
, but not nearer the hole and not in a hazard
or on a putting green. A boundary line extends vertically upwards and
downwards – see D efinition of “Out of Bounds”. (continues)

EDIT: Having thought this a bit more I am no longer sure what you meant, John. The NPR is exacty what it says, so if the ball is in an underground pipe the NPR is the spot closest to the ball that is on the ground, regardless of the location of the ball in relation to the pipe. Maybe this is what you meant?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Ignorant

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

The procedure when obtaining relief without penalty is to establish the nearest point not closer to the hole from where the ball lies in the obstruction which gives complete relief from that obstruction for lie, stance and area of intended swing (known as nearest point of relief).  There is only one spot on the golf course which meets that requirement.

Most often this is the case but not always. It depends on the situation, and sometimes there are even much more than only one NPR.

It is so rare as to be not worth mentioning.  If you were measuring with a tape measure, or even with a  long string, you would find that there is one and only one correct place.  Using a club it may be hard to measure accurately, although the assumption is that you still make your best effort to do so.  This is one reason why, as an on course rules official, I always had my string with with me, both for that reason and for measuring who was away in match play.  I still carry a string in my golf bag.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

more than only one NPR.

NPR?? Lefty pinko commies!! Lol...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not in this case as there is no way a player could squeeze himself into the pipe. See Dec 24-2b/12: 24-2b/12 Ball in Drainpipe Under Course; Entrance to Drainpipe Is Out of Bounds Q. A ball enters an underground drainpipe the entrance to which is out of bounds. The ball is found in the drainpipe under an area that is through the green. What is the ruling? A. Under Rule 24-2b(i), the player is entitled to drop the ball, without penalty, within one club-length of the spot on the ground immediately above its resting place in the drainpipe , but not nearer the hole and not in a hazard or on a putting green. A boundary line extends vertically upwards and downwards – see D efinition of “Out of Bounds”. (continues) EDIT: Having thought this a bit more I am no longer sure what you meant, John. The NPR is exacty what it says, so if the ball is in an underground pipe the NPR is the spot closest to the ball that is on the ground, regardless of the location of the ball in relation to the pipe. Maybe this is what you meant?

I think you said what I meant. :-). Vertical distance is considered when a ball is underground when determining the NPR. If the ground above the ball is OB, hazard, putting green, etc., the NPR would exclude these areas. The point is to think 3 dimensionally when determining the NPR when your ball is underground and you know it's position. Don't always assume you find the NPR using the entrance of an obstruction that goes underground when taking relief.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Fourputt

It is so rare as to be not worth mentioning.  If you were measuring with a tape measure, or even with a  long string, you would find that there is one and only one correct place.  Using a club it may be hard to measure accurately, although the assumption is that you still make your best effort to do so.  This is one reason why, as an on course rules official, I always had my string with with me, both for that reason and for measuring who was away in match play.  I still carry a string in my golf bag.

A ball sits in the middle of the top of a small sprinkler head. As there is no stance interference, the npr will almost certainly be anywhere on a semi-circular arc centred on the sprinkler head with a 6" (approx) radius. ie an infinite number of nprs

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

It is so rare as to be not worth mentioning.  If you were measuring with a tape measure, or even with a  long string, you would find that there is one and only one correct place.  Using a club it may be hard to measure accurately, although the assumption is that you still make your best effort to do so.  This is one reason why, as an on course rules official, I always had my string with with me, both for that reason and for measuring who was away in match play.  I still carry a string in my golf bag.

A ball sits in the middle of the top of a small sprinkler head. As there is no stance interference, the npr will almost certainly be anywhere on a semi-circular arc centred on the sprinkler head with a 6" (approx) radius. ie an infinite number of nprs

Again, incredibly rare that it would be exactly in the center.  It's a situation where I've never had to measure anything anyway, as it's easy to drop within one clublength just by eyeballing it.

You must have sprinklers with little dents in the center to make it stay there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Some questions to kick off the run-up to and playing of the 2017 Masters Toonamint at Augusta National: Is Jordan Spieth the favorite to win after his collapse last year? Is it the best story in golf? If not Jordan, how about Dustin Johnson? Will Tiger Woods make the cut? Will he play? Will he surprise everyone (likely including himself at this point) and finish in the top ten? If he skips this tournament, will this be the last time anyone really cares? Last year's winner Danny Willett… does he contend again, or will his drop in play (evident at the Ryder Cup) continue? Ask any other questions you may have, and answer them, too.
    • One philosophy has pervaded my life. It's simple really, but doesn't seem to be easy to live with: "There has to be a better way." When I came to golf eight months ago, I applied this principle, as I had to everything I've ever done. Can this be better? Not just for me, but for others. I want to enjoy golf, and I want everyone to enjoy the game, even if they disagree with me or don't need any better. Recently I have been playing rounds of what some of us are calling Play 200. Each hole, I begin at the 200 yard mark (shorter par 3's excepted, of course). I start every hole from 200 yards from the green according to my Garmin GPS watch. Because I can't reach the green in one shot, I have to plan what club I'm going to hit, where I want to land it, from how far out I want to be to hit my second shot into the green. Yesterday, I shot 6 over for nine holes. It was fun. By eliminating the tee shot, I also cut my nine holes down to less than an hour and a half. I played a few holes with two other guys, so that slows it down. They didn't mind, after they understood what I'm doing. I'm practicing. I spent a hour on the range practicing my full swing. I spent a half hour chipping and putting. Then I played nine holes, (after 3 o'clock it's only $10), and was home in time to fix my wife dinner when she got home from work. That's what I call a great golf day. I left the course happy about how I spent my day. My driver is not reliable. My three wood isn't either. Even if it was, I would still keep playing from 200. Some say, "That's not golf!", but if you take the driver out of the bag, is it still golf? If you tee off with an iron every hole, the game has changed. If you "move up," to what? is it still golf? Yes. All of that is golf. So why not do something that works, that takes over half of the frustration out of the game? Why not try something that makes the game more fun, esp if you are over 100 avg.?   Thank you for the folks who have written in support. I know this is a place where people who push the envelope are not popular. I have run into this in many places where the status quo is well-protected. I push the boundaries. I think to myself, "How can this be better," and I work on it. This might be a way to get people to stay playing golf, when they might otherwise give it up. Golf is hard. For more than half of those who try it, it's too hard. They give up. This is way outside the box, but if you think that a without a driver, the game isn't the same, either. It's all golf. Once I can hit my driver, I'll be back on the tee box. Where the fun is one stroke more. Best wishes. Enjoy the process. Think outside the box.
    • I work at a Stations casino. Ours is a second tier house, not a break-in joint. And everything you said is true about 1999. After 2008, it is decidedly NOT true. Only the Wynn dealers have any chance of getting close to a hundred K a year. The vast majority are still making 30% less than 2006, or even less. We make $18 an hour in our casino. All of us. Even the lousy dealers. I've been doing this five years. I have been in Vegas for eleven. You have great insight, for someone who doesn't know. Today I begin forty hours a week, after working 24 hours a week for the last three years. It took THREE YEARS to gain full-time employment in my industry. I took home $25,852.65 last year. My wife does not have health insurance where she works. For the first time in several years, she'll see a doctor. Golf is expensive. Lessons are expensive. Disrespect is cheap. Esp here.
    • Good post. One slight correction is the split in his MP 29 & 14 was between the 4 and 5 iron rather than between the 3 and 4. An interesting side note...his Cobra driver was 43.625" and his 5 iron was 37.75" which used to be pretty standard at the time, but is short compared to most modern specs.
    • Here's the irons he's using.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. BreakingBadly
      BreakingBadly
      (34 years old)
    2. dreamcrusher28
      dreamcrusher28
      (45 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon