• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TJBam

Ball made contact with wedge mid-flight during club's follow through

18 posts in this topic

I made a greenside chip and followed through poorly.  After contact was made, with the ball in mid-flight, my wedge made contact with the ball.  The greenside chip was my third stroke.

I marked the ball where it ended up landing.  I took a two stroke penalty, dropped the ball nearest as I could to the marker, no closer to the hole, and proceeded to make a putt for my sixth stroke.  My playing partners were in agreement that this rule was correct.  One partner and I tied for first first on the back 9 (he is a lot better than me) and I regret this penalty.

Is this the correct procedure?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Originally Posted by TJBam

I made a greenside chip and followed through poorly.  After contact was made, with the ball in mid-flight, my wedge made contact with the ball.  The greenside chip was my third stroke.

I marked the ball where it ended up landing.  I took a two stroke penalty, dropped the ball nearest as I could to the marker, no closer to the hole, and proceeded to make a putt for my sixth stroke.  My playing partners were in agreement that this rule was correct.  One partner and I tied for first first on the back 9 (he is a lot better than me) and I regret this penalty.

Is this the correct procedure?

I believe you play it where it lies and add a 1 stroke penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sorry, nope....geauxforbroke is correct.  You simply count the second "hit" as another stroke and play the ball where it lies.

The most famous example of that was when T.C. Chen did it in the U.S. Open in 1985.  Since then, most golfers will actually refer to a double hit like you describe as having "TC Chen'd" it.....

14-4 . Striking the Ball More Than Once

If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke , the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke , making two strokes in all.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by David in FL

Sorry, nope....geauxforbroke is correct.  You simply count the second "hit" as another stroke and play the ball where it lies.

The most famous example of that was when T.C. Chen did it in the U.S. Open in 1985.  Since then, most golfers will actually refer to a double hit like you describe as having "TC Chen'd" it.....

14-4. Striking the Ball More Than Once

If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.

You're correct, except that you aren't counting the additional strokes made, but one penalty stroke. The difference would be if you were to strike the ball 3 times, you would still count the first stroke and 1 additional penalty stroke. You don't count all the times the club strikes the ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So I would play it like this.

Chip for 3, follow through contact is 4, let the ball fall where it falls.  Play 5 for penalty stroke and then putt for 6 from that position.

Correct?

Thanks a lot.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by TJBam

So I would play it like this.

Chip for 3, follow through contact is 4, let the ball fall where it falls.  Play 5 for penalty stroke and then putt for 6 from that position.

Correct?

Thanks a lot.

Yes, except you aren't really counting the follow through contact, only the initial strike and the penalty stroke. Subtle difference until you strike it more than twice.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

No, I believe you'd be putting 5, not 6.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

You're correct, except that you aren't counting the additional strokes made, but one penalty stroke. The difference would be if you were to strike the ball 3 times, you would still count the first stroke and 1 additional penalty stroke. You don't count all the times the club strikes the ball.

It's referred to as a penalty stroke, but in actual application, all you're doing is counting both "hits" and playing it as it lies.  It's easier for most people to remember the rule that way.

You're right though......if you could somehow (never heard or seen it) hit the ball more times than just twice, you'd only "count" the one extra hit, not each one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So is he putting 5 or 6?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by colin007

So is he putting 5 or 6?

5.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm glad I got this input.  We played it the way we did because a buddy of mine (said partner above) noted that is how his partner quoted the rule during an amateur tournament.  So I gave myself an extra penalty stroke in addition to re-dropping the ball further from the hole. Also concerned that during an amateur event him and his partner didn't know the rules.

For anyone interested we took a stroke off of my 9 and he conceded the back 9 that was originally tied up (with our incorrect ruling), marking the first time I've beat him on a 9.  He is a low single digit handicapper

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd love to see someone strike the ball more than twice on a swing. Anyone every heard of it happening?

I've done the double hit thing plenty of times. The rough right around the greens at one course I have been lucky enough to play, is a special mix of grasses that grows nasty multi-directional and can hang up a club and/or ball. Only safe way to hit a little chip is to stub the club without a followthrough and hope for the best.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by TJBam

I made a greenside chip and followed through poorly.  After contact was made, with the ball in mid-flight, my wedge made contact with the ball.  The greenside chip was my third stroke.

I marked the ball where it ended up landing.  I took a two stroke penalty, dropped the ball nearest as I could to the marker, no closer to the hole, and proceeded to make a putt for my sixth stroke.  My playing partners were in agreement that this rule was correct.  One partner and I tied for first first on the back 9 (he is a lot better than me) and I regret this penalty.

Is this the correct procedure?

TJBam dropped the ball when he should not have?

Shouldn't he play the ball as it lies?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by MitsuEd

TJBam dropped the ball when he should not have?

Shouldn't he play the ball as it lies?

The consensus in this thread was that the second contact made with the ball acted as a penalty stroke, and the ball is to be played where it lies after, with no drop etc.  Our group's original ruling was wrong which has also been pointed out in this thread.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Something I find interesting about the rule we're discussing, which is 14-4:

"If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke , the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke , making two strokes in all."

When playing a bunker shot, the club usually strikes only the sand, not the ball. So based on the wording above, I wouldn't think hitting the ball with your club as it comes out of the sand would be a penalty. As I understand it though, it is in fact a penalty - but I only know that through seeing or hearing about examples of it being assessed. If I only had the wording of the rule to go by, I would've guessed no penalty.

Seems to me the wording could be improved. (Unless there's a decision I'm missing that covers it...)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by sacm3bill

Something I find interesting about the rule we're discussing, which is 14-4:

"If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all."

When playing a bunker shot, the club usually strikes only the sand, not the ball. So based on the wording above, I wouldn't think hitting the ball with your club as it comes out of the sand would be a penalty. As I understand it though, it is in fact a penalty - but I only know that through seeing or hearing about examples of it being assessed. If I only had the wording of the rule to go by, I would've guessed no penalty.

Seems to me the wording could be improved. (Unless there's a decision I'm missing that covers it...)

As you suspected, there's a decision for that......

14-4/3

Player Hits Behind Ball and Then Strikes Moving Ball

Q. In playing a chip shot, a player's club strikes the ground several inches behind the ball and does not come into contact with the ball. However, the ground is struck with enough force to cause the ball to move. The player's club continues and strikes the ball while it is moving. What is the ruling?

A. The player must count his stroke and add a penalty stroke under Rule 14-4 .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by David in FL

As you suspected, there's a decision for that......

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0