Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Slice of Life

Ruling on lateral hazard/provisional...

32 posts in this topic

Par 3, duffed my tee shot right into a hazard. Not sure if I'd find it, I hit a provisional. Found my ball in the hazard, disregarded the provisional, took a drop, hit it to about 20 feet and made the putt for bogey. Correct course of action?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Good to know. That's why I asked. So if I knew it was in the hazard or it was virtually certain, I'd ha e to rehit from the previous spot?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

doesn't have to be from the previous spot- you have 2 potential options with a (direct) hazard and 3 with a lateral (but in some cases, semantics may eliminate some of your options meaning that you might have to re-hit from the previous spot)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

doesn't have to be from the previous spot- you have 2 potential options with a (direct) hazard and 3 with a lateral (but in some cases, semantics may eliminate some of your options meaning that you might have to re-hit from the previous spot)

What are the 3 options.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

After reading the rules, it looks like I was fine to take a drop nearest where it entered the hazard. No? Am I misinterpreting?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Slice of Life

Quote:

Originally Posted by MEfree

doesn't have to be from the previous spot- you have 2 potential options with a (direct) hazard and 3 with a lateral (but in some cases, semantics may eliminate some of your options meaning that you might have to re-hit from the previous spot)

What are the 3 options.

26-1. Relief For Ball In Water Hazard

It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in thehazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of alateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So I was right? I was within the rules to take the drop and hit 3?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah you are right.  Technically since your ball was hit into a hazard to begin with there was no reason for you to take a provisional because you couldn't play your provisional anyways even if you didn't find your first ball (as long as your were certain it was lost in the hazard).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by trackster

Yeah you are right.  Technically since your ball was hit into a hazard to begin with there was no reason for you to take a provisional because you couldn't play your provisional anyways even if you didn't find your first ball (as long as your were certain it was lost in the hazard).

There was OB just right of the hazard, and I wasn't sure if it went far enough right to go OB, so I played the provisional with the intent of using it if I couldn't find the ball in the hazard. Fortunately, I found the first ball, and magically got it up and down from about 120 yards for a miracle bogey. Haha.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Slice of Life

There was OB just right of the hazard, and I wasn't sure if it went far enough right to go OB, so I played the provisional with the intent of using it if I couldn't find the ball in the hazard. Fortunately, I found the first ball, and magically got it up and down from about 120 yards for a miracle bogey. Haha.

Yeah the rules get a little tricky with the ball lost in hazard, ball lost out of hazard business.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[SPOILER=Warning: Spoiler!][/SPOILER][quote name="Slice of Life" url="/t/68539/ruling-on-lateral-hazard-provisional#post_869463"]So I was right? I was within the rules to take the drop and hit 3?  [/quote] There is only a penalty of one stroke.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

[SPOILER=Warning: Spoiler!][/SPOILER] There is only a penalty of one stroke.

Yes, 1 off the tee, 1 penalty stroke, so I'd be hitting 3.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Slice of Life

There was OB just right of the hazard, and I wasn't sure if it went far enough right to go OB, so I played the provisional with the intent of using it if I couldn't find the ball in the hazard. Fortunately, I found the first ball, and magically got it up and down from about 120 yards for a miracle bogey. Haha.

If your ball was potentially OB or lost outside the hazard, then it was OK to hit a provisional and abandon/pick it up when you found your original ball.  In theory, you might be able to abandon the provisional and take a drop from the hazard if you thought it might be lost outside the hazard when you hit the provisional but become virtually certain it is lost in the hazard after examining the situation from up close.

From your OP it sounded like you were sure you hit it into the hazard with no possibility that the ball was lost/OB outside the hazard- in that situation, you are not allowed to hit a provisional meaning that when you re-tee, that ball is in play and your original is out of play even if you find it.  Going back to your original at that point would subject you to a wrong ball penalty.  I am pretty sure I have that last bit correct- maybe fourputt or one of the other experts can confirm what the penalty is when you incorrectly hit a "provisional"

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by MEfree

If your ball was potentially OB or lost outside the hazard, then it was OK to hit a provisional and abandon/pick it up when you found your original ball.  In theory, you might be able to abandon the provisional and take a drop from the hazard if you thought it might be lost outside the hazard when you hit the provisional but become virtually certain it is lost in the hazard after examining the situation from up close.

From your OP it sounded like you were sure you hit it into the hazard with no possibility that the ball was lost/OB outside the hazard- in that situation, you are not allowed to hit a provisional meaning that when you re-tee, that ball is in play and your original is out of play even if you find it.  Going back to your original at that point would subject you to a wrong ball penalty.  I am pretty sure I have that last bit correct- maybe fourputt or one of the other experts can confirm what the penalty is when you incorrectly hit a "provisional"

Like I said, It was very close to OB. When I found it...it was about 1 yard left of the OB marker, so I wasn't certain it had stayed in the hazard or gone OB, thus the provisional.

Thanks though, it seems like I made the right ruling as long as there was a chance it may have gone OB...otherwise, yes, the re-tee would have been my 3rd shot instead of a provisional..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Going back to your original at that point would subject you to a wrong ball penalty.  I am pretty sure I have that last bit correct-

You have.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

You have.

Even if you specified it's a provisional because it could have gone OB? Seriously asking. Doesn't really matter for last night, super casual round, but I'd like to be certain for the future.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Even if you specified it's a provisional because it could have gone OB? Seriously asking. Doesn't really matter for last night, super casual round, but I'd like to be certain for the future.

If a provisional was permitted then when you find the original in bounds, the provisional is dead. If you don't wish to plasy the original where it is then you may go back and play another ball under stroke and distance. But MEfree was referring to a situation where a provisional was not permitted. So that when the second ball (supposedly 'provisional') was played it became the ball in play and the original was lost under the definition of lost ball (even though it was found).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • It seems from the ratings that I have seen that, like me, there were a lot of people watching the final round of golf for both the women and the men at the Rio Olympics. The ratings for the men were in fact, second only to the Masters. That is truly fantastic to hear. Going into this Olympics, at least on the men's side, you might think that we were set for a complete disaster. All but a few of the high profile names dropped out for multiple reasons. Pika, safety, or the real reason - just plain tired. I suspect all that didn't play sort of wished they did. They will come out and say that they didn't miss it, because they don't want to look stupid, but the reality is they probably have a pit in their stomach for missing the first Olympics in over 100 years. I am talking about Jason Day, Jordan Spieth, and yes I suspect even Rory McIlroy.
      (...)
      Read the rest of Reliving the Olympic Success (702 words) by mchepp for The Sand Trap, © 2016. | Permalink View and Comment on the Full Article
    • It seems from the ratings that I have seen that, like me, there were a lot of people watching the final round of golf for both the women and the men at the Rio Olympics. The ratings for the men were in fact, second only to the Masters. That is truly fantastic to hear. Going into this Olympics, at least on the men's side, you might think that we were set for a complete disaster. All but a few of the high profile names dropped out for multiple reasons. Pika, safety, or the real reason - just plain tired. I suspect all that didn't play sort of wished they did. They will come out and say that they didn't miss it, because they don't want to look stupid, but the reality is they probably have a pit in their stomach for missing the first Olympics in over 100 years. I am talking about Jason Day, Jordan Spieth, and yes I suspect even Rory McIlroy.
      (...)
      Read the rest of Reliving the Olympic Success (702 words) by mchepp for The Sand Trap, © 2016. | Permalink View and Comment on the Full Article
    • Let us know how it goes when you get them.
    • According to GAME GOLF, I have 68% GIR and 13% birdies. 13%/68% (I almost never chip in for birdie) = 19.12%.
    • Damn dude, 4.1?  Wow.  I think you and I were about even when I joined here a couple years ago, 6-something.  You're going in the right direction, I'm headed the other way.  I'm actually at 9.4 at the minute but haven't updated here cuz it's painful and I consider it temporary .  Hand pain gone, actually went to the range this week, 1st time in a year.  So, I plan to throw down a 78 or so and be back under 9 by end of day, fingers crossed.  Keep rolling. No idea what my birdie conversion rate is, I'd guess pretty respectable cuz my putting never left me.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    No users celebrating today
  • Blog Entries