• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
Draftstone

Car path adjacent to lateral water hazard

Recommended Posts

Draftstone    3

Hi!

On the course I regularly play, there is a short par 4 (270 yards) with the whole left side starting at the tees until the green that is water, marked as a lateral water hazard. The fairway also have a slight angle from right to left (left is lower). So since I play left handed, if I hit a slice, it will end up in the water for sure. I usually simply re-tee the ball (since the hole is not that long so lost of distance is not so important when playing for fun) and hit 3 from the tee (it is suposed to be 3 right? ).

But, from my understanding, since it is a lateral water hazard, one of my option would be to drop the ball inside 2 club lengths where it entered the hazard, as long as it is not closer to the hole (since it entered sideway due to a slice + roll, it enters the hazard at least 200 yards out, well inside the 100 yards to the green marker). My problem is that the way it is setup, you have the water, then about 1-2 feet of rough and then the car path. On multiple spots along the hazard line, there is no way I can drop the ball. If I drop it in the rough, I end up both feet on the car path, if I drop it at the maximum 2 club length, the ball ends on the carpath.

So my question is, how exactly should I play this. Since there is no way my drop would be playable, should I take another 2 club length after the car path (as long as it is not closer to the hole) and drop it there? If I do this, it is almost guaranteed that I can have my ball and both feet on the fairway (no rough between car path and fairway) and have a clear short shot at the pin playing 3. It looks a lot easier to make a simple bogey (double bogey at worst) from there (playing 3 around 50 yards out from the fairway than re-teeing for 3 at 270 yards away).

Thanks for your help!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Rulesman    166

There is no reason why you should not drop on the path if it is within the 2cl.

Once it is on the path then you have free relief from an immovable obstruction and you can drop again. This time within 1cl of the nearest point of full relief (not nearer the hole of course).

Be careful however with your first drop, if you drop too close to the hazard your nearest point of relief may well be in the rough and you may have to stand in the hazard.

You don't take 2cl from your ball on the path. No need to declare it unplayable, just use rule 24-2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Golfingdad    1,850

Be careful however with your first drop, if you drop too close to the hazard your nearest point of relief may well be in the rough and you may have to stand in the hazard.

Doubt it :-P ...

Hi!

On the course I regularly play, there is a short par 4 (270 yards) with the whole left side starting at the tees until the green that is water, marked as a lateral water hazard. The fairway also have a slight angle from right to left (left is lower). So since I play left handed, if I hit a slice, it will end up in the water for sure. I usually simply re-tee the ball (since the hole is not that long so lost of distance is not so important when playing for fun) and hit 3 from the tee (it is suposed to be 3 right? ).

@Draftstone , Rulesman is right.  (I mean, with a name like that ... ;))

Take your two clublengths from the point it crossed into the lateral hazard, no closer to the hole, and drop, cart path or not.  Then re-drop from the path (free relief only gives you one clublength from nearest point though, don't forget that).

And when you're playing casually for fun, consolidate the two and just drop free and clear of the path (within one clublength) and play on.

It is certainly better for you to be hitting your third from 100 than 270!! :beer:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14ledo81    186

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulesman

Be careful however with your first drop, if you drop too close to the hazard your nearest point of relief may well be in the rough and you may have to stand in the hazard.

Doubt it  ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Draftstone

Hi!

On the course I regularly play, there is a short par 4 (270 yards) with the whole left side starting at the tees until the green that is water, marked as a lateral water hazard. The fairway also have a slight angle from right to left (left is lower). So since I play left handed, if I hit a slice, it will end up in the water for sure. I usually simply re-tee the ball (since the hole is not that long so lost of distance is not so important when playing for fun) and hit 3 from the tee (it is suposed to be 3 right? ).

@Draftstone , Rulesman is right.  (I mean, with a name like that ... ;))

Take your two clublengths from the point it crossed into the lateral hazard, no closer to the hole, and drop, cart path or not.  Then re-drop from the path (free relief only gives you one clublength from nearest point though, don't forget that).

And when you're playing casually for fun, consolidate the two and just drop free and clear of the path (within one clublength) and play on.

It is certainly better for you to be hitting your third from 100 than 270!!

Are you sure?  What if he smokes his woods, but struggles with iron???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

MS256    145

Are you sure?  What if he smokes his woods, but struggles with iron???


Key point: He just hit a wood in the hazard. :-D

Since there's no guarantee the next one is going to be any better I'm going with option B and take my chances on the 100 yard shot (no matter how bad I'm hitting irons).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

turtleback    484

Hi!

On the course I regularly play, there is a short par 4 (270 yards) with the whole left side starting at the tees until the green that is water, marked as a lateral water hazard. The fairway also have a slight angle from right to left (left is lower). So since I play left handed, if I hit a slice, it will end up in the water for sure. I usually simply re-tee the ball (since the hole is not that long so lost of distance is not so important when playing for fun) and hit 3 from the tee (it is suposed to be 3 right? ).

But, from my understanding, since it is a lateral water hazard, one of my option would be to drop the ball inside 2 club lengths where it entered the hazard, as long as it is not closer to the hole (since it entered sideway due to a slice + roll, it enters the hazard at least 200 yards out, well inside the 100 yards to the green marker). My problem is that the way it is setup, you have the water, then about 1-2 feet of rough and then the car path. On multiple spots along the hazard line, there is no way I can drop the ball. If I drop it in the rough, I end up both feet on the car path, if I drop it at the maximum 2 club length, the ball ends on the carpath.

So my question is, how exactly should I play this. Since there is no way my drop would be playable, should I take another 2 club length after the car path (as long as it is not closer to the hole) and drop it there? If I do this, it is almost guaranteed that I can have my ball and both feet on the fairway (no rough between car path and fairway) and have a clear short shot at the pin playing 3. It looks a lot easier to make a simple bogey (double bogey at worst) from there (playing 3 around 50 yards out from the fairway than re-teeing for 3 at 270 yards away).

Thanks for your help!

You've had great answers but I wanted to clarify one thing just to be sure.  You are talking about dropping based on where it entered the hazard, but the rule says to drop based on where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard.  So if you meant that when you said entered the hazard you;re fine.  But not if you are looking at where the ball physically hit the water.  Where the splash occurs is irrelevant. And determining the point at which the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard can be a little tricky in cases like you mention, as we found out at last year's Players' with Tiger.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • There are plenty of threads here about putting.    3 keys to better putting If you want to work on the starting line, buy a metal yard stick with a hole on one end and practice putting the ball down the yard stick.   
    • Honestly, I feel like I'm hitting a little of everything.  When at the range off mats, I tend to graze the bottom which I can tell from the feedback of the rubber tee's.  When on the course/grass, I tend to top the ball.  I have noticed my heel shots as the ball direction is unmistakable.  Off to the left, sharp and extremely short and low.  I hit far better shots with my Hybrids than almost any club.  Then my wedges, then irons.  Driver, the least well.  I think I'm trying too many setup and swing techniques almost trying too many corrections.  I over pivot a bit and struggle with stable feet tending to come up on the ball of my left foot.  I played baseball for nearly 14 years so I'm trying to keep from feeling like I'm stepping (or want to step). So, my next real question... is it worth it to try and replace the shafts if the manufacturer ignores me?  I never really hit the GBB as I'd just bought it.  The XR16 definitely felt the best, went the longest and gave me the most confidence.  The Ping G SFT, I also didn't hit more than a few times but I enjoyed it.  I'll try and post some pics of the leftovers and driver murder scene.  "Driver-homicide" is going to be my new nickname.   Thanks Lihu!  
    • Hello guys I've always struggle on short putts and it is why I'm here. Well, when I'm witha shot putt, I realized that my backswing is not Ok, I do not feel that the line stays correct, it seens that my hand shake. There is something that I can do? Change my putting grip?   Thanks
    • Single-digit in two years is ambitious for me, but I'll see you guys in 2021.  
    • I had a buddy film a few drives during my round yesterday.  I am still diving down towards the ball with my head.  No idea why this is still happening, but it does not feel as if it is happening while I am swinging.  Plane seems a little better, but still very erratic. I got the first one off the toe. Started right and stayed right.  The second one was better contact but pulled left.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. grilljm
      grilljm
      (71 years old)
    2. Joe92385
      Joe92385
      (32 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon