Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4132 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Some years back, a PGA player was DQ'd for using two caddies. The scenario went something (not sure) like this. The player and his caddy had a friend walking with them. I think the caddy was the golfer's son, and friend was the son's friend. At some point the golfer passed the club to the friend, who passed it to the caddy, hence the player used two caddies and was DQ'd. Not sure if a wrong score card attributed to the DQ.

Here's my question. Scenario; during a swing, the golfer loses his grip, and the club flies off the fairway into the gallery. If someone other than the golfer, or his caddy picks up the club, and hands it to the player, who then hands it to his caddy is that the same as using two caddies?

Just curios. :whistle:

In My Bag:
A whole bunch of Tour Edge golf stuff...... :beer:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Some years back, a PGA player was DQ'd for using two caddies. The scenario went something (not sure) like this. The player and his caddy had a friend walking with them. I think the caddy was the golfer's son, and friend was the son's friend. At some point the golfer passed the club to the friend, who passed it to the caddy, hence the player used two caddies and was DQ'd. Not sure if a wrong score card attributed to the DQ.

Here's my question. Scenario; during a swing, the golfer loses his grip, and the club flies off the fairway into the gallery. If someone other than the golfer, or his caddy picks up the club, and hands it to the player, who then hands it to his caddy is that the same as using two caddies?

Just curios.


No, not the same circumstances.


Posted
Probably like the rules about your club touching sand in a bunker or hitting part of a hazard. If it's accidental, no penalty. John Daly dropped his club in a bunker and wasn't penalized because he dropped it. Wasn't trying to test the sand. Having someone walking with you is a bit over the line to begin with

—Adam

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Probably like the rules about your club touching sand in a bunker or hitting part of a hazard. If it's accidental, no penalty. John Daly dropped his club in a bunker and wasn't penalized because he dropped it. Wasn't trying to test the sand.

Having someone walking with you is a bit over the line to begin with

Think again! Dropping a club is not the same thing as, say, touching the ground of a hazard with your backswing which, accidental or not, is penalised.


Posted

This sounds like a mefree kind of question...

Tristan Hilton

My Equipment: 
Titleist TSR2 Driver (Fujikura Pro 2.0 TS; 10.5°) · PXG 0211 FWs (Diamana S+ 60; 15° and 21°) · PXG 0211 Hybrid (MMT 80; 22°) · Edel SMS Irons (SteelFiber i95; 5-GW) · Edel SMS Pro Wedges (SteelFiber i110; 56°, 60°) · Edel Classic Blade Putter (32") · Maxfli Tour Ball · Pinned Prism Rangefinder · SuperStroke Grips · Flightscope Mevo · TRUE Linkswear Shoes · Vessel Player V Pro 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Think again! Dropping a club is not the same thing as, say, touching the ground of a hazard with your backswing which, accidental or not, is penalised.

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

—Adam

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

Accidentally grounding your club in the hazard is still a penalty.....

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

Touching the ground with a club while the club is in your hand is grounding.  If you toss it in the hazard, that's not grounding as long as it's not in your hand when it touches the ground.


Posted

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

Yes, thanks. I know I was correct. ;-)

But the sentence I highlighted in your posting did not say what you maybe thought it said and was incorrect.


Posted

Well if the guy was walking with them and he took the club out off the bag, you could say he gave the advice to play that club.

If he loses his grip and the club flies in the crowd he basically made the club selection already.

think you should see it in this way

Dirver: Mizuno JPX 825 9,5 Fujikura Orochi Red Eye Stiff 65 g.
3 wood: Mizuno JPX 825 14 Fujikura Orochi Red Eye Stiff 75 g.
Hybrid: Mizuno JPX 825 18 Fujikura Orochi Red Eye Stiff 85 g. 
Irons: Mizuno MP 59 3 / PW KBS Tour stiff shaft ( Golf Pride Niion )
Wedges: Taylormade ATV Wedges 52 and 58 ( Golf Pride Niion )
putter: Taylormade ghost series 770 35 inch ( Super Stroke slim 3.0 )
Balls: Taylormade TP 5


Posted
Super, thanks all. My point was about intent. Dropping a club in a bunker accidentally is not intending to test the sand, and brushing growing grass in a hazard is not intent on a backswing to cheat. For the penalty assessed in the first post, a friend is with the player and the caddy. I think that is wrong to begin with, but there is deliberate intent by handing your club to someone else and perform a caddy's duties. Flinging a club and someone else picks it up has no such intent.

—Adam

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
. Dropping a club in a bunker accidentally is not intending to test the sand, and brushing growing grass in a hazard is not intent on a backswing to cheat........

.........and is not a breach of a Rule.

I think your focusing on intent is misleading you a bit.  Touching the ground of a hazard with hand or club when your ball is in the same hazard is a breach of Rule 13-4 whether accidental or deliberate.  Intent doesn't come into it.

Whether  touched accidentally or deliberately there is no penalty for touching growing grass in a hazard.  See the Note to the Exceptions to Rule 13-4.


Posted

Just wondering where this 2 caddie rule stops.

Last week at the barclay's, a player (sorry can't remember his name) hit a shot out of a greenside bunker. After his shot, he went on the green to mark his ball and since his ball was dirty he looked at his caddie to clean it, but his caddie was busy raking the bunker. The other player's caddie made him a sign and the player threw his ball to the other caddie, that cleaned it and threw it back to the player.

Would that be a breach of the rule of using a single caddie, or since it was simply for cleaning a ball and no club/putting line questions were discussed, everything was fine?


  • Administrator
Posted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draftstone View Post

Just wondering where this 2 caddie rule stops.

Last week at the barclay's, a player (sorry can't remember his name) hit a shot out of a greenside bunker. After his shot, he went on the green to mark his ball and since his ball was dirty he looked at his caddie to clean it, but his caddie was busy raking the bunker. The other player's caddie made him a sign and the player threw his ball to the other caddie, that cleaned it and threw it back to the player.

Would that be a breach of the rule of using a single caddie, or since it was simply for cleaning a ball and no club/putting line questions were discussed, everything was fine?


That's commonly done and perfectly acceptable. Just as another caddie can tend the flag for you.

Quote:

A “ caddie ” is one who assists the player in accordance with the Rules , which may include carrying or handling the player’s clubs during play.

When one caddie is employed by more than one player, he is always deemed to be the caddie of the player sharing the caddie whose ball (or whose partner’s ball) is involved, and equipment carried by him is deemed to be that player’s equipment , except when the caddie acts upon specific directions of another player (or the partner of another player) sharing the caddie , in which case he is considered to be that other player’s caddie .

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Slightly OT, but if my ball in greenside bunker A, and i'm nearby to bunker B, can i take practice swings including, into the sand, in bunker B without penalty?


Posted

Slightly OT, but if my ball in greenside bunker A, and i'm nearby to bunker B, can i take practice swings including, into the sand, in bunker B without penalty?

No.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4132 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.