Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3927 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Happy Friday all!

During a recent golf outing, an incident popped up in a friendly match play, where there was some confusion over whether a concession was granted. I looked in the USGA "decisions" regarding match play and couldn't find an answer, hopefully the board can help.

Player A and Player B were both on the putting green. Player A was about 40 feet from the hole with two putts for the win. He hits his putt to about 2 feet, hears his opponent say "that's good" and picks up the ball.

Player B protests, saying he hadn't conceded. His exact words were "really good" (referring to the good) lag putt, but his intent was that Player A still had to mark and hole his 2 footer.

What happens in this scenario? Is the onus on Player A to confirm the concession? Or if he acted in good faith, does Player B have to concede for saying something that could be misconstrued as a concession? For what its' worth, the other members of the group also heard "really good," supporting Player B's assertion.

In this case, it was a match between buddies, so no feathers were seriously ruffled, but I thought the issue could be a bit dicier in a more serious match.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

2-4/3

Player Lifts Ball in Mistaken Belief That Next Stroke Conceded

Q. In a match between A and B, B made a statement which A interpreted to mean that his (A's) next stroke was conceded. Accordingly, A lifted his ball. B then said that he had not conceded A's next stroke. What is the ruling?

A. If B's statement could reasonably have led A to think his next stroke had been conceded, in equity (Rule 1-4 ), A should replace his ball as near as possible to where it lay, without penalty.

Otherwise, A would incur a penalty stroke for lifting his ball without marking its position – Rule 20-1 – and he must replace his ball as near as possible to where it lay.


  • Administrator
Posted
2-4/3

Player Lifts Ball in Mistaken Belief That Next Stroke Conceded

Q.In a match between A and B, B made a statement which A interpreted to mean that his (A's) next stroke was conceded. Accordingly, A lifted his ball. B then said that he had not conceded A's next stroke. What is the ruling?

A.If B's statement could reasonably have led A to think his next stroke had been conceded, in equity (Rule 1-4), A should replace his ball as near as possible to where it lay, without penalty.

Otherwise, A would incur a penalty stroke for lifting his ball without marking its position – Rule 20-1 – and he must replace his ball as near as possible to where it lay.


This happened in the Ryder Cup, too. An American player hit a shot to two or three feet and the European team said "good shot" or something and they picked it up. I think it was an older player, DLIII or Toms or something, and they had to put the ball back.

Memory's fuzzy but it rings a bell.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks for the quick reply. As expected, there is a decision that covers that scenario - I just missed it!

In the situation described, A should have replaced his ball and putted out. In the actual match, B let him "keep" the concession, but gave him a hard time about it the rest of the round!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks for the quick reply. As expected, there is a decision that covers that scenario - I just missed it!

In the situation described, A should have replaced his ball and putted out. In the actual match, B let him "keep" the concession, but gave him a hard time about it the rest of the round!

Also a reasonable outcome. :whistle:

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

In the actual match, B let him "keep" the concession, but gave him a hard time about it the rest of the round!

Exactly what I would have done! :beer:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3927 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.