IGNORED

Ignore rust spots on iron shafts?

deekay
Note: This thread is 2321 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all,

I have noticed that tiny rust spots have developed on the metal shafts of my irons and putter. I am afraid that trying to buff/polish this off will "open up" the rust and really cause it to take hold. Or that I would damage the shiny surface of the shafts. Any advice? Should metal shafts be lightly oiled?

P.S. I live on the coast, where rust can be a problem on older vehicles, for example.

Im no proffesional but from what i understand, light surface rust isnt too bad and can often be cleaned off. Its pitting of the shaft that you need to look out for. If you start getting pitting appearing then you would need to replace the shafts 

Russ, from "sunny" Yorkshire = :-( 

In the bag: Driver: Ping G5 , Woods:Dunlop NZ9, 4 Hybrid: Tayormade Burner, 4-SW: Hippo Beast Bi-Metal , Wedges: Wilson 1200, Putter: Cleveland Smartsquare Blade, Ball: AD333

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, deekay said:

Hi all,

I have noticed that tiny rust spots have developed on the metal shafts of my irons and putter. I am afraid that trying to buff/polish this off will "open up" the rust and really cause it to take hold. Or that I would damage the shiny surface of the shafts. Any advice? Should metal shafts be lightly oiled?

P.S. I live on the coast, where rust can be a problem on older vehicles, for example.

Yes lightly remove the rust. You can lightly oil from time to time; or use a silicone gun/reel cloth; or wax from time to time. All to protect against the humidity  (?) that is causing the rust.I did this for a long time to keep some really old clubs nice.  Good luck, -Marv