IGNORED

Driver - range vs. on the course

Note: This thread is 2180 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm relatively new to golf - been playing seriously for about a year now.  My handicap has dropped from 36.4  - to 26.8, and it looks like I may get it into the 25's by the next revision.  My typical scores are right around 100.  A few pars, some bogies, and a lot of doubles with a few triples.  Took lessons last summer and played 62 rounds last year to get where I am now.  I am gaming a 2017 M2 driver.  My total lack of consistency with this club led me to cutting it down to three wood length (43") in an effort to find more fairways.  From going over my stats, the biggest area for improvement in my current game is hitting the fairway.  When I do this, I can score well (for me).  When I miss the fairway, it usually puts me in enough trouble that I don't even have a decent shot at bogie (which I would be perfectly content with).  Yesterday my driving was so bad that I put away the driver at #8 and just used my 3 wood.  Shot a respectable 48 on the back.  What is concerning/confusing me is that I can hit the driver on the range, but not on the course.  After cutting it down last week, I took it to the range at lunch on Thu and Fri and hit 100 balls with it each day.  Played around with the loft and lie angles until I was getting pretty consistent drives down the middle.  Went to the course on Sat, and hit dead pulls left on 50% of my drives.  

Do any of you have tips on how to bring your range swing to the course?  I'm willing to take more lessons, but I'm worried that I still wont be able to hit it straight when it matters.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades