Do most golfers inherently cheat themselves? Sometimes I kind of watch what other golfers do and I notice the many ways they cheat themselves. I remember a couple of us walking away from a hole one day and from the corner of my eye seeing this guy finishing up and do two extra puts after he had already two putted and then later he says, oh hole x? Yeah, I two putted that. I simply think to myself, why do that? The way I look at it, you ain't fooling anyone but yourself. What you shoot is what you shoot no matter what you wrote down.
I typically play a Callaway GBB, 9 degree driver, with an "old man Bassara" E42 Lite shaft because, well... I'm old. Regardless, today I tried using that same shaft on an Epic Flash 9 degree head. Same settings on the shaft. Two heads, same shaft. I hit several, ok, a lot of range balls. The results were.... "wonky", odd, but reasonably consistent. Ball flights were very similar EXCEPT.... with the Epic the ball got out there 80% of the way it then "knuckleballed" or appeared to. It really looked like it was a serious major league Phil Niekro knuckleball. The overall distance was about the same for either head. But the Epic flew very strange as the ball flight peaked. The range balls were clean. The weather consistent. If I went back to the GBB, no knuckleball at the end. Back to the Epic, knuckleball. Normally in baseball you would equate a knuckleball that "lack of spin", by definition. I assume.... this may be occurring here as well. The first 80% of the ball flights were not noticeably different. But to see a ball fly out most of the way and then noticeable move side to side, drop, seemingly randomly shudder in its flight is.... weird. What don't I get ?
Its also important to remember that in fourball match play, many penalties apply only to the player who commits the infraction, not to the team. This includes many "general penalty" situations, where in a single match the penalty would be loss of hole, but in a fourball match it simply disqualifies one player's score on that hole. But there are a few penalties that apply to both players, even if only one has breached the rule. This is all in Rule 23.8.