Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

"Chapman" Competition Rules Question

3 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

I do not believe the USGA has a set of Rules for "Chapman" competitions.  By "Chapman", I refer to a team game where a 2-man team each tee off, then switch and hit each other's ball on the second shot and then finally, select one of the balls and alternate shots until holed.  There are other names for this game but many of us use "Chapman."

The questions deals with penalty strokes taken and the right to choose which ball to play after two shots.  In the scenario, Player A hit a long tee shot and player B hits a very short drive.  Player A lays up short of a cross hazard for his second, using Player B's tee shot.  They move forward and discover player A's tee shot went too far and is in the hazard.  They drop out and player B prepares to hit.

The opposing team states that if Player B hits, the team must pick-up the other ball.  Because they dropped and took a penalty, player B is hitting the team's 3rd shot.  They have no option to use the "lay up" ball once a 3rd shot is made.

It sort of makes sense to me.  Player B is going to hit the 3rd shot, whether they play either ball.  It would not be reasonable to allow player B to hit both balls and then choose one of those.

Anyone know for sure how it should work?

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

You won't find an answer in the rules of golf, so it really comes down to how the committee who organizes the tournament wants to handle that situation. My suggestion would be to phrase the rule such that each team gets two strokes at each ball (a "stroke" being defined as a swing/chip/putt but not a penalty) and then a decision must be made. 

So in the case you describe above, Player B would hit from the drop area. Then the team would get to choose whether to play that shot (lying 3) or the layup (lying 2). 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Also known as Pinehurst or American Foursome

Conventionally, each player's second shot is with the others' ball (or substituted) ball in play

Edited by Rulesman

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • Just to update everyone who was kind enough to respond I am due to go for a wrist arthroscopy on 19th Dec.  There is a chance they still won't find anything to diagnose the problem but I am trying not to think about that as that would mean no more golf!   ps. I had 10 sessions of acupuncture and while it helped ease the pain after I aggravated it when last trying to hit a ball it didn't help with the recovery of the main problem (I went to the range after 9 sessions and it took only 6 PW/7Iron shots for the pain to return).
    • A) Thanks and I've already started squatting, just low weight right now but I agree, it makes a big difference. I don't know how to dead-lift so I'd have to get a trainer but I was thinking about this anyway. I might have to go start this as well. Thanks. B) cool, I will take a look and see what I think. Appreciated. C) Thanks man, it is just that, an experiment. I don't take it personally if some think it's stupid or wrong headed. I'm totally willing to be proven wrong. There is really nothing to lose trying and I really think I'm right anyway haha. 
    • Huh? Call a rule official. You cant start a new one, while reacting to the current one. Needs to be 12 hours in between. 
    • @iacas We have data though. I was a 13cap after playing for over 20 years as a righty with a good back. We totally have a base line. I am right handed and it obviously will be more difficult to play and learn left handed. I don't think anyone would dispute that. So if I get anywhere near my old cap after playing lefty for a two to three years I would say that's a huge success. It took me well over 10 years of playing to get down to a 14hc. If I can get near that in a few years with my physical limitations and obstacles I would say that's a huge success. I'd be thrilled if I could get below a 20 within a few years. I will not endanger my back for golf. I have said that several times already and I mean it. This thread could sputter out before it gets going if there are any signs of pain or discomfort.  The advantage of learning lefty is that I'll be able to control the speed much easier. I had a very fast swing speed ingrained for many years and could never lay off it like some guys could. I'll be training new neuro pathways in the brain and won't have to overcome the previous ones from playing righty.  I have no clue what my potential will be learning left handed and not hitting the ball far like I used to. I think if I were thinking of someone else doing this in my situation I'd say anything around 20 would be really good for this year. 
    • Hi, regarding the username I am not sure what happened. I think I may have logged in with my phone and might have used my google user name? Or its possible I might have made two accounts having forgot about one.  Maybe my phone saved that login information from a few years back? I am not sure but I bet that's it. I'm using my computer at home now so if it posts as Faksakes I"m betting that's it. As for the HC I have no clue what to expect. I might not get below a 30, I really have no idea.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. GGRadio1213
      (28 years old)
    2. Kloeshuman
      (51 years old)
    3. MichaelViolence
      (44 years old)
    4. MiddleTees
      (69 years old)


Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...