Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Moderator
Posted
3 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

no - you read me wrong.  the surface of the green is where the red line intercepts at the ball side.  We are in agreement.  It's parallel to the ground at the point on the left.

I see. Yes, I misunderstood what you meant.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, billchao said:

I see. Yes, I misunderstood what you meant.

thanks, here's my point - if you agree.....?

I had a hard time with the one on the left.  But as long as it's consistent and that's what the rules committees say, then the clarification works.2019-03-28 09_47_24-Microsoft PowerPoint - [RHG - Cimarron PTA Exit Rev1.pptx].jpg

Edited by rehmwa

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
2 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

thanks, here's my point - if you agree.....?

I had a hard time with the one on the left.  But as long as it's consistent and that's what the rules committees say, then the clarification works.2019-03-28 09_47_24-Microsoft PowerPoint - [RHG - Cimarron PTA Exit Rev1.pptx].jpg

That ball on the left isn't holed.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
11 minutes ago, billchao said:

That ball on the left isn't holed.

I agree, and so do the guys I talked with, but that's a pretty ridiculous exaggeration. 🙂

This is a bit more realistic:

hole_ball.jpg

The ball isn't holed despite being both below the level of the green near the ball and the opposite margin of the hole. This is on relatively flat ground, too - the far lip could be higher if the ground was sloped that way (uphill to the far side of the cup).

The "corner" is more pronounced here than in the quarter-round image up above. 🙂

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
6 minutes ago, iacas said:

 that's a pretty ridiculous exaggeration. 🙂

🙂

come play some of the public courses around here.....  you might change your mind - 🤨

 

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
31 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

come play some of the public courses around here.....  you might change your mind - 🤨

 

To be fair, a rounded lip usually helps you make putts.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 minutes ago, Benit0 said:

how about that one !?!

trou

Of course.  A portion of the ball is clearly below the surface of the putting green.

 

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
22 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Of course.  A portion of the ball is clearly below the surface of the putting green.

 

Sorry, but no.  This from the Clarifications on the definition of "holed"

Quote

Holed/1 – All of the Ball Must Be Below the Surface to Be Holed When Embedded in Side of Hole

When a ball is embedded in the side of the hole, and all of the ball is not below the surface of the putting green, the ball is not holed. This is the case even if the ball touches the flagstick.

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Sorry, but no.  This from the Clarifications on the definition of "holed"

 

Thanks.  I stand corrected.  I was unaware of that one!

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If you read the article, here is a resume of the answer of Thomas Pagel, the USGA’s Senior Director of the Rules of Golf

1. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

2. Embedded, leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

3. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, fully submerged: YES ACE

4. Not embedded, leaning against the flagstick, fully or partially submerged: YES ACE

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
4 minutes ago, Benit0 said:

If you read the article, here is a resume of the answer of Thomas Pagel, the USGA’s Senior Director of the Rules of Golf

1. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

2. Embedded, leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

3. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, fully submerged: YES ACE

4. Not embedded, leaning against the flagstick, fully or partially submerged: YES ACE

Its a good summary, and a decent article.  Unfortunately, we don't always have articles about each of the situations that might occur, so my preference is always to go to the Rules themselves.  As the article says, occasionally you'll have to look in a couple of different places to end up with the right answer, but following the complete trail has really helped my own knowledge of the rules, as well as helping me understand how to effectively use the rulebook.  

I have to admit, I'm pretty sure  I'd read about this specific situation sometime previously, which led me to dig a bit deeper than I otherwise might have.  But as a general rule, starting with the definition of the term (holed in this case), including the Clarifications to the definition, is a good place to start any search in the Rules.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, Benit0 said:

If you read the article, here is a resume of the answer of Thomas Pagel, the USGA’s Senior Director of the Rules of Golf

1. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

2. Embedded, leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

3. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, fully submerged: YES ACE

4. Not embedded, leaning against the flagstick, fully or partially submerged: YES ACE

So how about this -

1 - it embeds and is touching the flagstick.

2 - it appears that the top of the ball is above the level of the green.

3 - as you come up to the green, you see a duck go over and pecks at the ball and the ball gets pushed fully submerged

 

(((just kidding -18-1 . By Outside Agency/.......If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency , there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.)))

 

Edited by rehmwa

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
1 hour ago, Benit0 said:

how about that one !?!

HoleInOneControversy.jpg

This mind-bending photo had everybody asking: Is a ball embedded in the side of the cup a hole in one? We tracked down the answer.

 

As @DaveP043 pointed out, an embedded ball has to be entirely below the putting surface to be considered holed.

Can't tell for certain by the angle of the picture if that ball is holed.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
17 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

Dashes are the old rules.

Dots are new.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
8 minutes ago, iacas said:

Dashes are the old rules.

Dots are new.

and they don't use the term "Dormie" any more

Major/Sweeping change......

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
13 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

and they don't use the term "Dormie" any more

Major/Sweeping change......

Your point?

And @DaveP043, you may have been thinking of this:

 

  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Your point?

Wry chuckle with online friends, or so I thought.  I be sure to use emoticons to express the mood of the post.

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,638 3/6 🟨⬜⬜⬜🟨 ⬜⬜🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • It may not have been block practice, though, is one of the main points here. You may have been serving and from the same place, but you were likely trying to do slightly different things. It seems that would only be blocked practice if you were trying to hit the same exact ball hit to you to the same exact place in the far court. I'm not sure that's as random as if the ball that you're given to hit is at different places, too, but again…
    • I played tennis in college. I thought block practice was great for serves because you were starting the point and  you could easily adjust where you wanted to place the ball based off the same motion. I equate those to tee balls. I despised block practice for groundstrokes once you reached a certain level and your fundamentals were good. To me, hitting a 100 crosscourt backhands in a row was silly because I would never do that in a match. I needed to randomize it by hitting some deep, some angled, all with different speeds and spins. I share that same thought about iron play. Because we seldom hit the same approach shots hole after hole, I prefer to practice irons randomly. 
    • Wordle 1,638 2/6* 🟨⬛🟨🟨🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,638 3/6* ⬛🟦⬛⬛⬛ 🟦⬛⬛🟦🟦 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.