Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
joekelly

To broom or not to broom?

15 posts in this topic

They hallowtined the greens last week and applied fine sand over the top. Now it’s like walking on the beach with deep sandy footprints everywhere. The rules indicate permission to brush away sand from the line of putt.  May I carry a small broom to sweep the sand from my line of putt? To me, this action would be  permitted but also would be a discouraged and questionable practice.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

If the result is to make a channel from the ball to the hole, there could be a breach of rule 1-2.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd just deal with it for the next two weeks or so.  By June, you'll have forgotten all about this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

If the result is to make a channel from the ball to the hole, there could be a breach of rule 1-2.

IMHO.

I think the ruling would fall under R16-1a (i)  See first exception under R1-2.   As the removal of sand is allowed, I don't think the player should be penalized if the sand is so deep it makes a "channel".  If he presses anything down, that's a different matter, however.  Hard to say without being there, but I think using a broom could cause a breach.

To the OP's question if everyone in your group said it was ok and were also doing it, I wouldn't worry about it.  I doubt you would have a competition  with the greens like this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulesman

If the result is to make a channel from the ball to the hole, there could be a breach of rule 1-2.

IMHO.

I think the ruling would fall under R16-1a (i)  See first exception under R1-2.   As the removal of sand is allowed, I don't think the player should be penalized if the sand is so deep it makes a "channel".  If he presses anything down, that's a different matter, however.  Hard to say without being there, but I think using a broom could cause a breach.

To the OP's question if everyone in your group said it was ok and were also doing it, I wouldn't worry about it.  I doubt you would have a competition  with the greens like this.

If what he does influences the movement of the ball as in Rulesman's example, then it would be flirting with 1-2.  He would have to clear the area in such a way that the ball doesn't carom off the sand banks to follow a path.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

From the thread title I was expecting a long putter debate...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

IMHO.

I think the ruling would fall under R16-1a (i)  See first exception under R1-2.   As the removal of sand is allowed, I don't think the player should be penalized if the sand is so deep it makes a "channel".  If he presses anything down, that's a different matter, however.  Hard to say without being there, but I think using a broom could cause a breach.

To the OP's question if everyone in your group said it was ok and were also doing it, I wouldn't worry about it.  I doubt you would have a competition  with the greens like this.

I can't find it now but I believe that some years ago the RBs ruled that clearing a path to guide the ball through a covering of light snow would be a breach of 1-2.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

If what he does influences the movement of the ball as in Rulesman's example, then it would be flirting with 1-2.  He would have to clear the area in such a way that the ball doesn't carom off the sand banks to follow a path.

Why?  Here's my thinking.  First I would argue that the removing of sand on greens, ("the action") is identified and allowed under the  Definition of Loose Impediments, R23 and R16-1a.

I think the 1st exception under R1-2 tells us the above rules are therefore applicable, not R1-2.

So looking at R23 and R16-1a , is there anything the player is doing that is a breach?  What I think would be a breach is if the player improved his line of putt by doing anything OTHER than the removing of loose impediments.  There are a number of decisions under R16-1 that deal with this. D16-1a/9, for example.  If removing the sand improved his line of putt by pushing grass down, then I think there would be a penalty.  But the applicable penalty in this case would be under R16-1a not R1-2.

The fact that the player has a "trench" because he removed loose impediments is irrelevant in my view.  Look at it another way.  The green is covered by leaves or gravel and the player removed same creating a path.  The ball could very well be influenced by the loose impediments on each side of the path he created, but under what rule would that be a breach if something influenced his ball?  What did the player do that was against the rules?

I guess, although I agree the player brushing a path in the sand is influencing the movement of his ball, I'm having a problem making it a breach under R1-2.  There are things allowed under the rules that do influence the movement of the ball or alter physical conditions.

Again just my opinion.  Interesting discussion on R1-2, regardless.

Edit: Just saw Rulesman's post on snow.  If there is a specific ruling covering this, then obviously there would be a breach and I would agree.  R1-2 was recently re written, I'm wondering if the ruling still applies.

1-2 . Exerting Influence on Movement of Ball or Altering Physical Conditions

A player must not (i) take an action with the intent to influence the movement of a ball in play or (ii) alter physical conditions with the intent of affecting the playing of a hole.

Exceptions:

1. An action expressly permitted or expressly prohibited by another Rule is subject to that other Rule , not Rule 1-2 .

2. An action taken for the sole purpose of caring for the course is not a breach of Rule 1-2 .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by joekelly

May I carry a small broom to sweep the sand from my line of putt?

Decision 23-1/1 states that "loose impediments may be removed by any means, except that, in removing loose impediments on the line of putt, the player must not press anything down (Rule 16-1a )."

It appears a small broom would be allowed.  Of course, removing sand that was applied as part of maintenance runs contrary to the idea of taking care of the course.  Unless one were playing for a significant wager, it is probably best to just put up with the sand or not play for a week or so.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

1. An action expressly permitted or expressly prohibited by another Rule is subject to that other Rule, not Rule 1-2.

Despite the Note I am not persuaded that making a channel is expressly permitted.

This is not removing a disadvantage but gaining an advantage.

Note 1: A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could he not gain an advantage by the visual path he creates by sweeping aside the sand?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Rulesman

Despite the Note I am not persuaded that making a channel is expressly permitted.

This is not removing a disadvantage but gaining an advantage.

Note 1: A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage

Hey Rulesman,

Referencing Note 1, So you would DQ the player.  Interesting.

Without seeing what the original poster was actually doing, I  think this is somewhat of an academic exercise.  If the sand were deep, and he purposely  made a  narrow path where it could be deemed that there was an intent to influence the ball towards the hole, then yes I think there is a breach of R1-2.  If he brushed a path, say  6-10 inches wide,  then I would say no penalty. Even if the edges of the path could deflect his ball back towards the hole , I'd be satisfied that this was not his intent.  As you know R1-2 requires purposeful intent, and the player does have the right to remove sand on the green.  For me anyway, I guess it comes down to the intent of the player and the specifics of what he actually did.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by David in FL

Could he not gain an advantage by the visual path he creates by sweeping aside the sand?

Hi David,

I suppose, but I don't think visual help is a breach of R1-2.  All the examples I've seen deal with physical alterations of the course, or doing something that physically influences the movement of the ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • 2016 BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth
      Many years ago while on a business trip to London I got a chance to play Wentworth West - even back then in 1991 it was a tremendous course that made great use of the rolling woodlands in Surrey. Its a bit sad that the course has now become the architectural plaything of Ernie Els and the European tour - some of the holes now resort to certain modern tricks like artificial water features or shaved greenside banks leading to hazards or chipping areas - perhaps in the next round of changes Ernie and his design elfs will come a bit more to their senses and let the design return a bit more to the features that were there in the original HS Colt design. As far as the tournament goes, it seems like there is a real problem in terms of when to fit it in a place in the schedule where you can get the cream of the European tour to show up.  The Players Championship with its huge reward of 10 years of exemptions for the US tour makes it a bit more compelling as an event and the Nelson and Colonial and Memorial tournaments are all big events on the US tour leading up to the US Open so taking the two weeks time to travel over to England in the start of the summer is perhaps not something a lot of European pros who live in the US are willing to make.  Was exciting to see if Chris Wood was going to choke the event away but nice to see him win - he did have a great front nine but seemed on the verge of letting it get away on the back nine.
    • Scientific Studies
      Oh, good Lord! I can't believe that you entered such a completely off the mark reply! I thought you had some smarts. Valuable eyeballs? There are no such things! There are only eyeballs. Advertising rates are established on "number of impressions", in other words the number of people who see your ad. The only "value" established for those "eyeballs" is what age they are, what demographic they belong to. If you're seeking to market to a particular demographic, you might pay more to place an ad on "this" show rather than "that" show. And who said anything about "left and right"? You did! You used the phrase "industry supported research", which is a code phrase of the left to indicate research that is suspect! When have you ever heard "Entertainment Industry supported research", or "Actor supported research" in reply! And please don't try to tell me that government sponsored research is as pure as the wind driven snow. I've just realized that you may be confining your remarks to the field of physics. In that realm, they might be valid. Besides you, me, and a couple of guys behind the tree, who the hell cares? I'm referring more to "agendized" science, like climatology, nutrition, and prescription drugs. As for blind funding, that doesn't mean throwing money at any bunch of yahoos who cook up some hare brained scheme. All it means is that the people who are doing the research don't know where the money is.coming from. So they don't know who is buttering their bread! Let's face it, scientists are people, and they need to make a living. There was a line from "The Big Bang Theory" that, while fictional, makes real world sense. In one episode another physicist, Barry Kripke, is asked why he's still studying string theory. He says, "Hey, I study a theory that can't be proven, I apply for grants, and I spend the money on booze and broads!"
    • "Swing Machine Golf" by Paul Wilson
      I will apologize in advance if this post winds up being long. I went out for my first round of golf in 2015, shot a 110, went home, put my clubs on Craigslist, sold them within a day and decided to quit the game. I had been playing for 25 years but only felt I was getting worse. Then, while planning a summer trip to Las Vegas I stumbled upon Paul Wilson's golf videos. I watched a few and couldn't believe how simple he made the golf swing look. I picked up an extra driver from my garage, started trying to swing free and easy and went to the range 2-3 times a week to see if this method would really work. My first time out I shot 97. The second was a 92. The next was an 85. Then, I booked a pair of lessons with Wilson during my vacation. Long story short, Paul Wilson's teaching methods kept me from quitting the game. My handicap is down to an 11, and I am scheduled for two more lessons with him in July so I can confirm somebody who reads this forum is a Wilson disciple. While he can get pretty technical when describing his approach for me it's pretty simple - turn to the top, start the downswing with the lower body and let my arms swing loosely. I expect to break 80 for the first time in my life by the end of the year.               One more thing, which has been noted previously in this thread - if I get off track I immediately go to YouTube, que up a couple of Paul's videos and know exactly what I'm doing wrong. His web site is an incredible resource for me, and I assume it's the same for many others.
    • Muirfield Out of Open Rota, Denies Women Membership
      I was under the impression that Cypress Point had been removed from the "Crosby Clambake" simply because the membership at that course didn't like the idea of the general public trampling on their hallowed turf.  Part of that reasoning might be based simply upon the notion of exclusivity and status; on the other hand, the environment around the course is somewhat fragile and having thousands of golf fans moving around that delicate seaside plant life and sand dunes would not be good for it. You can't tell me that most of the pros who play in the AT&T ProAm don't try and pull whatever strings they have at their disposal to play a round at Cypress during the weekend or weekdays before the AT&T event given the spectacular design and the chance to play a relatively well-preserved MacKenzie design. So even now that Cypress Point has female members I don't believe we can expect that we will ever see it on the AT&T course rota again.
    • Carry-on one Driver golf club in airplane? US and to Eurpoe?
      Thanks, Iacas. I will carry on one Driver with me without  any packaging.  I will have to pass through security check and X-ray scanning. By the way, my flight will be from Toronto Pearson airport to EU, so I hope Canada will have the same regulation as US since they are part of NA (North America). I will let you know if I will get into any trouble.  (I will not do practice swing inside the plane, but I may try while I wait around boarding area. ) Thanks!      
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries