Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
owens251109

Chipping on the green.

52 posts in this topic

Morning With the tournament this week being at Riveria C.C, There was a debate in my office with the bunker on the 7th green. whether or not you could chip over the bunker on the green? or do you have to putt around it. thanks
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course.  You can tee off with your putter if you like.  You may pitch or chip on the green.

For those of us not playing professional tournament golf, the course will rightfully discourage (or even prohibit) chipping on the green......in other words, kids, don't try this at home! ;-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Morning

With the tournament this week being at Riveria C.C, There was a debate in my office with the bunker on the 7th green. whether or not you could chip over the bunker on the green? or do you have to putt around it.

thanks

Chipping on the putting green is not forbidden by the Rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thankd David. I was pretty sure it was not against the rules. But not encouraged .
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll mess with David's assertion, " You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." for a minute. (Not because I wish to argue with him ... he's a smart guy about the Rules and a distinguished pillar of the Sandtrap Rules folder.)

This folder went dark for almost a week and we haven't had anything to talk about, plus I'm suddenly snowed-in in Asheville and he's not. ;-)

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply. There must (or may) be others.

And, OP, your question is quite legitimate. Last week at Pebble Beach Hunter Mahan chipped from the front of #17 to the back hole location because there was no easy putting line.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll mess with David's assertion, "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." for a minute. (Not because I wish to argue with him ... he's a smart guy about the Rules and a distinguished pillar of the Sandtrap Rules folder.)

This folder went dark for almost a week and we haven't had anything to talk about, plus I'm suddenly snowed-in in Asheville and he's not.

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply. There must (or may) be others.

And, OP, your question is quite legitimate. Last week at Pebble Beach Hunter Mahan chipped from the front of #17 to the back hole location because there was no easy putting line.

Huh........

Gonna have to think about that.  Give me a few.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Still here.....

We're talking a normal, conforming club.  Not one that's been damaged or an excess club declared out of play, right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'll mess with David's assertion, "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." for a minute. (Not because I wish to argue with him ... he's a smart guy about the Rules and a distinguished pillar of the Sandtrap Rules folder.)

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply. There must (or may) be others.

.

Measuring?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Measuring?

I was talking specifically about using it for a stroke though......

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What is chiping? :-) Paging @jamo

I read this thread three times this morning before you @ed me and I missed that every time. :doh:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I will bet a virtual beer that there isn't  any Rule which dictates what club you must or must not use to make a stroke - assuming that you have only 14 in your bag, none has been borrowed from another player on the course and none is non-conforming.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still here.....

We're talking a normal, conforming club.  Not one that's been damaged or an excess club declared out of play, right?

Think "any place" vs "any club."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is similar thinking.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-20/#d20-2c-0.7

The player would like to use his wedge, but is not allowed.  He must re-drop instead.

That's not a situation where he's prohibited from using a certain club though.....in this case he needs to re-drop because the ball rolled to a spot where he didn't achieve relief from the circumstance that allowed the drop in the first place.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I will bet a virtual beer that there isn't  any Rule which dictates what club you must or must not use to make a stroke - assuming that you have only 14 in your bag, none has been borrowed from another player on the course and none is non-conforming.

I suspect that your sweeping statement is correct, thus I'll not accept your offer. :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I suspect that your sweeping statement is correct, thus I'll not accept your offer.

Shame.  I recall enjoying a Sam Adams or three when I was in the USA some years ago and hoped for a virtual taste of a fine beer.

The statement may be sweeping, but  it was carefully crafted to avoid what I sensed was a trap in the wording of the original challenge. B-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Think "any place" vs "any club."

There are places "on the course" that you may not be allowed to make any stroke at all, an environmentally sensitive area for example, but that's not what you're going for, is it?

And again, in responding to the OP, I was talking about "using" a club to make a stroke, not measuring.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0