Originally Posted by JerseyThursday
Because it’s a long distance from the parking lot to the course. The golfer is using it to warm up just prior to teeing off on the first hole. If, for time’s sake, they put in their bag with no intent of using it during the round. Both devices have a shaft and a head and therefore could be used to hit the ball.
I'm going to agree with Fourputt. There's no way the Orange Whip could be considered a club. However, as you said, you would be in violation of rule 14-3 if you were to use it during the round.
I think the medicus is an otherwise conforming club under 4-1, but I'll defer to the equipment experts here. If so I'd put it in the same category as a weighted training club. As such, it may be carried, but only in place of another club, so it could NOT be carried in addition to the other 14 clubs.
Carrying Weighted Training Club
Q.May a player carry a weighted training club in addition to the 14 clubs selected for the round?
A.No, but a weighted training club may be selected as one of 14 clubs carried by a player, provided it conforms with Rule 4-1 (e.g., an excessively-weighted driver head may breach the limit on Moment of Inertia - see Appendix II).
FWIW.......confession time again. This is a rule that my buddies and I periodically violate. Rather than run back to the car, we'll declare a club "out of play" for the round. ABSOLUTELY NOT in any kind of competitive round, outside of our happy little group of course.
I know, I know......we just play a variant of golf. I'm ok with that.