IGNORED

Forward Press in Putting and Chipping

Note: This thread is 1775 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing for 40+ years and have always had a slight forward press (only about an inch or so) just before I begin the backstroke in putting. On the advice of instructors and well-meaning playing partners, I've tried to break the habit but without success. On the positive side, I've heard that the forward press serves as a "trigger" mechanism that supposedly provides consistency. On the negative, I also know that it de-lofts the putter face (mine has about 3 degrees of loft, which I believe is standard). But looking in the mirror it appears that despite the forward press, by the time the putter face returns to the ball it has "caught up" and is no longer de-lofted. Not sure whether if that is a good thing or a bad thing. 

Within the past month, and not on purpose, I've began the forward press in chipping as well, usually with a 9-iron. Just as in putting, it appears that the clubhead catches up on the forward stroke so the de-lofting is not an issue. Consistency in chipping has actually improved slightly. 

Any additional positives and negatives that I have not thought of? If I really wanted to break the habit, how would I do it? I've tried mirror drills but they don't seem to help. 

What's in the bag:
Driver: TaylorMade Rocketballz (non-adjustable), 10.5 degrees, stock graphite shaft R flex
Hybrids: Kasco, 17 and 25 degrees, stock graphite shafts
Irons: Golfsmith Tour Cavity Forged, 4-PW, graphite shafts R, 2 degrees upright
Wedges: TaylorMade Black Oxide, 52, 56, and 60 degrees, graphite shafts
Putter: Rife Barbados w/SuperStroke grip 
Ball: Bridgestone RXS

Only break the habit if it is affecting your swing/ball flight.  What matters is impact and result.  NOTHING ELSE

What's in the bag