Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 1933 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I know you can ask for a second opinion but what if they still tell you the wrong ruling after the second opinion? 

What happens to the -Rules Official- and the stroke made after the wrong ruling?


  • Administrator
Posted

Do you have a specific example?

Because the answer depends on a lot of things.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Do you have a specific example?

Because the answer depends on a lot of things.

For instance, Ball lands in bunker and the ball is touching what is an obvious stone. Rules Official tells you to move the stone and its moved without penalty according to the "Official" . Note: Local Rule says its not a movable obstruction and Rule 23-1 clearly states it is not to be moved.

Edited by KrisF

Posted

I’m not going to be answering the actual question, because the RO was correct.  Unless the stone was embedded in the bunker, it’s a loose impediment (not an immovable obstruction) and by rule may be removed.  

Additionally, a local rule may not contradict the rules of golf, which that one, at least as you explain it, appears to do.

  • Like 1
  • Informative 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, David in FL said:

I’m not going to be answering the actual question, because the RO was correct.  Unless the stone was embedded in the bunker, it’s a loose impediment (not an immovable obstruction) and by rule may be removed.  

Additionally, a local rule may not contradict the rules of golf, which that one, at least as you explain it, appears to do.

What I meant say was stone was "embedded" and touching the golf ball and the same hazard.

Edited by KrisF

Posted
3 hours ago, KrisF said:

What I meant say was stone was "embedded" and touching the golf ball and the same hazard.

In who's view was it embedded? Was it solidly embedded? The referee may well have determined it was not.

Rule 23-1 no longer exists of course.


Posted (edited)
17 hours ago, Rulesman said:

In who's view was it embedded? Was it solidly embedded? The referee may well have determined it was not. 

Rule 23-1 no longer exists of course.

Gallery view and Golfers view.  And you could see it pretty obviously solidly embedded.  This in the case of when rule 23-1 existed. And after the stroke was made it was obvious that the stone was hit but the Rules Official did not see this after the stroke...

Edited by KrisF

  • Administrator
Posted
7 minutes ago, KrisF said:

Gallery view and Golfers view.  And you could see it pretty obviously solidly embedded.  This in the case of when rule 23-1 existed. And after the stroke was made it was obvious that the stone was hit but the Rules Official did not see this after the stroke...

You'd be better off proposing both a clearer situation and one that exists under the current Rules of Golf.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 minute ago, iacas said:

You'd be better off proposing both a clearer situation and one that exists under the current Rules of Golf.

Alright so, Rules Official tells you that you grounded your club out of an unmarked bunker and that you incur a penalty, yet it wasn't unmarked and not a Bunker just simply dirt.

What happens to the stroke made and the Official?


  • Administrator
Posted
Just now, KrisF said:

Alright so, Rules Official tells you that you grounded your club out of an unmarked bunker and that you incur a penalty, yet it wasn't unmarked and not a Bunker just simply dirt.

What happens to the stroke made and the Official?

Still not a good example.

Bunkers don't need to be "marked." Plus, why would grounding your club "out of" the bunker be a problem?

  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Still not a good example.

Bunkers don't need to be "marked." Plus, why would grounding your club "out of" the bunker be a problem?

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?


  • Administrator
Posted
6 minutes ago, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

I'm out. The person's not just going to stand there while you play a shot off their foot.

Nor is any Rules Official going to say that, nor is any player going to play that shot off someone's foot.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 minute ago, iacas said:

I'm out. The person's not just going to stand there while you play a shot off their foot.

Nor is any Rules Official going to say that, nor is any player going to play that shot off someone's foot.

Well crazy things do happen...


Posted

KrisF, reality is your friend. Reductio is not.

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
1 hour ago, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Maybe if you're filming a movie with Richard Kiel.  Anyone who gets to be a rules official knows full well this isn't a situation where you don't play it as it lies. 

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
8 hours ago, KrisF said:

Well crazy things do happen...

Not crazy an could happen.

Players ball is just in a No Play Zone but because the marking is not clear he calls a referee. The referee tells him it's OK and he can play it. So he does. The referee checks the markings again and realises the ball was in the NPZ.

The referee should apologise to the player and tell him he is not penalised.  

  • Like 1

Posted
On 7/19/2019 at 9:06 PM, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Someone just watched Happy Gilmore.


Posted

I believe its the players responsibility to know the rules. So if an official makes a mistake and the player posts a wrong score because of it, I think the player will be assessed the penalty when the mistake is discovered.

Nothing I can point to here, just my understanding of the situation.


Note: This thread is 1933 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.