Jump to content
bones75

How Do You Score Blowups?

65 posts / 3772 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

On 8/8/2019 at 10:21 AM, David in FL said:

ESC only affects the score that you post for handicap purposes.  It has no impact whatsoever on the actual score for your round.

 As an example, in a stroke play event, if I were to actually take a 7 on a par-4, that’s my score on the scorecard.  But my ESC maximum for handicap reporting is no more than double bogey on any given hole, so a 6 is what gets counted for that hole afterwards instead of the 7.  It has no impact at all on the competition.

It’s actually designed to help eliminate cheating by those who might otherwise inflate their score on holes they had already lost to artificially inflate their handicap...

Gah!  I have been thinking about this all week.  It is the word "inflate" that I am hung up on.  Are you saying that to post a higher handicap than what is "truly representative of your ability" aka score augmented by ESC makes it higher than is accurate?  Am I to understand that ESC is expected to prevent people from posting a handicap that is too high?  Is that for competition purposes, like sandbagging?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

37 minutes ago, Cantankerish said:

Gah!  I have been thinking about this all week.  It is the word "inflate" that I am hung up on.  Are you saying that to post a higher handicap than what is "truly representative of your ability" aka score augmented by ESC makes it higher than is accurate?  Am I to understand that ESC is expected to prevent people from posting a handicap that is too high?  Is that for competition purposes, like sandbagging?

Exactly

If someone is posting scores higher than their ESC maximum, then their handicap index will be incrementally higher than it should be.  In a competition, they will receive more strokes than they should be entitled to.  

Even if unintentional, they’re sandbagging.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Club championship. Scored every bleeding, awful, stinking, poorly-conceived, dirt-eating, wayward stroke.

I'd list more adjectives but I'm very tired and not thinking quite right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, mcanadiens said:

Club championship. Scored every bleeding, awful, stinking, poorly-conceived, dirt-eating, wayward stroke.

I'd list more adjectives but I'm very tired and not thinking quite right.

Indeed, my club championship was this weekend.  I managed nothing worse than a 6 today (the last day), but the first two rounds saw a pair of sevens and an eight. :-( 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, David in FL said:

Exactly

If someone is posting scores higher than their ESC maximum, then their handicap index will be incrementally higher than it should be.  In a competition, they will receive more strokes than they should be entitled to.  

Even if unintentional, they’re sandbagging.

Yeah, okay.  That makes sense.

I am not participating in anything like that.  And I am certainly not intentionally taking extra strokes.  I think for me it makes better sense to simply log each hole according to the actual strokes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Cantankerish said:

 I think for me it makes better sense to simply log each hole according to the actual strokes.

 Your handicap index is simply a measure of relative performance/potential.  But if everyone doesn’t use it within the confines of the system, then the number means nothing.  

It’s no different than those who post scores while taking mulligans and rolling the ball.  If that’s how they want to play the game, it doesn’t bother me at all, but they might as well not even maintain a handicap, because it’s not an accurate reflection of their ability relative to anyone else’s...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I hear you.  I gotcha.  If I were to use ESC in my world, I would be the person not using the correct system.  My mates would be well within reason to accuse me of fluffing my number, and they would be correct.  If it bothers you, just subtract a few to account for the blow up holes or simply ignore the number I have.  But you can't ignore my cool Don Knotts pic.  The man was a Cassanova.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, Cantankerish said:

But you can't ignore my cool Don Knotts pic.  The man was a Cassanova.

Well, that’s a different kind of scoring. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2019 Rule: “Maximum Score” will be a new, additional form of stroke play:

 A player’s score for each hole is capped at a maximum set by the Committee, which may be fixed (such as 6, 8, 10, etc.), related to par (such as two times par or triple bogey), or related to the player’s handicap (such as net double bogey).

 A player who does not complete a hole (often referred to informally as “picking up”) will not be disqualified, but simply gets the maximum score for the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • Hi! I am looking at replacing my PING i20 irons (having "old school lofts") with something more forgiving. Problem is that the Game Improvement irons I can find have stronger lofts, and that does not match my other clubs. For example, I have already taken out my i20 4 iron and added a 7 wood. If I were to buy a set with 3 degrees stronger loft, then the new 5 iron would be appr. the same length as the 7 wood (assuming stronger lofts give more yards). And at the other end, the new PW would leave a gap to my 52 degree gap wedge. So, I would actually need to buy UW, PW, 9i, 8i, 7i and 6i to match the other clubs in the bag! So my question is, can I get forgiveness without stronger lofts? Thanks for any input!
    • Glad to see you're a guy that speaks up. It doesn't happen often, but I also have no issue speaking to others who have no consideration for others wanting to share the facilities fairly.
    • Hi Ace: I will end up missing all the posts of the NONSENSE at this club....at least I still have 3 more weeks to be able to read about the TOOLS at this club until June 30...... your last day there....it's run by a bunch of IDIOTS. The starter is a CLOWN. Talk about CLOWN's....my last 2 rounds I played like a CLOWN/mental midget. On Tuesday I played with a friend...we played skins....at least I won 15 skins.....I shot 37 on the front 9 and then played like a GOOF on the back 9 ....a 46 with 4 doubles.....my chipping and pitch shots are GARBAGE...chunks and skulls.....I was 39 yards for my 3rd shot on the par 5...16th hole...ended up with a double....duh. Played today on the other course.....another CLOWN round by in reverse order....shot 44 on the front 9 with 4 doubles again....then shot 37 on the back 9......I joined up with an older couple to start my round....they are members and quit after 9....so here I am playing as a single on the back 9 behind 4 CLOWN's in 4 carts and with a 4some behind me.....on the 15th tee the 4some caught up to me...so I asked them if they wanted to play as a 5some to finish off the round which we did.....I hate playing alone....even as a 5some we were waiting on the 4some on the final 4 holes.  Courses here are so busy it's nearly impossible to play under 4.5 hours. The weather here is a bit cool....65*F only....and after Monday......7 days of rain...ugh.....playing on Monday with the guy from Tuesday. Have fun playing Paako with hubby this weekend.
    • I've been using this Iain Highfields tip on range, people maybe look at me weird when I place the balls 2 meters behind the hitting area, but I look back at them weird when they rake. 😄  
    • I spend about 80 or 90% of my golf time at the range or practice areas (green and trap) so I see all of the above from time to time. I have to say though, that the unwritten rule of three practice balls on the green is adhered to more often than not. It's usually someone new that will dump 15 on the green and go to town. It's annoying, but I bite my tongue because one of the cranky old regulars will invariably emerge from the cigar smoke-choked grillroom, stroll up with his putter and his drawstring Chivas Regal bag of practice Dunlops, and set the newbie straight.    
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. annajocobswill
      annajocobswill
      (19 years old)
    2. chrisgolf190
      chrisgolf190
      (51 years old)
    3. creamjunivive
      creamjunivive
      (31 years old)
    4. D3GolferCNY
      D3GolferCNY
      (31 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...