Jump to content
IGNORED

Dropped Ball, Found and Played Original


JOBS
 Share

Note: This thread is 1057 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Can I get clarification on this rule please. I dropped a ball when I believed my original ball landed in the water and then before hitting my dropped ball I found original ball and proceeded to continue to play with my original ball. Upon finding original ball I played it where it lied into the green. My opponent said that it was a penalty to not play my second ball because I dropped it.., i said if I had hit the dropped ball thenI would have had to play it in, but because I found my original ball was obligated to continue with the original.

 

Clarification please. 

 

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • iacas changed the title to Dropped Ball, Found and Played Original

You may not play a provisional for a ball thought to be lost in a penalty area.

Since you were not playing a provisional for a ball thought to be lost outside of a penalty area, once you dropped the second ball, it became the ball in play.

Rule 18.3 applies

 

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, David in FL said:

You may not play a provisional for a ball thought to be lost in a penalty area.

Since you were not playing a provisional for a ball thought to be lost outside of a penalty area, once you dropped the second ball, it became the ball in play.

Rule 18.3 applies

Not necessarily, David. You can sometimes pick up a dropped ball just the same way you can correct an incorrect drop procedure if you haven't yet played a stroke.

Plus, @JOBS, please clarify WHERE you dropped the ball? Where you originally played from? Or near the penalty area?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not necessarily, David. You can sometimes pick up a dropped ball just the same way you can correct an incorrect drop procedure if you haven't yet played a stroke.

Plus, @JOBS, please clarify WHERE you dropped the ball? Where you originally played from? Or near the penalty area?

Good point.  I should’ve asked the follow up question...

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, JOBS said:

Can I get clarification on this rule please. I dropped a ball when I believed my original ball landed in the water and then before hitting my dropped ball I found original ball and proceeded to continue to play with my original ball. Upon finding original ball I played it where it lied into the green. My opponent said that it was a penalty to not play my second ball because I dropped it.., i said if I had hit the dropped ball thenI would have had to play it in, but because I found my original ball was obligated to continue with the original.

 

Clarification please. 

 

Before dropping the ball did you have knowledge or virtual certainty that the original ball was in the penalty area? The answer hinges on this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


The way I read this, @JOBS dropped a ball intending to take relief for a ball in a penalty area (he mentions water).  As I understand it, if he finds his original ball with 3 minutes of beginning to search, and he hasn't played the other ball, the original ball would be the one in play.  I believe that when he finds his original, the dropped ball may not be played.  If the original is in the PA, and he chooses to take relief, he would be required to drop again, but I'm not dead certain of that bit.  If he doesn't find the original, and was virtually certain it was in the PA, he would be right in playing the dropped ball, assuming it was dropped properly in the appropriate relief area.  

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 minutes ago, Wendy Dominick said:

Before dropping the ball did you have knowledge or virtual certainty that the original ball was in the penalty area? The answer hinges on this.  

 

Yes, we called it in the water and dropped in the correct area as a hazard drop.  Then we found the original. 

I dropped the ball by the drop area where it presumably went in the water.  I then found my original ball never stoking the dropped ball. 

Yes, Dave that is what occurred.  I would have simply played the drop ball if we never found my original ball thereby taking the penalty stroke per usual for any water hazard. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


In that case you’re fine to have picked up the dropped ball.  :beer:

In my first answer I envisioned a completely different scenario that I should’ve clarified.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, David in FL said:

In that case you’re fine to have picked up the dropped ball.

Then I’m confused about which ball is in play. 

@JOBS had a ball in play, which he believed went into a penalty area. He dropped a ball to take relief from the penalty area, with the intent for it to be the ball in play.  He did not drop this as a provisional ball. Does this not make the dropped ball the ball in play?

Go to the definitions:

In Play:

Quote

That ball remains in play until it is holed, except that it is no longer in play:

    »    When it is lifted from the course,

    »    When it is lost (even if it is at rest on the course) or comes to rest out of bounds, or

    »    When another ball has been substituted for it, even if not allowed by a Rule.

Substitute:

Quote

A substituted ball is the player’s ball in play even if:

    •    It was replaced, dropped or placed in a wrong way or wrong place, or

    •    The player was required under the Rules to put the original ball back in play rather than to substitute another ball.

Drop:

Quote

To hold the ball and let go of it so that it falls through the air, with the intent for the ball to be in play.

If the Rules require a stroke to be made at the dropped ball for it to be the ball in play, I’m not seeing it. (And that’s possible—maybe I’m not seeing it in an Interpretation. I’ve been wrong before.)

Didn’t Rickie Fowler take relief from a penalty area earlier this year, then his dropped ball also rolled into the same penalty area, so he had to take relief again? If a stroke was required, then Fowler could have made the case that his dropped ball wasn’t in play yet. Found it: Waste Management Phoenix Open. 

rickie-fowler-griffin-connell.jpg

Rickie Fowler made a triple-bogey 7 at TPC Scottsdale's 11th hole during the Phoenix Open when his ball rolled back in the water after a penalty drop

So didn’t @JOBS‘s dropped ball become the ball in play when he dropped it with intent to take relief from the penalty area?

(Haven’t had my morning coffee yet! Sorry.)

 

Edited by Missouri Swede

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

 If a stroke was required, then Fowler could have made the case that his dropped ball wasn’t in play yet

Just like @JOBS did, I believe Fowler would have had to have found the ball from his 3rd shot (in the water) and hit the ball from there in order for the dropped ball to not be the ball in play. 

Driver: :callaway: Epic Flash Sub Zero
Woods:  :ping: G425 3Wood:ping: G410 3 Hybrid
Irons: :tmade: P770 (4-PW)
Wedges: :callaway: MD3 50   MD5 54 58 degree  
Putter: :scotty_cameron:  2018 Select Fastback
Ball: :tmade: TP5x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Fowlers' situation was not the same as mine I believe? His dropped ball created another penalty upon his drop having already identified his original ball that landed in the water? My original ball was playable and would never have been a penalty shot. If I had landed in the water then I would have hit my dropped ball and played it all the way in to the hole.

I found my original ball before hitting the dropped ball and well within 3 minutes of looking.  Frankly , it was a fluke that I actually found my original ball and was glad that I had not hit the dropped ball or that would have been my ball with the penalty attached. 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


19 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Then I’m confused about which ball is in play. 

@JOBS had a ball in play, which he believed went into a penalty area. He dropped a ball to take relief from the penalty area, with the intent for it to be the ball in play.  He did not drop this as a provisional ball. Does this not make the dropped ball the ball in play?

Go to the definitions:

In Play:

Substitute:

Drop:

If the Rules require a stroke to be made at the dropped ball for it to be the ball in play, I’m not seeing it. (And that’s possible—maybe I’m not seeing it in an Interpretation. I’ve been wrong before.)

Didn’t Rickie Fowler take relief from a penalty area earlier this year, then his dropped ball also rolled into the same penalty area, so he had to take relief again? If a stroke was required, then Fowler could have made the case that his dropped ball wasn’t in play yet. Found it: Waste Management Phoenix Open. 

rickie-fowler-griffin-connell.jpg

Rickie Fowler made a triple-bogey 7 at TPC Scottsdale's 11th hole during the Phoenix Open when his ball rolled back in the water after a penalty drop

So didn’t @JOBS‘s dropped ball become the ball in play when he dropped it with intent to take relief from the penalty area?

(Haven’t had my morning coffee yet! Sorry.)

 

My interpretation...

Since the original ball was found outside of the penalty area, his drop was incorrect.  Had it been lost outside of the penalty area, it would’ve required stroke and distance, so had he played the dropped ball, he would have been playing from the wrong place.  He’s  allowed to pick up that ball to keep from doing that.  As such, it hasn’t yet become the ball in play, leaving that designation with the original ball.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In response to @Missouri Swede, I believe 14.5 covers this:

Quote

a. Player May Lift Ball to Correct Mistake Before Ball Is Played

When a player has substituted another ball for the original ball when not allowed under the Rules or the player’s ball in play was replaced, dropped or placed (1) in a wrong place or came to rest in a wrong place, (2) in a wrong way or (3) by using a procedure that did not apply:

  • The player may lift the ball without penalty and correct the mistake.

  • But this is allowed only before the ball is played.

As @David in FL says, the dropped ball was substituted for the original when not allowed, since the original wasn't in the Penalty Area.  

  • Upvote 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To be clear: The dropped ball was not a provisional ball.  It was for a water hazard shot. Before hitting the penalty ball I looked all around to be sure we couldn't find my ball and about 15ft back I saw my ball.  It was playable and was well within the 3 minute time zone.  There never would have been any need to drop a ball if we had walked up to the original ball. It was just buried in the ruff so spotting it was made more difficult,  which is why we all thought it had gone in the water.  There never would have been a need for any penalty shot. The ball was not OB nor was it in the hazard zone. It was just buried and close to the water. 

Edited by JOBS
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Just another thought...…trying to make sure I get it right...….

Would dropping a new ball constitute declaration of the 1st ball being considered lost, The 3 min rule is discarded when the new ball is dropped and therefore the 1st ball would no longer be in play even if found?

 

 

Edited by IowaGreg

Remember when reading posts...…. Communication: 80% Body Language; 15% Tone & 5% Actual Words
We'd all be best selling authors if we could communicate in the written word as well as we would like.

:aimpoint:    :bushnell:    :sunmountain:   :ogio:   :titleist:
:mizuno:  Mizuno ST180 Driver
:ping:  Ping G400 fairway 3 
:cleveland:  Cleveland HB Launcher Iron set  4-PW  50/56/60 CBX Wedges
:callaway:  64 Calloway Lob Wedge
 :scotty_cameron:    Scotty Camron GOLO 3

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To be clear: The dropped ball was not a provisional ball.  It was for a water hazard shot. Before hitting the penalty ball I looked all around to be sure we couldn't find my ball and about 15ft back I saw my ball.  It was playable and was well within the 3 minute time zone.  There never would have been any need to drop a ball if we had walked up to the original ball. It was just buried in the ruff so spotting it was made more difficult,  which is why we all thought it had gone in the water.  There never would have been a need for any penalty shot. It was not OB, it was not  in the hard zone. It was just buried. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


45 minutes ago, David in FL said:

My interpretation...

Since the original ball was found outside of the penalty area, his drop was incorrect.  Had it been lost outside of the penalty area, it would’ve required stroke and distance, so had he played the dropped ball, he would have been playing from the wrong place.  He’s  allowed to pick up that ball to keep from doing that.  As such, it hasn’t yet become the ball in play, leaving that designation with the original ball.

 

43 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

In response to @Missouri Swede, I believe 14.5 covers this:

As @David in FL says, the dropped ball was substituted for the original when not allowed, since the original wasn't in the Penalty Area.  

Thanks. I think you’re right. Rule 14.5a:

Quote

a. Player May Lift Ball to Correct Mistake Before Ball Is Played

When a player has substituted another ball for the original ball when not allowed under the Rules or the player’s ball in play was replaced, dropped or placed (1) in a wrong place or came to rest in a wrong place, (2) in a wrong way or (3) by using a procedure that did not apply:

    •    The player may lift the ball without penalty and correct the mistake.

    •    But this is allowed only before the ball is played.

My next question is why 14.5 seems to contradict the definitions I cited above. Specifically, a ball is no longer in play when another has been substituted (definition of in play), and a substituted ball is the player’s ball in play even if:

    •    It was replaced, dropped or placed in a wrong way or wrong place, or

    •    The player was required under the Rules to put the original ball back in play rather than to substitute another ball.

The definitions say the substituted ball is in play, regardless of the Rules. The Rules say to ignore the definition for the substitution (maybe a little exaggerated, but I hope you see my point). There is only one ball in play at any time, even if the substitution is done incorrectly, for the wrong reason or in the wrong place. (Except if rule 14.5 applies; then the ball in play changes back?) 

The only way I see out of this is if “substitution” requires a stroke. But the definition doesn’t indicate this. 

(Second cup of coffee infused and flowing nicely, thank you.)

Edited by Missouri Swede

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I do not think so.  So long as it was believed to have gone in the water and then found it is my understanding that you must play the original ball. The original ball that is found may very well be in the hazard in a different location from where I originally dropped from or may be deemed unplayable also requiring a different drop zone from the ball that was first dropped. 

By playing the first ball dropped rather than the original ball under those circumstances sets the player up for an easier penalty shot also from the wrong location. That is why you go back to the original played when found. 

Edited by JOBS
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 1057 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I was ~9 or so when Physical came out and me and my friends waited for it to come on the radio as often as possible. Much more recently (3 weeks ago), my daughter went to a theater summer camp and they learned and performed Grease so we'd been watching/listening to that A LOT lately as well.
    • Day 281, August 9, 2022 Hit 20 balls after lessons. Backswing feeling better. Just have to keep that while working on the transition. Almost can't throw it behind me enough.
    • Wordle 416 4/6 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜⬜⬜🟨 ⬜⬜⬜⬜🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Got a range session in last night. Contact was decent with my biggest miss being the chunk. Really trying to work on rotating through impact here to help my right wrist from taking over too much.  This is a feel that I've been using for awhile now that I like a lot to feel the body rotation as well as the shallowing of the club. It's nice because this is just a natural motion for getting the club head to the ball and it helps ingrain the two main moves I'm working on. My only issue is I still haven't figured out how to properly activate this feeling with my lower body when swinging at a slower speed.   Shorter swing and trying to hold the release here a bit. Club is laid off a bit at the top and maybe coming in a bit steep, but was really focusing more on rotation here so I'm not super worried about that.    I hit this a bit fat but impact position is starting to look much better I think
    • I have: Driver (11 degrees) Weak 3 wood (raised the loft 2 degrees from standard) 3 hybrid 4 iron I also have a 3 iron that I sometimes swap in for the 3 hybrid. Most of the time, though, the 3 hybrid stays in the bag. It's much more consistent and versatile than the 3 iron. I can only really use the 3 iron off the tee or in the fairway. The plus with the 3 iron is that I can hit it lower than the hybrid, so I'll swap it in if it's really windy or something. I love the feeling of a good 3 iron shot, though, so I can't quite give up the 3 iron.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. alexfisher
      alexfisher
      (43 years old)
    2. Fkstang
      Fkstang
      (53 years old)
    3. marygujjari
      marygujjari
      (30 years old)
    4. RRTXgolfer
      RRTXgolfer
      (78 years old)
    5. Wanzo
      Wanzo
      (43 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...