IGNORED

Good Idea to Use More Advanced Clubs to Improve Swing and Contact?

Note: This thread is 960 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to golf (started about 4 years ago) but I take it really seriously and want to get as close to pro level as possible.  I don't really have anyone to guide me on this so I thought I would ask for advice here.  I started out with beginner clubs with regular shafts but soon upgraded my irons Wilson Staff Model blades with Dynamic Gold S300 shafts, my logic being that if I play an unforgiving iron, it will force me to really work hard at ball striking, and the heavier and stiffer shaft will force me to increase my swing speed and power.  Based on my ball distances at the range using old and cracked balls, I should be swinging at about 100mph.  Now I want to upgrade my driver and woods to new ones that are less forgiving and have stiff shafts with the idea that I will improve into them.

I was wondering what people thought of this plan.  If swinging heavy and stiffer clubs is a  good method of forcing you to swing faster, even it you might not currently be able to hit them optimally right away.  

Thanks

Jason

Being that your goal is to get to ‘pro level’ I’m not sure this is the best plan. Getting properly fitted for irons that suit you and proper instruction is a much more sound approach. There are some excellent instructors and golfers on this forum who can help you as well as highly reputable online instruction program called Evolvr

Start a ‘My Swing’ thread in the Members Swing thread and you’ll get off to a much more efficient and less frustrating regimen. Cheers!

• Thumbs Up 1
  • Upvote 1