Jump to content
IGNORED

A Question About the Koepka Butterfly Birdie?


Hardluckster
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
25 minutes ago, Hardluckster said:

If the butterfly touches the golf ball while it's rolling toward the hole, does he have to replace it and putt again?

I know where you’re going with this, so cite the Rule. Quote it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I did look it up after not getting a reply, but still have questions. Exception 2 is applicable. 

The butterfly is an animal so it is an outside influence. The exception uses the phrase on the putting green. The butterfly wasnt on the green. Does this nullify the exception?

I don't know if the butterfly in Koepka's situation and the ball ever made contact, but if they had it could have been (1) the butterfly hit the ball, (2) the ball hit the butterfly, or (3) they hit each other. Maybe I'm just being too technical there. I don't know. 

I asked because the question came up in my golf group this weekend. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Hardluckster said:

I did look it up after not getting a reply, but still have questions. Exception 2 is applicable. 

The butterfly is an animal so it is an outside influence. The exception uses the phrase on the putting green. The butterfly wasnt on the green. Does this nullify the exception?

I don't know if the butterfly in Koepka's situation and the ball ever made contact, but if they had it could have been (1) the butterfly hit the ball, (2) the ball hit the butterfly, or (3) they hit each other. Maybe I'm just being too technical there. I don't know. 

I asked because the question came up in my golf group this weekend. 

This is because the butterfly was not actually on the green and the PGA Tour have adopted Local Rule D-7, where the animal in this instance is defined as a loose impediment and the player's ball has accidentally hit it.

The ball is played from where it lies and so the shot does not need to be taken again. Koepka was spared of any rules infringement and instead could enjoy the butterfly fluttering along with his ball as it went in the hole.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, sjduffers said:

Meanwhile, another ball somewhere else on the planet didn't go in, because you know, the butterfly effect...

Yeah, that explains a lot about my putting this weekend. 

  • Funny 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to A Question About the Koepka Butterfly Birdie?
On 9/6/2021 at 5:01 AM, Vinsk said:

This is because the butterfly was not actually on the green

That gives us something to ponder.

Say a player's ball putted from the putting green rolls towards the hole and on its path there is an insect of considerable size. Just before the ball hits the insect it spreads its wings and lifts itself up from the surface of the PG and at that point the ball hits the insect and is deflected. Would that be a case where 11.1b Exc2 would not be applied but the ball would be played as it lies?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, Ruler said:

That gives us something to ponder.

Say a player's ball putted from the putting green rolls towards the hole and on its path there is an insect of considerable size. Just before the ball hits the insect it spreads its wings and lifts itself up from the surface of the PG and at that point the ball hits the insect and is deflected. Would that be a case where 11.1b Exc2 would not be applied but the ball would be played as it lies?

Well I think there’s a stipulation regarding deliberately hitting an insect. If the insect was of considerable size and in the line of the putt I’m sure the player would’ve tended to it before putting? 🥴

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Well I think there’s a stipulation regarding deliberately hitting an insect. If the insect was of considerable size and in the line of the putt I’m sure the player would’ve tended to it before putting? 🥴

You are missing the core of this issue.

So, let us change the situation: the insect lands AFTER the player has struck his ball. The rest stays the same.

Happy now?

P.S: I cannot find anything in the Rules about deliberately hitting an insect on the putting green. Can you?

Edited by Ruler
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Ruler said:

You are missing the core of this issue.

So, let us change the situation: the insect lands AFTER the player has struck his ball. The rest stays the same.

Happy now?

He would play the ball from where it stops after the deflection.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I wonder if the Rule is actually saying that. It just sounds strange to me if the whereabouts of the insect would be the determining factor and not the deflection. After all, the Rule seems to be  there to protect the player from any outside influence when playing a ball from the putting green, not just the ones laying on the PG (eg. a ball falling on the moving ball).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Ruler said:

I wonder if the Rule is actually saying that. It just sounds strange to me if the whereabouts of the insect would be the determining factor and not the deflection. After all, the Rule seems to be  there to protect the player from any outside influence when playing a ball from the putting green, not just the ones laying on the PG (eg. a ball falling on the moving ball).

Yeah. It’s bad luck for this to happen for sure. But getting to re-hit the putt seems a bit much. It’s giving you a practice run….

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Yeah. It’s bad luck for this to happen for sure. But getting to re-hit the putt seems a bit much. It’s giving you a practice run….

That re-hit is compulsory equally to a putt holed and missed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I asked the opinion of two experienced referees and both said that in their opinion it is the ball that counts, not the insect. Meaning, whether the insect is on the putting green or airborne makes no difference as long as the ball has been hit from the putting green.

Any comments?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rule 11.1b Exception 2
If your ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence, your ball must be played as it lies, except in two situations:
Exception 2 – When Your Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal ...

Animal
Any living member of the animal kingdom (other than humans), including ... insects,).

On 9/6/2021 at 3:01 AM, Vinsk said:

Local Rule D-7,

 

Where is that ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I know it's cold but couldn't quiet believe that a 4 iron didn't travel 214 yards. Seemed like it was well struck too. Anyway, I went away for a couple of hours and seems like the bottom has given out. 🥴
    • I don’t know if the course was the issue. If he’s swinging with pain, it doesn’t help that the walk is easy.
    • RRR is on Netflix - eagle - and one of best action movies I’ve seen in awhile. It’s dubbed in Hindi no option for Tegulu, so the lip syncing is off. But the 3 hours will fly by like nothing. Amazing set pieces action and dancing. 
    • I think i'd rather have to deal with #2.   Because i think you could find ways to compensate for not being able to fully load up on your trail foot/leg, by lifting weights, lighter driver shaft, and such..  if you loose the ability to put weight on your front leg, you are really limiting what you can do with your swing or trying to make certain shots..        And I've seen plenty of videos on youtube, with instructors doing one leg swing drills, and you are always using your front leg..    
    • That’s what I thought, too, but I deferred to the announcer on that. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. AirShad
      AirShad
      (28 years old)
    2. athomas625
      athomas625
      (29 years old)
    3. DES NUTTZ
      DES NUTTZ
      (34 years old)
    4. Molina00
      Molina00
      (39 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...