Jump to content
IGNORED

Conceded Putt Blown Into the Hole


iacas
 Share

Ball Blown Into Hole After Concession  

32 members have voted

  1. 1. What is your answer to the question in the first post?

    • A scores a 3 for the hole.
      19
    • A scores a 4 for the hole.
      13
    • A scores something else for the hole.
      0


Recommended Posts

1 minute ago, woodzie264 said:

This

I think it’s only if the ball is overhanging?

Edited by Vinsk
  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, Missouri Swede said:

I see your point. I don't know what the final interpretation will be.

The player scores a 4.

HIs ball was at rest, thus, the concession was legitimate and converted his ball to a movable obstruction, not a ball in play.

1 hour ago, Missouri Swede said:

But the result of A's first putt (without concession) is that it is holed. If the concession prevents this, then the concession is preventing the first putt from coming to this final result.

Except the result is finalized when a concession is made and the ball is at rest. If the player concedes the next shot while the ball is still rolling, it's finalized as soon as it comes to rest.

1 hour ago, Missouri Swede said:

["I've been wrong before.  Thought I made a mistake.  Turns out I didn't."]

And you're wrong here. 😄

Just now, woodzie264 said:

This

Not that. The ball isn't overhanging the hole. The ten-second thing has no bearing here.

  • Informative 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 minutes ago, iacas said:

Except the result is finalized when a concession is made and the ball is at rest.

So does the ball overhanging override a concession? Is overhanging considered not at rest? I’m asking as per the Solheim Cup situation. Had Euro said, this putt is good before picking it up, would that not matter since the 10sec hadn’t passed?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
11 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Is overhanging considered not at rest?

Correct.

11 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Had Euro said, this putt is good before picking it up, would that not matter since the 10sec hadn’t passed?

Correct… since that's basically what they did. If they had said "that's good" and Nelly had picked up her ball herself (there's no rule that says you MUST wait the ten seconds after you get there), she'd have made birdie instead of eagle. But by picking up her ball (or knocking it back to her or any equivalent) before she could wait the ten seconds after arriving, she deprived Nelly of that "right" and Nelly's putt was considered holed.


That's why the ten-second rule only applies to a ball overhanging the hole. And why ten seconds? Because it feels long enough to know that a ball will go in or not, and short enough to not hold up play a ton.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Neither a 3 nor a 4 are in evidence from the original question unless we assume that the first putt A attempted that we read about in the first post was for a 3 (in which case, the answer is 4).  

49 minutes ago, iacas said:

And why ten seconds? Because it feels long enough to know that a ball will go in or not, and short enough to not hold up play a ton.

For anyone wondering later if this would have held up play:  I believe the rule is in response to when Don January did hold up play when believing that the wind would knock his ball into the hole.  It did, but it was something like thirty minutes later.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, Shindig said:

For anyone wondering later if this would have held up play:  I believe the rule is in response to when Don January did hold up play when believing that the wind would knock his ball into the hole.  It did, but it was something like thirty minutes later.

Not quite but close.

Arnold Palmer wrote about this event at 1963 Phoenix Open in his great book Playing by The Rules. According to him Don waited for 7 minutes because in his opinion the ball was moving. Finally the ball fell in and Don said 'Told you it was moving'. However, I have read another description from that event according to which the ball did not fall into the hole but after those 7-8 minutes Don yielded under pressure from other competitors and putted the ball in. Whichever is true, the 10 second Rule was drafted shortly after and released in 1964.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


4 hours ago, Ruler said:

Not quite but close.

Arnold Palmer wrote about this event at 1963 Phoenix Open in his great book Playing by The Rules. According to him Don waited for 7 minutes because in his opinion the ball was moving. Finally the ball fell in and Don said 'Told you it was moving'. However, I have read another description from that event according to which the ball did not fall into the hole but after those 7-8 minutes Don yielded under pressure from other competitors and putted the ball in. Whichever is true, the 10 second Rule was drafted shortly after and released in 1964.

Dang, I should not have gone from memory.  I used to read that book very regularly but it's been a while, and I didn't have it readily accessible when I wrote my post.  Good catch.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, Shindig said:

  

For anyone wondering later if this would have held up play:  I believe the rule is in response to when Don January did hold up play when believing that the wind would knock his ball into the hole.  It did, but it was something like thirty minutes later.

This is totally incorrect.

1. It was "7 or 8" minutes later. But one even wonders if that is an exaggeration. 30 minutes? Where did that come from?!

2. Also, it wasn't that he "thought the wind would knock his ball into the hole". It was (supposedly) that he didn't want to be penalised for hitting a moving ball.

3. It didn't eventually fall in. He tapped it in.

And just to clarify - the fact that some may say that there is debate about whether the ball was tapped in or fell into the hole would imply that the whole story was exaggerated anyway. Maybe the "7 or 8 minutes" was 2 minutes. Just sayin'. If people aren't sure if the ball was putted in or not they certainly aren't sure how long he waited. My guess is that it was "ages" and the "7 or 8"  minutes was a totally exaggerated BS story because Player or whoever thought it sounded better.

And.....if an unlikely story involves Gary Player you can be sure it's bullsh*t.

 

Edited by Shorty
Link to comment
Share on other sites


9 hours ago, Ruler said:

Not quite but close.

Arnold Palmer wrote about this event at 1963 Phoenix Open in his great book Playing by The Rules. According to him Don waited for 7 minutes because in his opinion the ball was moving. Finally the ball fell in and Don said 'Told you it was moving'. However, I have read another description from that event according to which the ball did not fall into the hole but after those 7-8 minutes Don yielded under pressure from other competitors and putted the ball in. Whichever is true, the 10 second Rule was drafted shortly after and released in 1964.

January was responsible for a change to the Rules of Golf. During the 1963 Phoenix Open, January had a putt roll up to the lip of the hole and stop. January claimed that the ball was still moving, and waited for seven minutes for the ball to drop (it never did).[2] Rule 16-2 was revised in 1964 to state that players had to tap the ball in within ten seconds or be penalized.[3]

  • Confused 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

34 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

January was responsible for a change to the Rules of Golf. During the 1963 Phoenix Open, January had a putt roll up to the lip of the hole and stop. January claimed that the ball was still moving, and waited for seven minutes for the ball to drop (it never did).[2] Rule 16-2 was revised in 1964 to state that players had to tap the ball in within ten seconds or be penalized.[3]

I thought I just explained what you seem to have copied from Wikipedia...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I scored it a 3.  No swing taken = no swing scored.

 

I'd further argue that the concession must be accepted.

Edited by HankBlue
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
3 hours ago, HankBlue said:

I scored it a 3.  No swing taken = no swing scored.

I'd further argue that the concession must be accepted.

The concession is the stroke. It's a 4.

You can't turn down a concession, correct. The stroke conceded was the fourth.

  • Informative 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...
On 9/12/2021 at 10:14 AM, iacas said:

The concession is the stroke. It's a 4.

You can't turn down a concession, correct. The stroke conceded was the fourth.

I was wondering about this. Since the player cannot turn down a concession - what protects the player from an opponent declaring a concession early? I know that the concession isn't awarded until the ball comes to rest - so I'd assume then that the rules governing when a ball is at rest would take precedence over the concession to make sure the ball is at rest before awarding a concession? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo after clicking this link. For Mevo+, click this link or the image above.
  • Posts

    • Absolutely.   I agree that it doesn't follow modern styles as far as pacing, but I would argue that that is a good thing. People have become far to used to constant over-sensatory movies, where action is the only thing that matters. A good story is far more interesting to me. I am 70% through the first 6 Dune books according to my kindle (start of book 5), and I thought the movie should have been less fast. There are plenty of things that were added in (not in the book) that could have been replaced with even better story telling (things from the book). I am super excited that they green lit part 2, and hopefully we will get even more. Even more will probably just be Messiah, because after that things get unexplainable in movie form. My only complaint about the movie was the casting of Duncan (Mamoa), as he we just the "bro dude relatable comic relief". I thought taking away Gurney's good laughable moments and giving them to Idaho was a disservice to all Dune fans. I wasn't impressed with Mamoa, though he was just doing what was asked of him, but the switch of character roles was like nails on the chalkboard to me. I'd also give it an eagle, but it could have been an albatross by staying truer to the source material.
    • I would explain the Nelly invite and catch a rain check with Tiger. We would rather watch a team we actually cared about anyway 🙂
    • Close to $5k for my wife and I if you include dinner and drinks after, and all the gear associated with playing year round in Washington. The kids are only $5 a round with Youth on Course. If we decide to join a club it could rise or drop depending on where we might join.
    • Day 121: Practiced indoors working on my “cupped wrist until lead arm parallel” feel. Did this for about 20 minutes with LVP camera. Worked on transition priority piece outdoors hitting Almost Golf balls to avoid pitfall of not practicing well due to poor strikes. 
    • Day 158 (29 Nov 21) - Day got away, so no stuff outside.  Putter work using the my mousetrap drill (two cat toys set up about 10’ away about 4” apart, goal to get the ball between them, I.e thru the trap).  The carpet in the bedroom rolls pretty slow, so you have to make solid contact.  Part two of the drill is to lag the ball to just past the trap, staying on the carpet and not rolling onto the hardwood floor in the hall.  Have less than 2’ of roll out, so it’s about pace.  Love the challenge this drill gives! 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. ALong17
      ALong17
      (34 years old)
    2. jjdam
      jjdam
      (58 years old)
    3. leftygibby
      leftygibby
      (57 years old)
    4. RadioCop
      RadioCop
      (57 years old)
    5. rarce_torres
      rarce_torres
      (56 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...