Jump to content
IGNORED

Conceded Putt Blown Into the Hole


iacas
 Share

Ball Blown Into Hole After Concession  

32 members have voted

  1. 1. What is your answer to the question in the first post?

    • A scores a 3 for the hole.
      19
    • A scores a 4 for the hole.
      13
    • A scores something else for the hole.
      0


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator

Here's a rules question for you all:

Players A and B are in a match against one another. On a par four, A hits a birdie putt that stops several inches from the hole. B concedes A's short remaining par putt and, as A is walking to the hole to get it, but before he's anywhere near the ball (i.e. he doesn't cause it to move), the ball is blown by a gust of wind into the hole.

What is A's score for the hole and why?

I'll hold off voting for awhile so as not to "show" my answer. 😄

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Assuming A's ball was at rest and not overhanging when B conceded his next stroke makes the total score of 4. What happens to A's ball after concession makes no difference whatsoever.

  • Like 1
  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator

If this was not match play, the answer would be a birdie 3 because wind is a natural force and you have to play the ball where it stops, Rule 9.3. But what is confounding this is it’s match play and the putt was conceded. But the ball was never marked and lifted, so I think it’s still a 3 though.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13.1d Ball on putting green (without having been lifted and replaced) is moved by a natural force, so the next stroke is played from its new spot = holed. 

3.2b(1): If a concession is made and the ball is holed, the concession does not matter.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The ball was still in play.  The putt is deemed as holed and the score would be 3.  Player B's concession of the 4th stroke has no bearing.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Never3putt said:

The ball was still in play.  The putt is deemed as holed and the score would be 3.  Player B's concession of the 4th stroke has no bearing.

That cannot be. After a concession the ball in question is no longer in play. If it were the player picking up his ball after a concession would be in breach of 9.4b.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


2 minutes ago, Ruler said:

That cannot be. After a concession the ball in question is no longer in play. If it were the player picking up his ball after a concession would be in breach of 9.4b.

Yes it can, because a concession can be made while the ball is still in motion from the previous stroke (and the concession then doesn't matter if the ball is holed).

If what you wrote is correct, the ball would no longer be in play before it comes to rest from the previous stroke.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Yes it can, because a concession can be made while the ball is still in motion from the previous stroke (and the concession then doesn't matter if the ball is holed).

If what you wrote is correct, the ball would no longer be in play before it comes to rest from the previous stroke.

You are correct but I was referring to the case at hand where the ball is at rest and that makes all the difference. The point is that there was a next stroke to be expected which is not the case if a ball is moving and makes its way into the hole.

Edited by Ruler
Link to comment
Share on other sites


16 minutes ago, Ruler said:

You are correct but I was referring to the case at hand where the ball is at rest and that makes all the difference.

I see your point. I don't know what the final interpretation will be.

But the result of A's first putt (without concession) is that it is holed. If the concession prevents this, then the concession is preventing the first putt from coming to this final result.

Whether or not it was at rest, since the ball had not been lifted and replaced, if it is moved by a natural force, the next stroke will be from the "new spot." In this case, the "new spot" is from the hole. So there's no next stroke to be conceded.  At least that's the way I see it. I've been wrong before.

["I've been wrong before.  Thought I made a mistake.  Turns out I didn't."]

Edited by Missouri Swede
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I vote 3. The ball holed out and per 3.2b says concession applies to the next stroke.  In this case the ball was holed without a next stroke.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, saevel25 said:

Since the golfer didn't mark the ball yet, then it should be considered holed out with a 3. 

I voted birdie. 

 

Switching my vote. Since the ball was at rest before the wind blew the ball in, and the concession happened before the ball started moving, the concession is final. 

Rule 3.2

Quote

Conceding Next Stroke. This is allowed any time before the opponent’s next stroke is made.
    »    The opponent has then completed the hole with a score that includes that conceded stroke, and the ball may be removed by anyone.
    »    A concession made while the opponent’s ball is still in motion after the previous stroke applies to the opponent’s next stroke, unless the ball is holed (in which case the concession does not matter).
    »    The player may concede the opponent’s next stroke by deflecting or stopping the opponent’s ball in motion only if that is done specifically to concede the next stroke and only when there is no reasonable chance the ball can be holed.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

26 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

I see your point. I don't know what the final interpretation will be.

But the result of A's first putt (without concession) is that it is holed. If the concession prevents this, then the concession is preventing the first putt from coming to this final result.

Whether or not it was at rest, since the ball had not been lifted and replaced, if it is moved by a natural force, the next stroke will be from the "new spot." In this case, the "new spot" is from the hole. So there's no next stroke to be conceded.  At least that's the way I see it. I've been wrong before.

["I've been wrong before.  Thought I made a mistake.  Turns out I didn't."]

But as the next stroke was conceded it never took place and was counted as one additional stroke, thus 3+1=4.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • A truly awful story to be sure.  Part of this is the general disbelief that men can be the victims of sexual assault. That's a belief that goes well beyond the confines of the United Center or professional hockey. It made it easy for Blackhawk management to dismiss the allegations. When the guys at the top of an organization fail to do anything, nobody under them will rock the ship much. Especially not a ship that was headed toward a Stanley Cup victory. Kane and Toews comments reflect they didn't take it very seriously back then and that they still don't now.
    • LIST OF GEARS-Heads: @Vinsk💰 @boogielicious 💰 @Darkfrog 💰 @Chris Brooks 💰 @cipher 💰 @ChetlovesMer 💰 @billchao ✅💰 @saevel25  ✅💰 @GolfLug ✅ @BradSomrak @coachjimsc @bjfox10 ✅💰 Local Player DR Local Player BT Local Player ST @Shindig  @georgep 
    • Nope, not all conferences are created equal....  It should be teams in Power-5 conferences and a few independents if they play enough power-5 teams.  No non-power 5 conference is better than a power-5 conference.  The best team in the conference could miss out on the conference championship.  What if Ohio State, beat Wisconsin during the season. Wisconsin is 9-2 versus OSU 11-0 in a rematch in the conference championship game. Wisconsin wins, is Wisconsin the best team in the conference? At best, they are equal because they are 1-1 during the season. If you throw in conference record, it is OSU with 11-1 versus 10-2.  You should take the conference champion in each conference power-5 conference (5 teams), then for an 8-team playoff, the next best 3 teams. If a 12 team playoff, the next best 7 teams.   
    • Yeah, all of the interviews I’ve heard so far have seemed pretty shallow.  The Edmonton sports media is a joke at best, but at least they made Duncan Keith squirm for ten minutes plus.       Up next, coach Joel Quenelleville.  Good luck backtracking your way out of this one, guy.  
    • I'm a little confused as to what you propose as your format.  Is each player playing his own ball all the way to the hole, or are you doing some variation like a scramble or shamble?  How are you calculating team handicaps?  There might be some ways to work it out, but you'd have to start with those details first.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. david7w5
      david7w5
      (49 years old)
    2. Jmwest76
      Jmwest76
      (45 years old)
    3. Mikael Detterberg
      Mikael Detterberg
      (39 years old)
    4. NEhomer
      NEhomer
      (61 years old)
    5. RangeGolfer
      RangeGolfer
      (40 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...