IGNORED

Broken Finger

mkrosal
Note: This thread is 1687 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a right handed golfer and just found out that i have a broken right pinky. I'm currently enrolled in a golf class at my university that is just starting today. I'm curious, has anyone ever tried to play with this injury? do you think it's worth a try or do you think it will mess up my game since i'm just starting out? any advice would be greatly appreciated.
In My Bag:
Driver:MacTec NVG2 Draw 460cc
Woods:MacTec NVG2 3 Wood
Hybrid:Idea Tech A4 #3,Utility #4
Irons:MacTec NVG2 5-PW Steel, Regular FlexWedgesCCi Attack 50*CG10 Black Pearl 56*,60*Putter:C-Groove Valerie 34"

I'm not sure what kind of class it is, but if it's just starting I bet theyll teach short game stuff first and I don't think the broken pinky should matter. It might even help take any "handsy-ness" out of your chipping/putting.

It depends how you grip the club too. I overlap my grip, so my right pinky doesn't even touch the club, it just helps make my hands work cohesively.

I dislocated my right thumb freshman year and played later that week and through the spring. Not that it's that similar a situation, but I just took the splint off and taped it good. You should be fine. And if it hurts, stop.

The bag:

Driver: Taylormade R7 Limited (10.5*)
3-wood: Taylormade R7 st (15*)
5-wood: Titleist 909 F2(18.5*)Irons: Taylormade RAC TP MB; Project-X 6.0 (3-PW)Wedges: Vokey Spin-Milled 52.08 Vokey Spin-Milled 58.12Putter: Odyssey White Hot Tour #1 (33")Ball: Titleist ProV1