IGNORED

My Swing (Paul V)

Paul V
Note: This thread is 4845 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I was going to title this thread "My swing is a WRECK!  Super frustrated... help?" but wanted to abide to the rules since this is basically asking about my swing...

JUST UPLOADED VIDEOS!

8-iron DTL

6-iron DTL

6-iron FO

A little background..  I'm 23.  I used to golf a ton in the summer when I was like 12-16, but since then its been much more spotty, like 5-10 rounds a year on average with a few trips to the range.  I've taken a couple lessons over the years, but my swing is pretty much entirely self-taught.  When I was younger I didn't hit it very far (obviously) and typically would just play a consistent slice off the tee.  I used to hit my irons very straight.  I never attempted to create divots, just tried to skim the grass.  I also used the baseball grip.  My chipping/putting and short-game feel has always been at the least solid.

Fast forward to about 2 years ago.  I decided I wanted to commit to re-learning a more proper golf swing.  I switched to the overlap grip (which now feels normal) and started trying to strike down on the ball and create a small divot after contact.  I've watched some videos to look for hip rotation, wrists, weight shift, etc..

Anyways, here are a few aspects of my swing I'm dealing with right now:

-I rarely slice anymore, my irons sometimes draw (and sometimes hook a lot)
-I seem to have an inside-out swing, which I cannot for the life of me correct
-My divots always point a good 10-15 degrees to the right
-My divots always seem to slope away from me.  If you were looking DTL, the right edge of the divot would be much deeper than the left side.  When I set up to the ball, the club is flat on the ground, but when I strike it, the toe is tilting down for some reason.