IGNORED

Complete six hole meltdown

darkhunter139
Note: This thread is 4766 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Played my first round since the fall today...lets just say, it was interesting.

I just started playing last season and usually shoot in the low 100s.  Today I started out decently (for me at least) with three double bogeys, things were going pretty well.  Got to the first par 3 and hit a pretty bad tee shot into the trees and wound up getting a 8 after getting it out of the trees.  I thought okay one bad hole I will just shake it off...boy was I wrong.

The rest of the back 9 went like this

hole 5 (par 4): 12

hole 6 (par 3): 9 after two completely shanked tee shots

hole 7 (par 5): 11

hole 8 (par 4): 8

hole 9 (par 3): 5

Wound up with a 71 on the back 9, I am pretty sure I did not even score that high my first time playing.

I felt like I could not hit anything straight and was extremely frustrated but I did not want to end it like that I would have been pissed off all night.  I went into the club house got something to eat and headed back out.

I played pretty good on the back 9 with 3 bogeys and a par on 18th.  Ended up with a decent 52 on the back nine.  Anyone else ever have a complete meltdown like that?

I usually have a meltdown on the back 9 after doing very well on the front nine.  Especially in high school golf, I would shoot a good front nine and the back nine, I'd do worse by at least a stroke a hole.  But, the funny thing is, is that this only happens when my front nine is very good, like between -2 and 1 over, and then the back nine would be at least +9. I guess I start expecting the shot to be good, and everything starts to go downhill.

Philip Kohnken, PGA
Director of Instruction, Lake Padden GC, Bellingham, WA