IGNORED

MASSIVE Iron Divots! Help!

Note: This thread is 4418 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm not sure what is going on here, I've been playing golf for about 10 months now. Up until yesterday I was very happy with my iron play. I played 27 holes at my home course yesterday, now granted the course was very wet in some areas, but I found my self digging my irons and wedges, just about every club except the driver. I normally have a problem topping the ball if anything, but yesterday was extremely frustrating to say the least. Tried moving my hands down the grip, same story. I'm talking massive divots, almost stopping the club in the ground at times, even on a slightly teed up par 3 shot. Any ideas why?

From a post I wrote a while back when someone else asked the same question:

Originally Posted by JetFan1983

If your contact is good, then the fix is simple. Tuck the butt quicker through the strike to take some of the steepness out of the swing. The level of your belt should rise a few inches through impact. Releasing the hips from their downward tilt helps shallow the swing to prevent those steep crashes. Focus on pushing off the ground and straightening your legs as your arms stay straight through the shot.

Constantine

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I had a similar problem...sometimes is actually in your set up.  Deep divots are caused by an extremely steep arc in your swing.  What can cause this is a set up where for example your feet are lined up to the right of your target and your shoulders are pointed at the target.  In essence your body is crossed up and swinging against itself.  Try lining up your shoulders to point the same direction your foot line is pointing and make your swing path correspond with that line.