Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Lara disqualified after caddie tried to hide club


Note: This thread is 4931 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Originally Posted by nicoy3k

Why do the other two players even give a crap though? Incredibly douchey of them to become "suspicious" and blow the whole thing open. It was a silly mistake that gave Lara absolutley 0 advantage.

Having 15 clubs isn't an advantage?


Posted
Originally Posted by iacas

I guess I assumed maybe the guy just walked over to the woods and chucked the club in. If he was being all secretive about it and all that, that's different, but I think I figured that would be so weird to do (sneaking off and trying to get away with it) that I didn't think that's what happened.

Still, I'd like to know what the grounds are for his DQ. I agree that the player and caddie are effectively the same, but I haven't seen a rule cited which says "If the player or his caddie act like a sneaky bastard in an attempt to cover up a rules violation, the penalty is DQ."

It seems fairly clear that the caddie was trying to get rid of the club, and I think any attempt to dispose of the evidence could warrant a DQ. Since the rules permit you to keep the club in your bag but "out of play" after you've been penalized, I don't see any legitimate reason to "dispose of" the club.

Do you disagree with my assessment of 33-7 above? It seems quite likely to me that this is the ruling, although I suppose it could be 4-4c as RollTide suggests. (I don't think this is likely because of the emphasis on the caddie "hiding" the club, but it's plausible.)

Originally Posted by RollTide

One might argue that the following rule left them with no choice but disqualification.

Rule 4-4c - Any club or clubs carried or used in breach of Rule 4-3a(iii) or Rule 4-4 (this rule deals with exceeding 14 clubs) must be declared out of play by the player to his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitor in stroke play immediately upon discovery that a breach has occurred. The player must not use the club or clubs for the remainder of the stipulated round.

Penalty For Breach of Rule 4-4c - Disqualification

Vinson clearly did not declare the club to the opponent nor notify Lara (and here's the key word) immediately upon discovery of the 15th club; hence the disqualification. Had he have done so, the 4 stroke penalty could have been assessed and Lara could have continued play. At least that's how I interpret this rule.

I believe "immediately" means, more or less, before you make another stroke---before something happens that might be affected by your having the penalty assessed. It doesn't mean you have to drop everything in an instant and call the penalty. If they're waiting around at the tee, had the caddie actually wandered off to the restroom and come back before pointing out the penalty, I don't think there'd be an issue.

Originally Posted by rustyredcab

On other threads there was some discussion about the difference between cheating and breaking the rules.

If the guy tried to hide the violation from others, the DQ makes sense. Just because he was caught before the hole finished, does not excuse trying to hide it. The "immediately" part of RoleTide's comment seems violated when you try and hide the violation. With or without the DQ'd, I can image the tour suspending player and caddie and fining them both.

And, the caddie should be out of golf by free market forces.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted
Originally Posted by nicoy3k

Why do the other two players even give a crap though? Incredibly douchey of them to become "suspicious" and blow the whole thing open. It was a silly mistake that gave Lara absolutley 0 advantage.

I disagree- a stupid mistake that didn`t give him an advantage, yes, but trying to hide a rules infraction goes to the integrity of the game.  Obviously the caddie actions were enough to catch their attention, so what were they suppose to do, just ignore it?  Unless they noticed the 15 clubs on the first tee and waited to say some until after seeing the caddie try to ditch it, then they acted appropriately.

FWIW, I know the caddie is responsible for the clubs, but if a player has 15+ clubs with them before the round, I think it is a good habit for them to double check that they only have 14 to start the round.

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted
Originally Posted by RollTide

Having 15 clubs isn't an advantage?

only if you play to use all of them

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted
I believe "immediately" means, more or less, before you make another stroke---before something happens that might be affected by your having the penalty assessed. It doesn't mean you have to drop everything in an instant and call the penalty. If they're waiting around at the tee, had the caddie actually wandered off to the restroom and come back before pointing out the penalty, I don't think there'd be an issue.

I dont think after sneaking off into the bushes to dispose of the club falls into "immediately".


Posted

Thats just one of those situations where you are like, "what were they thinking???"  If I were the caddy Id be ashamed of myself and if I were the golfer Id fire the caddy.  He should have done the right thing and told the nearest official when he realized that he had 15 clubs.

Whats in my :sunmountain: C-130 cart bag?

Woods: :mizuno: JPX 850 9.5*, :mizuno: JPX 850 15*, :mizuno: JPX-850 19*, :mizuno: JPX Fli-Hi #4, :mizuno: JPX 800 Pro 5-PW, :mizuno: MP T-4 50-06, 54-09 58-10, :cleveland: Smart Square Blade and :bridgestone: B330-S


Posted
only if you play to use all of them

You could carry 30 clubs with you and let the situations on the golf course dictate which 14 clubs you use, but that wouldnt be fair.


Posted

It was a dumb caddie move and they should be fired.  Too bad it cost Lara a DQ.

Joe Paradiso

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Sounds like the caddy could have been put up to this, but we can only assume that he took independent action. None of us will ever know what really happened other than the caddy deliberately tried to avoid penalty for a rules violation by being unethical. You may not find the rule, but I am sure it is a condition of competition with that Tour that most likely addresses unethical behavior (actively cheating) which can result in a DQ.

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


Posted

That caddie will likely be looking for another line of work.  I seriously doubt that anyone "put him up" to this.  It was his original mistake and he was hoping to get away with the basic rules violation by concealing the club.  I guess he had in mind discretely retrieving it later - that would have been interesting to watch .....

Driver: Cobra 460SZ 9.0, med.
3 Wood: Taylor stiff
3-hybrid: Nike 18 deg stiff
4-hybrid:
Taylor RBZ 22 deg regular
Irons:5-9, Mizuno MP30, steel
Wedges: PW, 52, 56, 60 Mizuno MP30
Putter: Odyssey 2-ball


Posted
Wow, that's terrible. I wonder how easily that caddy's going to find work again. I'm curious what the other players "being suspicious" looked like. Did they ask the caddie what he was doing? Did they see anything weird? Did they pressure him/Lara to provide an answer? [quote name="RollTide" url="/t/59617/lara-disqualified-after-caddie-tried-to-hide-club/18#post_729918"] You could carry 30 clubs with you and let the situations on the golf course dictate which 14 clubs you use, but that wouldnt be fair.[/quote] They weren't even done with the second hole. It depends on what the extra club was, but it seems unlikely that it influenced anything. An extra club might influence, what 5 or 6 shots per round at most? It seems unlikely that happened in the first hold and a half. And most players know what 14 clubs they're carrying or want to use for a course, so the extra club was very possibly an extra he carried but hadn't selected for the day and didn't know was in the bag. He could have been making all his club decisions without even knowing that one was in there. Seems unlikely that it gave him any advantage, but it's impossible to be absolutely certain with limited information. Still, it definitely wasn't a DQ-type advantage.

"Golf is an entire game built around making something that is naturally easy - putting a ball into a hole - as difficult as possible." - Scott Adams

Mid-priced ball reviews: Top Flight Gamer v2 | Bridgestone e5 ('10) | Titleist NXT Tour ('10) | Taylormade Burner TP LDP | Taylormade TP Black | Taylormade Burner Tour | Srixon Q-Star ('12)


Posted
Wow, that's terrible. I wonder how easily that caddy's going to find work again. I'm curious what the other players "being suspicious" looked like. Did they ask the caddie what he was doing? Did they see anything weird? Did they pressure him/Lara to provide an answer? They weren't even done with the second hole. It depends on what the extra club was, but it seems unlikely that it influenced anything. An extra club might influence, what 5 or 6 shots per round at most? It seems unlikely that happened in the first hold and a half. And most players know what 14 clubs they're carrying or want to use for a course, so the extra club was very possibly an extra he carried but hadn't selected for the day and didn't know was in the bag. He could have been making all his club decisions without even knowing that one was in there. Seems unlikely that it gave him any advantage, but it's impossible to be absolutely certain with limited information. Still, it definitely wasn't a DQ-type advantage.

According to the rules it was.


Posted

I'm guessing the caddie screwed up, realized it, then afraid he would get in trouble for the stroke penalty the extra club would cause tried to cover his butt and hide the club.  If the caddie made Lara aware and Lara conspired with the caddie, then Lara should also be suspended for a time period.

Joe Paradiso

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

There are two angles to look at this as a DQ'able offense.   First is according to the specific rules of golf, and others have covered that already.   The other angle is from the Tour's codes of conduct and ethical behavior.    In this case, the caddy made a deliberate act to try and hide a rules violation which he knew had would have penalty stroke implications.    This deliberate act of trying to hide a penalty - basically cheating - is certainly against the ethical standards of the Tour which likely have a zero tolerance policy requiring disqualification.     It is unfortunate in that this wasn't the action of the player themselves, but the caddy is defined as an agent of the player and all actions of the caddy apply as if they were the player, so the player must suffer the consequences as if they had done the action themselves.

Someone asked on here why the other players should have cared since it didn't give any advantage.    The reason they HAD to care is also one of the basics of fair competition and is also baked into the rules.    In this case, the other players had a responsibility to the rest of the field to ensure that the rules are exercised fairly and consistently.   This is a reason why, under the rules of golf, a player is subject to disqualification themselves if they agree to let a competitor waive the rules - it unbalances the entire playing field, not just for that specific group of players.

  • Upvote 1

Posted

I have never used a caddie, especially in a tournement. Has anyone? If so, what goes on before the round? You talk about your plan, practice shots using your clubs, make sure you have tees, gloves and what ever else might be needed. You think at some point, maybe the practice part, someone might count the clubs. Like I said, I never been in this situation.

I would be furious. The caddie would be fired. If it was brought up immediately, then all is fine. It is on the golfer to make sure everything is squared away.

In my bag:

Nike Mach Speed Black

Nike Dymo 3 wood

TaylorMade Burner 3 hybrid

Mizuno MP-53 PW-3

TaylorMade RAC 52, 56, 60

Odyssey Black Series Tour Design


Posted

I would give the caddy a 'bit' of credit for doing what he thought would protect his man...his heart was likely in the right place.

BUT that's the only slack I can grant him. He broke the rules & cheated on top of it to cover it up. Absolutely no place in the game for it.


Posted

having 15 clubs for an entire round may be the slightest of advantages. Having one for one hole, and it obviously being a mistake is not.

The players should worry about their own game.


  • Administrator
Posted
Originally Posted by zeg

I believe "immediately" means, more or less, before you make another stroke---before something happens that might be affected by your having the penalty assessed. It doesn't mean you have to drop everything in an instant and call the penalty. If they're waiting around at the tee, had the caddie actually wandered off to the restroom and come back before pointing out the penalty, I don't think there'd be an issue.

Yeah, I think that's what got him the DQ, not 33-7. That's all I was asking - what rule was cited for his DQ? I wondered if they actually cited a rule or just kind of figured people wouldn't ask or worry about it.

Originally Posted by MEfree

only if you play to use all of them

That's not what the rules say.

Originally Posted by B-Con

Still, it definitely wasn't a DQ-type advantage.

Yes it was. Read the rules. ;-)

Originally Posted by nicoy3k

having 15 clubs for an entire round may be the slightest of advantages. Having one for one hole, and it obviously being a mistake is not.

The players should worry about their own game.

Nope. They owe it to the field to protect the field.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4931 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.