IGNORED

Which clubs should I get? I'm a beginner.

tec498
Note: This thread is 4077 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm wondering which clubs would be the best for a beginner. I've narrowed it down to the Pinemeadow Pre 16 piece set and the Callaway Strata 13 piece set. I've read a lot of good things about the Pinemeadow Pre set but I haven't heard much about the Callaway Strata set. With the Strata set do you really get Callaway quality or do they feel a lot cheaper than "real" Callaway clubs? If anyone has any experience with either please speak up! Thanks.

I know it's nice to get new clubs - I get that.    Alot of guys will tell you to get better quality name brand used gear.     Either way is fine for a beginner.     IMHO, don't bother with a fitting as many will recommend.      It's too early in your development - just get some clubs you like the looks of & start playing as much as you can.    Get some lessons if you want to ... depending on how into it you get, there's alot of resources available today (video's, TV, etc) and you can learn to play well on your own.     My only advice is don't spend alot of new clubs for now - buy a cheaper set, learn on it for a year or two ... at that time, if you really do take to the game & get serious, you'll have a much better feel for what you want to get to improve your game, and then drop some $$ on nice clubs.

John

Fav LT Quote ... "you can talk to a fade, but a hook won't listen"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I agree 100%, also make sure the clubs aren't cast. Get cavity back, they are more forgiving. Better for beginners.

In my bag:

Taylormade R11S Driver
Taylormade RBZ 3-wood
Nike VRS Irons 4-9
SM4 Titleist Vokey Wedges 47, 54, 58
College freshman playing golf at Wabash College in Indiana!