• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
achadha7

Yet another rules question , maybe a hole in 1

Recommended Posts

achadha7    3
Teeing off on a 90 yds par 3, land on the green ball rolls and comes to a stop 1 rotation short of the hole. Others tee off, we walk to the green and a huge gust of wind knocks my ball in the hole, is that a hole in one or do i replace the ball and putt ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Mordan    25

That's a hole in one.

If an outside agency causes the ball to go into the hole then you must replace it and putt out. But the wind is not an outside agency and you accept the good luck in hopefully the same manner you would should the wind blow your ball further away from the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zeph    182

That is indeed a hole in one. These decisions don't fit 100%, but you get the idea of it. This is why you can see pro players run to the green on windy days. If their ball is moved by the wind, they have to play from where the ball stops.

18-1/12

Ball Replaced and at Rest Is Thereafter Moved by Wind

Q. A player replaces his ball on the putting green and the ball is at rest. Before the player addresses the ball, a sudden gust of wind blows the ball farther from the hole. The player plays the ball from its new position. Is that correct?

A. Yes. Wind is not an outside agency - see Definition of "Outside Agency." Accordingly, Rule 18-1 does not apply.

Ask Linda #295-Wind blows ball into hole

Quote:
Q: What happens if you replace your ball on the green, remove your marker, step away to look at your line, and then the wind blows your ball into the hole?
Lulu
A: Rejoice in your good luck. Your ball is holed. If you were lying 4 on the green, then your score for the hole is 4.

You would have been penalized if you replaced the ball:

18-2a/7

Ball Moved by Wind Replaced

Q. In stroke play, a competitor's ball was moved by wind. Since wind is not an outside agency (see Definition of "Outside Agency"), he should have played it from where it came to rest, but he replaced it. What is the ruling?

A. The competitor incurred one penalty stroke under Rule 18-2a , and, before playing his next stroke, he should have replaced the ball on the spot where it came to rest after being moved by the wind. If he did not do so, he incurred a total penalty of two strokes - see penalty statement under Rule 18 .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

bkuehn1952    472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post

Ask Linda #295-Wind blows ball into hole

Quote:
Q: What happens if you replace your ball on the green, remove your marker, step away to look at your line, and then the wind blows your ball into the hole?
Lulu
A: Rejoice in your good luck. Your ball is holed. If you were lying 4 on the green, then your score for the hole is 4.

You would have been penalized if you replaced the ball:

I believe once the ball fell into the hole it would be considered holed and subsequent actions (like taking it out and hitting it again) would not be subject to penalties.  Of course if you took it out, tapped it in, wrote "2" on the score card and turned that score in, you would in fact have a "2" as respects your total score.  That is not a penalty stroke but just a case of signing for a higher incorrect score.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

achadha7    3
Wohoo, finally some good luck today after a wierd week or 90deg left or right bounces or bouncing on sprinkler heads :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

turtleback    484
Originally Posted by bkuehn1952

I believe once the ball fell into the hole it would be considered holed and subsequent actions (like taking it out and hitting it again) would not be subject to penalties.  Of course if you took it out, tapped it in, wrote "2" on the score card and turned that score in, you would in fact have a "2" as respects your total score.  That is not a penalty stroke but just a case of signing for a higher incorrect score.

Good call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • I'm a member at the club where Xander grew up playing, obviously everyone is super excited to see him get this win and launch himself into "elite" status on tour. He won 1.58M and an extra 2M for finishing 3rd in Fed Ex Cup. This time last year he was playing in the Web.com finals.
    • Gotcha. Thanks. That's a possibility too. I don't feel like I am hanging back but as you know feel ain't real.  Most likely my problem is a combination of things (maybe ball too far back combined with hanging back?). This started happening out of the blue and has been going on for about 2 weeks (5-6 rounds), and even with range work i have not been able to shake it off... yet! Thank you all for the suggestions. I'll try to double check them one at a time until I can tell for sure whether my not implementing them is the culprit. It shouldn't be too hard to recover from this, but it sure is annoying...
    • https://www.gamegolf.com/player/JonMa1/round/1859679?hole_id=34840967 Short and mid iron approaches were pretty good. Pitches, chips were fine. I just had a rough time controlling the driver until the 13th today. Also had issues topping some 5i and 4i shots though I did hit a couple nice 4i shots. Putting was pretty poor today. I'm getting acceptable distance from my driver since having the shaft shortened and contact seems better. Unfortunately, controlling the club face continues to be a challenge. Excessive penalties have been the theme for 2017. Lowering my handicap from longer courses will be next to impossible if I don't improve this part of my game.
    • I'm surprised he didn't at least ponder if there was a rule on that. I didn't know but had it happened to me I definitely would've asked my partner or someone there, 'hey is there a rule about this?' Certainly shows how it pays to know the rules. 
    • At 63 I have all the same challenges others have noted. In addition, poorer eyesight has been a new challenge. I never had to play with glasses from age 10 to late 40's and then quit golf. Now at 63 and back playing golf, just seeing the ball clearly at address has been a significant issue for me. And of course corrective lenses that work at address aren't right for reading or distance vision. Anyone else? I'm afraid between poorer vision and all the senior physical challenges, my days of consistently finding the sweet spot on my clubs are probably over. Game improvement clubs here I (reluctantly) come...
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dresilved
      Dresilved
      (52 years old)
    2. kpetrina
      kpetrina
      (25 years old)
    3. Luana
      Luana
      (39 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon