Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
achadha7

Yet another rules question , maybe a hole in 1

9 posts in this topic

Teeing off on a 90 yds par 3, land on the green ball rolls and comes to a stop 1 rotation short of the hole. Others tee off, we walk to the green and a huge gust of wind knocks my ball in the hole, is that a hole in one or do i replace the ball and putt ?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

That's a hole in one.

If an outside agency causes the ball to go into the hole then you must replace it and putt out. But the wind is not an outside agency and you accept the good luck in hopefully the same manner you would should the wind blow your ball further away from the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is indeed a hole in one. These decisions don't fit 100%, but you get the idea of it. This is why you can see pro players run to the green on windy days. If their ball is moved by the wind, they have to play from where the ball stops.

18-1/12

Ball Replaced and at Rest Is Thereafter Moved by Wind

Q. A player replaces his ball on the putting green and the ball is at rest. Before the player addresses the ball, a sudden gust of wind blows the ball farther from the hole. The player plays the ball from its new position. Is that correct?

A. Yes. Wind is not an outside agency - see Definition of "Outside Agency." Accordingly, Rule 18-1 does not apply.

Ask Linda #295-Wind blows ball into hole

Quote:
Q: What happens if you replace your ball on the green, remove your marker, step away to look at your line, and then the wind blows your ball into the hole?
Lulu
A: Rejoice in your good luck. Your ball is holed. If you were lying 4 on the green, then your score for the hole is 4.

You would have been penalized if you replaced the ball:

18-2a/7

Ball Moved by Wind Replaced

Q. In stroke play, a competitor's ball was moved by wind. Since wind is not an outside agency (see Definition of "Outside Agency"), he should have played it from where it came to rest, but he replaced it. What is the ruling?

A. The competitor incurred one penalty stroke under Rule 18-2a , and, before playing his next stroke, he should have replaced the ball on the spot where it came to rest after being moved by the wind. If he did not do so, he incurred a total penalty of two strokes - see penalty statement under Rule 18 .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post

Ask Linda #295-Wind blows ball into hole

Quote:
Q: What happens if you replace your ball on the green, remove your marker, step away to look at your line, and then the wind blows your ball into the hole?
Lulu
A: Rejoice in your good luck. Your ball is holed. If you were lying 4 on the green, then your score for the hole is 4.

You would have been penalized if you replaced the ball:

I believe once the ball fell into the hole it would be considered holed and subsequent actions (like taking it out and hitting it again) would not be subject to penalties.  Of course if you took it out, tapped it in, wrote "2" on the score card and turned that score in, you would in fact have a "2" as respects your total score.  That is not a penalty stroke but just a case of signing for a higher incorrect score.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Wohoo, finally some good luck today after a wierd week or 90deg left or right bounces or bouncing on sprinkler heads :)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by bkuehn1952

I believe once the ball fell into the hole it would be considered holed and subsequent actions (like taking it out and hitting it again) would not be subject to penalties.  Of course if you took it out, tapped it in, wrote "2" on the score card and turned that score in, you would in fact have a "2" as respects your total score.  That is not a penalty stroke but just a case of signing for a higher incorrect score.

Good call.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Congrats!  If this was hockey, you buddy would get the assist!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • It's fine that he apologized. I think better of him for doing that than had he not. But he's still earned a net negative in this whole thing, and I think he was speaking honestly before. He thinks the USGA is punishing him or something, when they're just enforcing the same old rules.
    • For me the range is about coping with some performance anxiety. I have some serious anxiety and obsessive compulsiveness when it comes to anything competitive. And the range allows me the option to freely express my pursuit of excellence. A lot of the time I prefer the range because I can focus inwardly and really feel different things.     
    • Inferno - Struggled to make par. Hanks kept the story going but they left a lot of the charm of the book out. Manchester By The Sea - Birdie. Excellent acting and the accents were much better than some other Boston movies (I'm talking to you Marky Mark). It is not a feel good movie, just to warn those who have not seen it.
    • Just a Sunday morning commentary about selling used clubs and offered trades.  I currently have a set of irons posted for sale locally. For some reason the PGA ValueGuide shows my clubs a little higher than I would have thought. I've checked at Dick's/GolfGalaxy for trade-in value and get different answers depending upon which store I go to and who I talk with. I suspect the sales people and golf department workers are quoting from either the retail column or trade-in column or wholesale column. In any case their offers don't quite get me where I need to be towards a newer set of clubs.    So recently a local guy offered a Scotty Cameron putter in trade and he referred to the PGA guide to coax me into my clubs plus cash for his putter. I looked up his putter and the valueguide actually shows it slightly less than my clubs, but I suspect an anomoly on my club values. I don't know if he has the head cover for his putter, but I do know that there are too many stolen putters floating around. I'm not saying his putter is stolen, just that when it comes to high demand/priced putters I tend to add caution to my dealings. Anyway, I then looked up reviews on his putter and found one from this site from around 2011 where the general concensus seemed to be marginal or unfavorable for various reasons.    In any case, I passed on the trade offer. But now I'm curious if there is a stolen putter database someplace. And if my clubs don't sell and if I can't get a workable trade-in locally, then I'll just use them this season. Just that sometimes horse-trades get some interesting offers. I recently sold an electric guitar and amp on craigslist and someone offered me a set of china dishes for it, I passed and found a cash buyer, which got me closer to funding new golf clubs.    Anyway, it is Sunday morning, I'm on my first cup of coffee, the local golf show is still a few weeks away, and it snowed yesterday, and in this past week the local temps have hit a high of 71degF and are currently around 19degF. And sometimes I type too much, sorry if I rambled, back to watching a recorded School of Golf and day dreaming of when the local courses open.   
    • "Who are 3 guys who have never been in my kitchen?"
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Catcher20
      Catcher20
      (27 years old)
    2. JD15
      JD15
      (52 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon