• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
barbm12thtee

Opponent refused to putt in tournament play.

Recommended Posts

I played in a County Championship and my opponent was on the green and about 40 feet from the hole. I was off the green about 10 feet from the hole. She was waiting for me to go and I told her she was away. She insisted it was my turn and wouldn't go. So I did go just to keep it moving. I wonder if she should have incurred a penalty?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Dormie1360    63

I don't see a penalty in your case.  In stroke play, there are very few instances where playing out of turn actually leads to a penalty. You used the term "opponent".   I'm curious, was this Match Play?

Edit: If Match Play

Technically speaking, you "broke" the rule in Match Play.  When you played out of turn, you "agreed" to playing out of turn.  As the penalty statement in match play is for the opponent to recall the stroke, in your case this would not applicable because it was your opponent's idea..

If you had made a valid, timely claim, (Rule 2-5)  it  would be different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

TJBam    53

If she is on the green, but 40 feet away.  And you are OFF the green, but only 10 feet from the pin, I believe you are still away being that you are off the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slice of Life    128
Originally Posted by TJBam

If she is on the green, but 40 feet away.  And you are OFF the green, but only 10 feet from the pin, I believe you are still away being that you are off the green.

I was gonna say the same thing.

And who cares? Ready golf, just hit your ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Asheville    78
Originally Posted by TJBam

If she is on the green, but 40 feet away.  And you are OFF the green, but only 10 feet from the pin, I believe you are still away being that you are off the green.

Away means farther from the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

iacas    4,165

Originally Posted by Asheville

Away means farther from the hole.

Yup.

There have been times in match play situations that players have had to play from bunkers AFTER someone hits a putt from on the green because they're closer than the one who putts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

trackster    23
Originally Posted by Asheville

Away means farther from the hole.

I'm not sure of that.  In Mario golf for the N64, if you are off the green and the other player is on the green, the person off the green is always away.  I've learned a lot of the rules of golf from that game.

Nvm, I googled it and I was wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slice of Life    128

After research, she should have putted first *technically*.

Originally Posted by trackster

I'm not sure of that.  In Mario golf for the N64, if you are off the green and the other player is on the green, the person off the green is always away.  I've learned a lot of the rules of golf from that game.

lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Dormie1360    63
Originally Posted by Slice of Life

I was gonna say the same thing.

And who cares? Ready golf, just hit your ball.

Ouch.    I'm guessing you have not played a lot of competitive Match Play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

TJBam    53

After doing some research I've found that I've been wrong for some time.  Glad to learn a new rule, will have to share it w the partners.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slice of Life    128
Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Ouch.    I'm guessing you have not played a lot of competitive Match Play.

Ouch? I don't think I said anything mean. I'm just saying why make it a big deal? I know ladies first is important, but just chip in and make her regret her decision. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

trackster    23
Originally Posted by Slice of Life

Ouch? I don't think I said anything mean. I'm just saying why make it a big deal? I know ladies first is important, but just chip in and make her regret her decision. ;-)

It's ouch because in match play if you play out of order your opponent can make you cancel your play and replay it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It wasn't match play it was stroke play. I know that furthest from the hole putts. I would have gained an advantage by watching her putt first. It amazes me how many people believe if a ball is on the green and another ball off the green the player off the green automatically goes first. I always play ready golf except in cases like this. So is refusing to play a penalty? Just good to know this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slice of Life    128
Originally Posted by trackster

It's ouch because in match play if you play out of order your opponent can make you cancel your play and replay it.

He didn't indicate match play?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rulesman    166
It wasn't match play it was stroke play. So is refusing to play a penalty? Just good to know this.

1) Why say she was your opponent? 2) She could have been penalised for 'undue delay' but not for 'playing out of turn'.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slice of Life    128
Originally Posted by Rulesman

1) Why say she was your opponent?

2) She could have been penalised for 'undue delay' but not for 'playing out of turn'.

It's a golf tournament...anyone that isn't him, is his opponent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thank you Rulesman. She wasn't my "opponent" as that would be match play and this wasn't. I guess she was my "competitor"? I guess I could have held my ground and made her putt, held up the rest of the field and waited for a ruling. But hey "while we're young!"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slice of Life    128
Originally Posted by barbm12thtee

Thank you Rulesman. She wasn't my "opponent" as that would be match play and this wasn't. I guess she was my "competitor"? I guess I could have held my ground and made her putt, held up the rest of the field and waited for a ruling. But hey "while we're young!"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • Oh, I see....good idea. I copied it and works great.  I simply took two screw eyes, screwed into the end of a real feel mat, and then ran two small, elastic shock cards (1/4 inch with plastic ball ends) through the eyes, tied the other ends together and secured the middle of  this "loop" under a rubber wooden tee holder secured by a galvlanized nail.  A couple of ball bungies would also do the trick. Took all of 40 seconds to make. Since mine is on top of artificial turf, I did not want to punch any large holes that a large plastic lawn spike would make. The small nail makes a negligible hole and dissappears once the nail is removed if you need to move the mat. Thanks for the idea.
    • Obviously I can't offer much in the way of advice but in the last year my 5w has gone from one of my most trusted clubs to one that causes anxiety. What has helped me is coming down at a slightly steeper angle of attack and simply concentrating on hitting a bit more down on the ball... not like an iron, but less of that "sweeping" attack as is often suggested. Good luck and I hope someone can provide some useful advice.
    • I am extremely comfortable chipping from the rough compared to the fairway. I am not exactly sure why, and I know I need to get some lessons. (I plan on getting some in the spring since its already so late in year up here in PA.) In my approach I would much rather put it left, right, or far then to leave it short. I feel this way because its a lot easier to get the ball up and down sitting right were you want it. I am talking from within 40 yards. When in the fairway I have distance control problems within 40 yards. I feel its because of the inconsistency of the launch angle. If I hit it to hard the angle is to low and I launch over the green and if I hit it to soft the angle is to high and just comes up short.  I just wanted to see if anyone else felt the same way or if this was typical for a high handicapper to like the rough from within 40 yards?
    • That's a substantial improvement. I'm certain I won't experience any increase in distance but at this point, distance isn't even on the radar. I practiced a bit more tonight and decided shortening the driver won't fix my issues. I have to swing sooooo slow to get decent ball flight. As a result, I'm losing 10 - 20 yards from what GameGolf said I was averaging (219). 
    • I play around 3 times a week and usually score in the 78-83 range with a few outliers, both better and worse. In the last two weeks or so, I have seen the worst round in probably 5 years or more, a really unusual 111 (was 102 ESC'd) and it was the only score above 98 this year out of 100 rounds or so. After a redeeming 79, I shot another score in the 90s, at 95 (92 ESC'd). Both of the stinkers had some horrendous fairway woods, some even leading to penalty strokes (hit of the very end of the toe, dead right), with both the 5 wood and the 3 wood. I spent some time on the range trying to work this out, putting the ball on a peg at first, and lowering it progressively until the ball sits on the ground. While I am able to hit somewhat decently from a tee somewhat raised (but not quite as nicely as I was able to before this ongoing episode), I am totally unable to hit the ball sitting on the ground. Nearly every shot is topped and some are nearly whiffed! The 5 wood is/was one of my favorite clubs... I went out and played another round where the short game saved me with an 81, but once again mishit severely most of my fairway woods shots. For some reason, one was ok with the 5 wood. I am leaving the 3 wood in the bag until this is sorted out, but confidence has really taken a toll... I went online and looked for "topped fairway wood" and found several things to be mindful of. Perhaps I am swaying a bit on the takeaway and not getting back to the ball or hanging back. Perhaps the ball position is too far forward or the strike too level or too steep? I am not feeling like I am doing anything different from before, when I had no problem with that shot. So what gives? All in my head? Thanks for your insight.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. goofi22
      goofi22
      (39 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon