IGNORED

Stranger Yips

CoffeeBean
Note: This thread is 3636 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I apologize in advance, but if there's a thread on this, I can't find it.

I'm new here.  I've been playing golf consistently for about two years, and have whittled my handicap to 20 from whatever it was when I was shooting in the 130s.  My usual score is in the high 90s-low 100s for the last year.  Until yesterday. 126.  Ouch!

My partner and I (he's a male colleague) were paired with another couple (husband/wife team) since the course we booked was insanely busy.  Suddenly, I forgot how to swing.  The Yips started at the tee box and followed me all the way to the green.  At one point, I wasn't even on the green after 10 (counting two water landings), so I just picked the ball up and carried on.

I'm pretty sure I lost it when I saw the male stranger (probably in his late 60s/early 70s) tee off from the Golds (Senior's tee) with a 4-iron better than I could ever hope to with a driver.  Note that I'm pretty sure he was playing from the Golds because that's where my partner tees off.

I have two questions:  #1:  Since there is no apparent matching of skill level when pairing occurs, how do you adjust for the discrepancy when you know you're up against semi-pros at the first tee?  #2:  How do you get over the Full-Course-Yips (if such a thing exists!)?

Relax! I used to have the same problem playing with people more advanced than me. Don't worry so much about them and play your own game. Golf is so much about confidence it's ridiculous! My dad and I got stuck with a high handicapper last week (he said he usually shot in 120's) and he only shot a 105 playing with us cause "we helped him focus more". I don't know how that works but he wasn't worried about how my dad and I were playing. Guess it's just a mind set.